Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Festivities in a Pandemic
Digital Holi

Digital Holi
Before the pandemic: Holi, the festival of colors, being a social celebration. | © Deepak Acharya

Holi is celebrated with much fervour and enthusiasm in the Indian subcontinent. Yet what has always been a colourful and, in many places, loud festival will probably be more subdued in 2021. What does it mean for Indians to celebrate festivals like Holi amid so many restrictions? What are the digital options – and will they even be used?

By Oliver Schulz

'In 2020, when there were only the first few Covid-19 cases, Holi was celebrated much as it always has been,’ recalls Dr Deepak Acharya from Ahmedabad. And it’s basically the same in the village and in the city: ‘People meet at home, come out onto the streets and threw colour on each other. In the evening, they eat together, share meals with families who are neighbours.’

But this year is likely to be different, says the 43-year-old scientist and naturopath from Chindwara, Madhya Pradesh: ‘In rural areas, people are more likely to celebrate as they usually do, even if the celebrations don’t extend beyond the boundaries of their villages. But not in the cities.’ In the case of his family, for instance: ‘We’ll stay at home for the most part. The evening before Holi we’ll light a fire, Holika Dahan. But in our garden, not on the street. On the day itself, we’ll dance and throw colour on family members, but this will also not be on the streets. Just with one more family, at most.’

Acharya considers himself lucky, most of his family lives with him. ‘Only my brother still lives in the village, in Madhya Pradesh.’ He certainly won't be coming this year, says Acharya – and the distance involved, that hurts. ‘It’s a big festival for Hindus, we start preparations well in advance, think about the decorations, the food we will eat. If then families are hundreds of kilometres apart, it’s difficult. My mother who lives with me broke down and cried during Diwali in November because she could not see my brother.’

Waiting for next year

Even Vinay Rahure, who lives with his family in Mumbai, says that the situation is completely different this year. ‘The way in which the festival is celebrated here, you cannot avoid physical contact. Hundreds come and throw colour on you, you do the same on hundreds of others.’ He was somewhat more careful even in 2020. But now considerable restraint is called for, says the 31-year-old, particularly since he knows what Covid-19 can lead to. ‘I myself was ill a few weeks ago and was isolating at home.’ This year he will definitely avoid all physical contact, will not throw colour. ‘Then we can go full steam ahead in the coming years, when the danger has passed.’ In the meantime, Rahure will also rely on digital solutions: ‘I’m sure that there will be cool, creative filters or features on social media that will keep the festive spirit alive this year.’

But are these really solutions?

Psychologists are warning not just of the consequences of avoiding close contact because of the pandemic. They are also drawing attention to the psychosocial dimension of festivals like Holi. ‘Our Hindu festivals are important for organizing and reorganizing our memories and thoughts,’ says Dr Vasuki Mathivanan, coach and psychologist from Chennai. ‘People are now anxious and overcautious when it comes to celebrations and festivities. That can be very stressful.’ Especially because festivals like Holi, besides teaching us moral values, also gave us a sense of togetherness, says the 52-year-old: ‘They give us hope in life and the feeling of having a support system.’ In preventing people from having contact, the pandemic created a vacuum. Many young people were particularly affected. However, ‘people of all ages have been affected.’

Search for digital solutions

Nandini Raman is of the same opinion: ‘Holi is a wonderful festival of colours that is ‘played’ physically with friends and family, in large and small family and community gatherings, with dry and wet colours, water, fun, dancing and music and with bhang being consumed – virtual or digital can never be the same.’ The 45-year-old is also a coach in Chennai besides being a columnist. Nevertheless, Raman is positive: ‘I believe that in situations like this, we need to find meaning and purpose in our digital solutions in all areas, in order to celebrate and to come together for things that bring happiness and joy to our hearts and minds.’
 
What this will look like in reality during Holi 2021 is described by Deepak Acharya from Ahmedabad: ‘Of course we won’t just celebrate physically but also online. Family members will call each other on the phone and will make group calls. We’ll send photographs and set up video chats, show the others how we are lighting the fire, how we are sprinkling colour on ourselves. This is how we’ll tell others that we miss them, we’re hugging each other virtually, so to speak.' He admits that it’s not the same. ‘But then we are living in a pandemic.’

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Feiern in der Pandemie
Digital Holi

Digital Holi
Vor der Pandemie: Holi, das Fest der Farben, wird in Gesellschaft gefeiert. | © Deepak Acharya

Holi wird auf dem indischen Subkontinent mit viel Eifer und Begeisterung gefeiert. Doch was immer bunt und vielerorts auch laut war, wird 2021 möglicherweise ein stilleres Fest werden. Was bedeutet es für die Inder, Feierlichkeiten wie Holi so eingeschränkt zu begehen? Welche digitalen Lösungen gibt es – und werden sie auch genutzt?

