Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

And the Protests
Female Street Art

The poetry of a woman’s steps: Within Her Stride, Bangalore 2021
The poetry of a woman’s steps: Within Her Stride, Bangalore 2021 | © Anpu Varkey

Street art in India is as much a form of art as a form of protest. Particularly for women. It strengthens their role in society.

By Oliver Schulz

India has produced some of the world’s more creative and innovative women street artists. Many of them no longer work illegally but with the permission of urban property owners.

The art of strength and lightness: Dizzy, Mahim, Mumbai 2018 The art of strength and lightness: Dizzy, Mahim, Mumbai 2018 | © Anpu Varkey
A girl hangs upside down from the wall, larger than life, between the windows of the residential building. It is impossible not to admire this amazing wall painting in the neighbourhood of Mahim in Mumbai. Anpu Varkey from Bangalore created the painting in 2018.

Today, you come across gigantic and colourful wall paintings in almost all the large cities – not just in the country’s financial capital. Many have been painted by women. Besides Anpu Varkey, the most well-known names include Jas Charanjiva, Kajal Singh, Jheel Goradia and Avantika Mathur. Some have also worked in cities in the West.

As old as India


Street art is not new in India. In fact, art historians claim that it is as old as the country itself. Even the traditional Madhubani and Gond paintings can be traced back to the art of painting on mud walls.
Modern graffiti art has its origins in the 1960s in the East Coast of the United States. The differences between graffiti and street art are fluid, but while graffiti essentially serves to mark one’s territory, many street artists seek to voice an opinion, above all, and to communicate with the people.

Direct response to the work

The woman as victim: Eve Teasing, Bandra, Mumbai 2015 The woman as victim: Eve Teasing, Bandra, Mumbai 2015 | © Jheel Ghoradia
“When I work, I am surrounded by a constant stream of people - chatting, making suggestions, offering tea or fruit,” says Anpu Varkey. “But of course I never know in advance what exactly lies in store for me in the place where I am working. For example, an intense conversation that I once had with a deaf person about sign language clearly shows how moved people are when they see me paint.” People regularly stop to talk to her. “It is extremely satisfying to get direct feedback that tells me whether the people appreciate my work or not. I am often praised for my commitment and effort, above all.”

Even though street art is now an established art form, many women artists continue to paint walls without permission. This is risky, of course. The biggest danger lies in being caught by the police. “I was almost put behind bars because I had ‘ruined’ our country,” says Jheel Ghoradia. “I don’t think we deserve such treatment when we actually beautify walls soaked with urine or full of paan stains.”

Many women street artists are smashing stereotypes simply by being women who practise this art form. For some, it is a direct form of protest. For instance, following the gang rape in Delhi in 2013, Jas Charanjiva painted an image of an Indian woman on a wall. All in pink and traditionally dressed. In her right hand, she had a brass knuckle that said ‘boom’. The painting immediately went viral. After the rape, the Fearless Collective project also came into being in New Delhi and street art is part of the programme. The aim is to strengthen the role of women in society through public art.

Festivals throughout India since the 2000s

Women discovered the art form for themselves at the start of the 2000s. More and more graffiti writing by local artists were appearing in Delhi. In 2001, the well-known graffiti artist Daku spray painted nine buildings in Mumbai overnight. He wanted to protest against the police crackdown on Mumbai’s bars and pubs. Artists’ collectives were being formed throughout India and were leaving a mark in the form of wall murals in public spaces.

The graffiti and street art scene exploded in Delhi as of 2008. At the street art festival in an unauthorised part of Khirkee Extension in 2012, some residents also joined professional artists in painting on the walls. Street art festivals followed in cities such as Chennai, Pune, and Pondicherry. In Mumbai in March 2019, the programme included the first women-only street art festival – Ladies First. Women artists spent a week painting buildings and walls covering an area of 1000 sq m.

