Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGraphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

"Travel - it leaves you speechless, then it turns you into a storyteller." (Ibn Battuta).

In other words, whoever travels can tell something. Spoken, photographed or drawn. Graphic Travelogues are dedicated to this form. Various travel comics already exist, often initiated by the Goethe-Institut - but scattered, sometimes difficult to find. Graphic Travelogues collects old treasures, creates new ones and presents them in a new setting. Join us on this special journey, experience and immerse yourself in new worlds.
 

On the go with the pen

Where did our artists go? You can track their travel routes and destinations on the map. Discover known and unknown places and experience them from a new, drawn perspective. Simply zoom in and click on the illustrations!
 


Current Comics

Xmas in der Pandemie @ Alexandra Wodolaschtschenko (Detail)

For seekers of meaning
"A Christmas journey in pandemic times"

The coronavirus pandemic has had a huge impact on the lives of people in different countries. Since there are restrictions in place and quarantine requirements everywhere, this year’s Christmas and New Year holidays will be unusual. But we do have the World Wide Web: Come along on a comic-book journey through different European cities and take a look at how people there are preparing to celebrate in these difficult times.

Jan Feindt: Roadmap © Jan Feindt (Detail)

For Adventurers
"Roadmap"

On the occasion of the 40th anniversary of the establishment of diplomatic relations between Israel and the former West Germany, a collection of comics reportage was published in 2005 in which three artists from Israel and three from Germany had recorded their personal impressions of each other’s country in the form of a graphic novel. One of the artists was Jan Feindt, an illustrator from Berlin.

Salvador is renowned not only for its Portuguese colonial architecture, but also for its tropical coast. The city has an incredible 80 km of idyllic beaches. While the Atlantic waves attract numerous surfers, the protected Baía de Todos os Santos invites for a swim. Coconuts are sold at every corner! © Gunther Schumann

For Everyday Heroes
"Es war einmal in Salvador"

Gunther Schumann says that street art (also in combination with comic art) is the method he uses to explore places. He always has a sketchbook with him because drawing helps block out other attractions, but ultimately, he needs space. He does not like to sit in front of small sheets. His street comic "Once upon a time in Salvador" starts like a fairy tale.

Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik

For City Explorers
"Kaliningrad"

Anna Volovik has been living in Kaliningrad for 14 years. Long enough to be considered native and short enough to keep discovering new places. The artist sees Kaliningrad as ‘unassuming, endearing and always amazing as soon as you turn off a familiar street.’

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Artists from all over the world

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.


More articles from the comic scene

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Graphic TraveloguesGrafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Graphic Travelogues

“Reisen – es lässt dich sprachlos, dann verwandelt es dich in einen Geschichtenerzähler.“ (Ibn Battuta).

Oder anders gesagt, wer reist, kann was erzählen. Gesprochen, fotografiert oder aber gezeichnet. Genau dieser Form widmen sich Graphic Travelogues. Schon jetzt existieren diverse Reise-Comics, oft vom Goethe-Institut initiiert – jedoch verstreut, zum Teil schwer auffindbar. Graphic Travelogues sammelt alte Schätze, schafft neue und präsentiert sie in neuem Rahmen. Begleiten Sie uns auf dieser besonderen Reise, erleben und tauchen Sie ein in neue Welten.
 

Mit dem Stift unterwegs

Wo waren unsere Künstler*innen unterwegs? Auf der Karte können Sie ihre Reiserouten und -ziele verfolgen. Entdecken Sie bekannte und unbekannte Orte und erleben Sie sie aus neuer, gezeichneter Perspektive. Einfach reinzoomen und auf die Illustrationen klicken!


Aktuelle Comics

Xmas in der Pandemie @ Alexandra Wodolaschtschenko (Ausschnitt)

Für Sinnsucher
"Eine Weihnachtsreise in Pandemiezeiten"

Die Corona-Pandemie hat das Leben der Menschen stark beeinflusst. Aufgrund von Einschränkungen und Quarantäne werden 2020 die Weihnachts- und Neujahrsfeiertage ungewöhnlich ausfallen. Doch wir haben das Word Wide Web:  Begleitet uns auf einer Comic-Reise durch verschiedene europäische Städte und erlebt, wie man sich dort in dieser nicht einfachen Zeit auf die Feier vorbereitet.

Jan Feindt: Roadmap © Jan Feindt (Ausschnitt)

Für Abenteurer
"Roadmap"

Anlässlich des 40-jährigen Jubiläums der Etablierung diplomatischer Beziehungen zwischen Israel und der damaligen Bundesrepublik Deutschland erschien 2005 ein Sammelband mit Comic-Reportagen, in dem jeweils drei Zeichner aus Israel und drei Zeichner aus Deutschland ihre persönlichen Eindrücke des jeweils anderen Landes in Comicform festhielten. Einer von ihnen war der Berliner Illustrator Jan Feindt.

 

Salvador ist nicht nur für seine Architektur aus der portugiesischen Kolonialzeit, sondern auch für seine tropische Küste bekannt. Die Stadt kann mit unglaublichen 80km Traumstränden aufwarten. Am Atlantik lockt die Brandung zahlreiche Surfer an, die geschützte Baía de Todos os Santos lädt zum Baden ein. Und an jeder Ecke wird die Kokosnuss verkauft. © Gunther Schumann

Für Alltagshelden
"Es war einmal in Salvador"

Gunther Schumann sagt, Street Art (auch in Kombination mit Comic) sei seine Methode, sich Orte zu erschließen. Er habe zwar immer ein Skizzenheft dabei, weil das Zeichnen helfe, andere Reize auszublenden, aber schlussendlich brauche er Platz. Sein Street-Comic heißt "Es war einmal in Salvador".
 

Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik

Für Stadtentdecker
"Kaliningrad"

Anna Wolowik lebt seit 14 Jahren in Kaliningrad. Lange genug, um als Einheimische zu gelten, und kurz genug, um immer noch neue Orte zu entdecken. Für die Zeichnerin ist Kaliningrad "bescheiden, lieb und immer wieder verwundernd, sobald man von der bekannten Straße abbiegt.“

 

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 


Weitere Artikel aus der Comic-Szene

Top