Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Digital Art Scene
The future form of artistic expression

Kalki by Saim Ghani: Indian digital artists can look back on a rich culture
Indian digital artists can look back on a rich culture. | © Saim Ghani

In the pandemic, many areas of life are being virtualised and shifted to the internet. This is also true of art. A lively digital art scene has emerged in India with a growing number of visual artists discovering virtual forms for themselves.

By Oliver Schulz

Making art together – it can be done in the midst of the coronavirus crisis as well: In an online session of Apple’s ‘New World’ program, Thukral & Tagra from Delhi showed participants how they create a virtual companion. A dog or a cat, for example. After all, loneliness has been a big issue in the pandemic. The internationally renowned duo, deeply rooted in traditional art forms, had already attracted attention with their humorous virtual games. In one of the games, the gamers were allowed to scream to their heart’s content in a car, in order to vent their anger. In another, two loquacious pappadams (Indian flatbread) were having a chat. The games were produced for Instagram through pollinator.io, an interdisciplinary online laboratory.

© Saim Ghani
Digitalisation is a particularly important subject for the fashion sector.

Whether interactive or not: digital art is becoming increasingly popular – from moving images and photography on the net to works produced by Artificial Intelligence or Machine Learning. Digital art offers endless possibilities for experimenting with new forms. Snapchat, Instagram, and Google, as well as trademarks ranging from FMCG to fashion labels are desperately looking for digital developers for art projects. Last year, for instance, Bharat Floorings commissioned artists to design floor tiles for a joint collection. Lay’s launched the ‘Artwork for Heartwork’ campaign, a virtual showcase of the works of 100 Indian painters, photographers, and digital artists as well as a number of Bollywood stars. The campaign helped the company collect donations and buy hygiene kits for farmers, truck drivers, and shopkeepers.

Revival of fashion illustration

Fashion illustration is also experiencing a digital boom. Saim Ghani, a visual artist from Kolkata, started creating animated illustrations on Instagram during the first lockdown in 2020. For instance, he transposed images of the ‘Butterfly People’ collection by the designer Rahul Mishra to the Ta Prohm Temple in Cambodia. “At first, I used digital art only as a means of dealing with my fear during the coronavirus crisis and diverting creative energy to another space,” says Ghani, who is a Senior Designer at one of India’s leading fashion companies. It was a completely new, completely unexplored area for him, he says. “There are fewer sources of error than in traditional art because the tools are so inflexible. Sometimes they restrict you. But with time, it becomes a highly emotional activity.”

Aditya Mehta, founder of the platform Art&Found, curates affordable digital art online. Aditya Mehta, founder of the platform Art&Found, curates affordable digital art online. | © Aditya Mehta Making art accessible was the motive behind founding Art&Found, says Aditya Mehta. He also wanted the value of Indian digital art to be appreciated at the global level. His online platform (artandfound.co) curates affordable art – and this, too, is increasingly digital. His challenges, he says, lay in access and authenticity. Traditional art was primarily for a group of art collectors, galleries, fairs, and curators. The rise of online art platforms now offers access to up-and-coming artists and to completely unknown artists. Mehta says each piece of work first undergoes a thorough appraisal before artists can register on his platform and upload their works. Only after yet another review is the work published.

Boom in NFT crypto art

In order to reduce plagiarism and to protect copyright, increasing use is being made of Non-Fungible Tokens (NFTs). Each and every work is linked to a unique ID that is generated, shared, and stored over the blockchain. This technology allows crypto art to become collectors’ items and prices to skyrocket.

For example, Pulkit Kudiwal, an artist from Jaipur, recently sold five of his digital surrealist images on the Foundation and Rarible platforms for a total of 5,500 Euros. Prasad Bhat, a Bangalore-based illustrator, sold his first NFT – a caricature of Leonardo DiCaprio – for 3,000 Euros. That the market is booming is also borne out by Nishal Shetty who has created a successful NFT platform, WazirX, for Indian artists.

Will ‘digital’ become the new ‘normal’? The art of tomorrow seems geared to the virtual and therefore to the global world. The accessibility of the presentation and marketing platforms regardless of distance allows several artists across the world to strive for fame and money. However, given the sheer volume of artworks, random choices can soon become a handicap. “Today, the distinctiveness of the created work is even more important than its uniqueness,” says Saim Ghani. “Which is why Indian artists, in particular, who can look back on such a rich culture, are probably better placed than other artists worldwide.”

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Digitale Kunstszene
Die Ausdrucksform der Zukunft

Kalki von Saim Ghani: Indische Digital-Künstler können auf eine reiche Kultur zurückblicken
Indische Digital-Künstler können auf eine reiche Kultur zurückblicken | © Saim Ghani

In der Pandemie werden viele Lebensbereiche virtualisiert und in das Internet verlagert. Das gilt auch für die Kunst. In Indien hat sich eine lebhafte digitale Kunstszene entwickelt, immer mehr bildende Künstler entdecken virtuelle Formen für sich.

Von Oliver Schulz

Kunst zum Mitmachen – das geht auch mitten in der Coronakrise: Thukral & Tagra aus Delhi haben in einer Online-Session von Apple‘s „New World Program“ Teilnehmern gezeigt, wie sie einen virtuellen Begleiter erschaffen. Einen Hund oder eine Katze zum Beispiel. Einsamkeit ist schließlich ein großes Thema in der Pandemie. Schon zuvor hatte das international bekannte Duo –   durchaus tief in traditionellen Kunstformen verankert – mit humorvollen virtuellen Spielen auf sich aufmerksam gemacht. In einem durften die Gamer etwa im Auto nach Herzenslust schreien, um ihrem Ärger Luft zu machen. In einem anderen plauderten zwei schwatzhafte Papadams (indische Fladenbrote). Produziert wurden die Spiele für Instagram über pollinator.io, ein interdisziplinäres Onlinelaboratorium.