Essentially a bourgeois art form

Playful homage to the workers of a coir rope factory: Tension, Allapuzha, Kerala 2021 Playful homage to the workers of a coir rope factory: Tension, Allapuzha, Kerala 2021 | © Anpu Varkey
In the meantime, walls in India are being painted legally as well. As in other countries, property owners are giving permission for art: “One can convince the owner, promise him that the end product will be worth the wall that he ‘sacrifices’,” says Jheel Ghoradia. But, something of the thrill is missing here. After all, street art is in essence a cheeky business. Simply put - art from the street.

In reality, however, what this art form has always lacked is a genuine street scene. Since its early days, street art in India has been an extremely bourgeois art form with many of the artists belonging to the upper-middle class. After all, it is not exactly cheap to paint city walls. A can of spray paint costs the equivalent of almost six euros (about 450 Rupees). Not something real street children can afford.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Und Protest!
Weibliche Straßenkunst

Die Poesie der weiblichen Schritte: „Within her stride, Bangalore 2021
Die Poesie der weiblichen Schritte: „Within her stride, Bangalore 2021 | © Anpu Varkey

Streetart ist in Indien ebenso eine Form der Kunst wie auch des Protests. Ganz besonders für Frauen. Sie stärkt ihre Rolle in der Gesellschaft.

Von Oliver Schulz

Indien hat einige der kreativsten und innovativsten Straßenkünstlerinnen weltweit hervorgebracht. Viele von ihnen arbeiten heute nicht mehr illegal, sondern mit der Genehmigung von städtischen Immobilienbesitzern.

Die Kunst von Stärke und Leichtigkeit: „Dizzy“, Mahim Mumbai, 2018 Die Kunst von Stärke und Leichtigkeit: „Dizzy“, Mahim Mumbai, 2018 | © Anpu Varkey
Kopfüber hängt ein Mädchen von der Wand, überlebensgroß zwischen den Fenstern des Wohnhauses. Es ist unmöglich, das atemberaubende Wandgemälde im Viertel Mahim in  Mumbai nicht zu bewundern. 2018 hat es Anpu Varkey aus Bangalore geschaffen.

Nicht nur in Indiens Finanzmetropole, fast in allen Großstädten stößt man heute auf riesige, bunte Wandgemälde. Viele von ihnen sind von Frauen gemalt. Zu den bekanntesten gehören neben Anpu Varkey Künstlerinnen wie Jas Charanjiva, Kajal Singh, Jheel Goradia und Avantika Mathur. Sie haben zum Teil auch in westlichen Metropolen gearbeitet.

So alt wie Indien

In Indien ist die Straßenkunst nicht neu. Kunsthistoriker sagen sogar: Sie sei so alt wie das Land selbst. Schon die Traditionen der Madhubani- sowie der Gond-Malereien sind auf das Bemalen von Lehmwänden zurückzuführen.

Die moderne Graffitikunst hat ihre Ursprünge in den Sechzigern an der US-amerikanischen Ostküste. Die Unterschiede zwischen Graffiti und Streetart sind fließend. Aber während ein Graffiti im Wesentlichen dazu dient, ein Revier zu markieren, wollen viele Streetartisten vor allem ihre Meinung kundtun und mit den Menschen kommunizieren.

Direkte Resonanz auf die Arbeit

Die Frau als Opfer: „Eve Teasing“, Mumbai, Bandra, 2015 Die Frau als Opfer: „Eve Teasing“, Mumbai, Bandra, 2015 | © Jheel Ghoradia
„Wenn ich arbeite, habe ich eine ständige Flut von Leuten um mich, die plaudern, Ratschläge geben und Tee oder Früchte anbieten“, sagt Anpu Varkey. „Aber ich weiß vorher natürlich nie, was mich genau erwartet, dort, wo ich arbeite. Die intensive Kommunikation, die ich zum Beispiel einmal mit einer stummen und tauben Person über die Gebärdensprache hatte, zeigt deutlich, wie berührt die Menschen sind, wenn sie mich malen sehen.“ Regelmäßig blieben Menschen stehen, um mit ihr ins Gespräch zu kommen. „Es ist sehr befriedigend, eine direkte Resonanz zu haben, die zeigt, ob die Leute meine Arbeit schätzen oder nicht. Vor allem loben sie mich oft für meinen Einsatz und Aufwand.“