Von Oliver Schulz

„2020, als es im Land erst wenige, erste Covid-19-Fälle gab, wurde Holi noch fast wie immer gefeiert“, erinnert sich Dr. Deepak Acharya aus Ahmedabad. Und das sei auf dem Land und in der Stadt grundsätzlich ähnlich: „Die Menschen treffen sich zu Hause, kommen auf die Straße und streuen Farben aufeinander. Am Abend essen sie miteinander, sie teilen Essen mit Nachbarfamilien.“
 
Aber dieses Jahr dürfte das anders sein, sagt der 43-jährige Wissenschaftler und Experte für Naturmedizin, der ursprünglich aus Chindwara in Madhya Pradesh stammt: „Auf dem Land werden die Menschen eher ähnlich feiern wie sonst, wenn auch vielleicht nicht über die Grenzen ihrer Dörfer hinaus. Aber in den Städten nicht.“ So etwa seine Familie: „Wir werden weitgehend zu Hause bleiben. Am Abend vorher machen wir ein Feuer, Holika Dahan. Aber bei uns im Garten, nicht auf der Straße. Am Tag selbst werden wir tanzen und Farben auf Familienmitglieder werfen, aber auch nicht auf der Straße. Höchstens mit einer anderen Familie zusammen.“

Er habe Glück, sagt Acharya, seine Familie wohne großteils bei ihm. „Nur mein Bruder lebt weiter auf dem Land, in Madhya Pradesh“. Der werde dieses Jahr sicher nicht kommen – und die Distanz, die damit verbunden sei, schmerze. „Es ist ein großes Fest für Hindus, wir bereiten es lange vor, überlegen, wie wir dekorieren, was wir essen wollen. Wenn dann die Familien hunderte Kilometer auseinander sind, ist das schwierig. Meine Mutter, die hier bei mir lebt, brach schon im Herbst, bei Diwali in Tränen aus, weil sie meinen Bruder nicht sehen konnte.“

Warten auf das nächste Jahr

Auch Vinay Rahure, der mit seiner Familie in Mumbai wohnt, sagt, dass die Situation in diesem Jahr eine ganz andere sei. „So wie hier gefeiert wird, ist körperlicher Kontakt ja unvermeidbar. Hunderte kommen und werfen Farbe auf dich, du machst das bei Hunderten anderen.“ Er sei auch 2020 schon etwas vorsichtiger gewesen. Aber jetzt sei erhebliche Zurückhaltung angesagt, zumal er wisse, welche Folgen eine Covid-19-Erkrankung habe, so der 31-Jährige. „Ich war selbst vor einigen Wochen erkrankt und zu Hause in Isolation.“ Dieses Jahr werde er ganz sicher auf jeden körperlichen Kontakt verzichten, keine Farben streuen. „Dann kann es die nächsten Jahre wieder mit vollem Enthusiasmus weitergehen, wenn die Gefahr sich gelegt hat.“ Rahure setzt einstweilen auch auf digitale Lösungen: „Ich bin sicher, es wird in den Sozialen Medien coole, kreative Filter oder Features geben, die den Geist des Festivals in diesem Jahr am Leben halten.“
 
Aber sind das wirklich Lösungen?
 
Psychologen warnen nicht nur vor den Folgen, den der Verzicht auf körperliche Nähe durch die Pandemie mit sich bringt. Sie verweisen auch auf die psychosoziale Dimension von Festen wie Holi. „Unsere hinduistischen Festivals sind wichtig für die Organisation und Reorganisation unserer Erinnerungen und Gedanken“, sagt Dr. Vasuki Mathivanan, Coach und Psychologin aus Chennai. „Die Menschen werden nun ängstlich und übervorsichtig gegenüber Feiern und Festen. Das bringt viel Stress mit sich.“ Zumal Feierlichkeiten wie Holi neben moralische Werten besonders ein Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl vermittelten, so die 52-Jährige: „Sie geben Hoffnung für das Leben und das Gefühl, ein Unterstützungssystem zu haben.“ Indem die Pandemie die Menschen daran hindere, Kontakte zu knüpfen, habe sie ein Vakuum geschaffen. Darunter litten zwar besonders viele jungen Menschen. Aber: „Betroffen sind Menschen jeden Alters.“

Suche nach digitalen Lösungen

Nandini Raman sieht das ähnlich: „Holi ist ein wunderschönes Festival der Farben, das physisch mit Freunden, Familienmitgliedern, in großen und kleinen Familien- und Gemeindeversammlungen mit trockenen und nassen Farben, Wasser, Spaß, Tanz und Musik „gespielt“ und bei dem Bhang getrunken wird – es kann virtuell oder digital niemals dasselbe sein“. Die 45-Jährige arbeitet in Chennai ebenfalls als Coach, aber auch als Kolumnistin. Trotzdem blickt Raman nach vorn: „Ich denke, wir müssen in dieser Situation in allen Bereichen Sinn und Zweck in unseren digitalen Lösungen finden, um uns zu feiern und uns zu Dingen zusammenzufinden, die Herz und Verstand Freude und Glück bringen.“
 
Wie das an Holi im Jahr 2021 konkret gehen kann, beschreibt Deepak Acharya aus Ahmedabad: „Wir werden natürlich nicht nur physisch, sondern auch digital feiern. Wir werden uns in der Familie gegenseitig anrufen, aber auch Gruppentelefonate machen. Wir werden Fotos verschicken und uns zu Videochats verabreden, den anderen zeigen, wie wir Feuer machen, wie wir uns mit Farbe besprenkeln. So teilen wir einander mit, dass wir uns vermissen, wir umarmen uns sozusagen digital.“ Das sei nicht dasselbe, gibt er zu. „Aber wir leben nun einmal in einer Pandemie.“

Top