Fashion Travels von Saim Ghani: Für die Modebranche ist die Digitalisierung ein besonders großes Thema.
© Saim Ghani
Für die Modebranche ist die Digitalisierung ein besonders großes Thema.

Ob interaktiv oder nicht: Digitale Kunst setzt sich zunehmend durch – von Bewegtbild und Fotografie im Netz bis hin zu Werken, die von Künstlicher Intelligenz oder Maschinellem Lernen produziert sind. Digitale Kunst bietet fast endlose Möglichkeiten, mit neuen Formen zu experimentieren. Snapchat, Instagram und Google, aber auch Handelsmarken von FMCG bis hin zu Modelabeln suchen händeringend nach digitalen Entwicklern für Kunstprojekte. So beauftragte Bharat Floorings im vergangenen Jahr Künstler mit der Gestaltung von Fliesen für eine gemeinsame Sammlung. Lay‘s inszenierte die Artwork For Heartwork-Kampagne, bei der die Werke von 100 indischen Malern, Fotografen und digitalen Künstlern aber auch von einer Reihe Bollywoodstars virtuell präsentiert wurden. Damit sammelte das Unternehmen Spenden, um Hygienekits für Bauern, LKW-Fahrer und Ladenbesitzer kaufen zu können. 

Revival der Modeillustrationen

Auch Mode-Illustrationen erleben einen digitalen Boom. Der bildende Künstler Saim Ghani aus Kolkata begann im ersten Lockdown 2020, animierte Illustrationen auf Instagram zu erstellen. So übertrug er etwa Bilder der Butterfly People-Sammlung von Designer Rahul Mishra in den kambodschanischen Ta Prohm-Tempel. „Zunächst habe ich digitale Kunst nur als Medium verwendet, um meine Angst in der Coronakrise abzubauen und die kreative Energie in einen anderen Raum zu lenken“, sagt Ghani, hauptberuflich Senior Designer bei einem führenden indischen Modunternehmen. Es sei ein völlig neuer, völlig unerforschter Bereich für ihn gewesen: „Es gibt weniger Fehlerquellen als in der traditionellen Kunst, weil die Werkzeuge so starr sind. Manchmal schränken sie dich ein. Aber mit der Zeit, wird sie zu einer höchst emotionalen Tätigkeit.“

Aditya Mehta, founder of the platform Art&Found, curates affordable digital art online. Aditya Mehta, founder of the platform Art&Found, curates affordable digital art online. | © Aditya Mehta Kunst zugänglich zu machen, das sei sein Motiv gewesen, Art&Found zu gründen, sagt Aditya Mehta. Gleichzeitig wolle er den Wert der indischen digitalen Kunst auf globaler Ebene steigern.  Seine Online-Plattform (artandfound.co) kuratiert erschwingliche Kunst – und die ist ebenfalls zunehmend digital. Die Herausforderung für ihn habe im Zugang und in der Authentizität gelegen: „Traditionelle Kunst war vor allem immer für eine Gruppe von Kunstsammlern, für Galerien, Messen und Kuratoren. Der Aufstieg der Online-Kunstplattformen ermöglicht jetzt auch aufstrebenden und auch völlig unbekannten Künstlern den Zugang.“ Mehta sagt, er begutachte jede Arbeit zunächst gründlich, bevor Künstler sich bei ihm anmelden und ihre Arbeit hochladen können. Erst nach einer weiteren Prüfung werde das Werk dann veröffentlicht.

Boom der NFT-Kryptokunst

Um Plagiate einzudämmen und Urheberrechte zu gewährleisten, werden heute immer häufiger auch Non-Fungible Token (NFT) verwendet. Dabei wird jedes Werk mit einer eindeutigen ID, die über eine Blockchain generiert, geteilt und gespeichert ist, verknüpft. Diese Technologie lässt Kryptokunst zu Sammlerstücken werden – und ihren Wert rasch in die Höhe schnellen.

So hat der Künstler Pulkit Kudiwal aus Jaipur kürzlich fünf seiner digitalen surrealistischen Bilder auf den Plattformen Foundation und Rarible für insgesamt 5500 Euro veräußert. Prasad Bhat, ein in Bengalore lebender Illustrator, verkaufte seine erste NFT – eine Karikatur von Leonardo DiCaprio – für 3000 Euro. Dass der Markt boomt, beweist auch Nischal Shetty, der mit WazirX eine erfolgreiche NFT-Plattform für indische Künstler eingerichtet hat.

Wird „Digital“ künftig das neue „Normal“? Die Kunst von morgen scheint virtuell – und damit global ausgerichtet. Die Offenheit der Präsentations- und Vermarktungsplattformen über alle Entfernungen hinweg lässt viele Künstler weltweit nach Ruhm und Geld streben. Beliebigkeit kann angesichts der schieren Masse an Kunstwerken jedoch schnell ein Hindernis werden. „Die Unverwechselbarkeit des Erschaffers ist heute oft noch wichtiger als die Einzigartigkeit des Werks“, sagt Saim Ghani.“ Deshalb dürften gerade die indischen Künstler, die auf eine so reiche Kultur zurückschauen, in diesem Bereich weltweit die besten Chancen haben.

Top