Zwar hat sich Streetart mittlerweile als Kunstform etabliert, aber bis heute bemalen viele Künstlerinnen auch ohne Genehmigung Wände. Das ist natürlich riskant. Die größte Gefahr besteht darin, von der Polizei erwischt zu werden. „Ich wurde fast eingesperrt, weil ich unser Land ,ruiniert‘ haben soll“, sagt Jheel Ghoradia. „Ich finde nicht, dass wir so einen Umgang verdienen, wenn wir die Wände voller Urin oder Paan-Spucke tatsächlich verschönern.“

Viele Streetart-Künstlerinnen brechen allein dadurch, dass sie als Frauen diese Kunstform praktizieren, Stereotypen. Manche protestieren direkt. Nach der Gruppenvergewaltigung in Delhi 2013 malte Jas Charanjiva zum Beispiel ein Bild einer indischen Frau an eine Wand. Ganz in rosa und traditioneller Kleidung. In der Rechten trug sie einen Schlagring aus den Worten „Boom“. Das Bild ging umgehend viral. Auch das Projekt Fearless Collective in New Delhi wurde nach der Vergewaltigung ins Leben gerufen. Streetart ist ein Teil des Programms. Es soll durch öffentliche Kunst die Rolle der Frauen in der Gesellschaft stärken.

Festivals in ganz Indien seit 2000er-Jahren

Frauen entdeckten die Kunstform für seit Beginn der 2000er Jahre für sich. In Delhi tauchten damals immer mehr Graffiti-Schriftzüge lokaler Künstler auf. Der bekannte Sprayer Daku besprühte etwa 2001 über Nacht neun Gebäude in Mumbai. Er wollte gegen das Durchgreifen der Polizei in Bars und Pubs in Mumbai protestieren. In ganz Indien formten sich Künstlerkollektive, die Wandgemälde im öffentlichen Raum hinterließen.

In den Jahren ab 2008 explodierte die Graffiti und Streetart-Szene in Delhi. Beim Streetart-Festival im unautorisierten Teil der „Khirkee Extension“ bemalten 2012 neben professionellen Künstlern auch einige Bewohner Wände. Es folgten Streetart-Festivals in Städten wie Chennai, Pune, Pondicherry. In Mumbai stand im März 2019 ein erstes Straßenkunstfestival nur für Frauen, „Ladies First“, auf dem Programm. Eine Woche lang bemalten Künstlerinnen die Gebäude und Wände auf einer Fläche von 1000 Quadratmetern.

Im Grunde eine bürgerliche Kunstform

Spielerische Ehrung für die Arbeiter einer Kokosseilfabrik: „Tension“, Allapuzha, Kerala 2021 Spielerische Ehrung für die Arbeiter einer Kokosseilfabrik: „Tension“, Allapuzha, Kerala 2021 | © Anpu Varkey
Mittlerweile wird in Indien auch legal gemalt. Wie in anderen Ländern auch, genehmigen Immobilienbesitzer die Kunst: „Man kann den Eigentümer überzeugen, ihm versprechen, dass das Endprodukt die Wand wert ist, die er ,opfert‘“, sagt Jheel Ghoradia. Der Thrill sei damit allerdings ein bisschen weg. Streetart sei im Grunde ja eine freche Angelegenheit. Eben eine Kunst von der Straße.

Doch was dieser Kunstform in Wahrheit schon immer gefehlt hat, ist eine echte Straßenszene. Seit ihren Anfängen ist Streetart in Indien eine sehr bürgerliche Kunst, viele Vertreterinnen kommen aus der oberen Mittelschicht. Denn es nicht ganz billig, die Wände der Metropolen zu bemalen. Umgerechnet fast sechs Euro (circa 450 Rupien) kostet eine Spraydose. Das können sich echte Straßenkinder nicht leisten.

Top