Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Cités - Beijing

 Jens Harder actually wanted to research the rapid changes in Beijing that have transformed China's capital from a seemingly endless two-story village into a mega-metropolis dotted with skyscrapers in just a few years. But on location, the state's compulsion to control and the draftsman's sense of freedom clashed mightily.
 


Extracts from "Cités - Beijing":

 Bejing © Jens Harder (detail)


About the artist Jens Harder:

Jens Harder

When Jens Harder draws, he is fully focused and should not be distracted (his children are then met only by his ‘evil eye’ or with an angry hiss).
 


Travelpedia: Beijing

  •  Beijing is growing rapidly. The city is transforming at a breathtaking speed. This also affects the electrification rate among transportation vehicles. Thanks to massive subsidies, it has now exceeded 90 percent in the Chinese capital. As a result, even the rustiest junk car rolls toward the visitor in an environmentally friendly manner and with ghostly silence. © Jens Harder (detail)
    Beijing is growing rapidly. The city is transforming at a breathtaking speed. This also affects the electrification rate among transportation vehicles. Thanks to massive subsidies, it has now exceeded 90 percent in the Chinese capital. As a result, even the rustiest junk car rolls toward the visitor in an environmentally friendly manner and with ghostly silence.
  •  They take naps at the furniture store, have no problems with surveillance apps, and eat stuff... well. Chinese are often a mystery to tourists. But not all clichés about the 1.4 billion people apply. Dogs and cats are not eaten everywhere. And there are also tall people in the north. But they really can't pronounce the "R". Not in any of the 56 ethnic groups. © Jens Harder (detail)
    They take naps at the furniture store, have no problems with surveillance apps, and eat stuff... well. Chinese are often a mystery to tourists. But not all clichés about the 1.4 billion people apply. Dogs and cats are not eaten everywhere. And there are also tall people in the north. But they really can't pronounce the "R". Not in any of the 56 ethnic groups.
  •  Strict look, imposing appearance: At the entrance to every sanctuary, palace, restaurant or other rooms worthy of protection, the obligatory pair of stone lions stands guard. The male figure is always on the right. Under his paw he has a ball symbolizing the unity of the empire. To the left is a lioness holding her cub under her paw, indicating growth and well-being. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Strict look, imposing appearance: At the entrance to every sanctuary, palace, restaurant or other rooms worthy of protection, the obligatory pair of stone lions stands guard. The male figure is always on the right. Under his paw he has a ball symbolizing the unity of the empire. To the left is a lioness holding her cub under her paw, indicating growth and well-being.
  • If you want to experience the original Beijing, you can't avoid this highlight: a tour through the fascinating Hutongs. The narrow alleys run through the old city and extend around the Forbidden City. But the idyll is under threat: Hutongs are being demolished block by block for new construction projects. At the same time, some neighbourhoods are under strict protection and are being lovingly renovated. © Jens Harder (detail)
    If you want to experience the original Beijing, you can't avoid this highlight: a tour through the fascinating Hutongs. The narrow alleys run through the old city and extend around the Forbidden City. But the idyll is under threat: Hutongs are being demolished block by block for new construction projects. At the same time, some neighbourhoods are under strict protection and are being lovingly renovated.
  • Trips to the Great Wall quickly turn into a declaration of love - not to the wall, but to the photo. Cameras, smartphones and selfie sticks are in constant use here. In combination with narrowness and steep steps, one can easily get dizzy. Runners take the ups and downs sportily: on the Great Wall Marathon, they conquer the wall over a distance of 42,195 km and climb 5,164 steps. © Jens Harder (detail)
    Trips to the Great Wall quickly turn into a declaration of love - not to the wall, but to the photo. Cameras, smartphones and selfie sticks are in constant use here. In combination with narrowness and steep steps, one can easily get dizzy. Runners take the ups and downs sportily: on the Great Wall Marathon, they conquer the wall over a distance of 42,195 km and climb 5,164 steps.
  •  The royal boathouses on Kunming Lake make a pretty photo motif, especially in the sun. The lake covers about three quarters of the summer palace in Beijing's north. With its lakes, temples, pavilions and magnificent nature, the 290-hectare park is one of the largest and best-preserved imperial gardens in the world and thus undoubtedly one of the city's main attractions. © Jens Harder (detail)
    The royal boathouses on Kunming Lake make a pretty photo motif, especially in the sun. The lake covers about three quarters of the summer palace in Beijing's north. With its lakes, temples, pavilions and magnificent nature, the 290-hectare park is one of the largest and best-preserved imperial gardens in the world and thus undoubtedly one of the city's main attractions.
  •  For the 2008 Olympic Games, Beijing's city government built a gigantic park with stadiums, training facilities, a press center and its own small town that accommodated many thousands of people. The center and main attractions of the complex: the national stadium, called the "Bird's Nest" because of its shape and structure, and the Olympic Tower. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    For the 2008 Olympic Games, Beijing's city government built a gigantic park with stadiums, training facilities, a press center and its own small town that accommodated many thousands of people. The center and main attractions of the complex: the national stadium, called the "Bird's Nest" because of its shape and structure, and the Olympic Tower.

Jens Wiesner on "Cités - Beijing"

Harder got into the habit of drawing in his hotel room in the evening from photographs and sketches he’d made on site... This procedure also explains the noticeable change in style within the series. The more sketch-like drawings are the ones that Harder drew in China."

Review
 


More Comics for City Explorers

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

"Havanna"

In 2008, the German graphic artist, Reinhard Kleist, spent a few weeks in Cuba researching his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. In the process, he also produced a multifaceted travelogue with drawings and sketches.

 © Jens Harder (detail)

"Cités - Lima"

Jens Harder rambled through Lima for five hours without a plan, without a goal. The outcome consists of fleeting, marginal observations that show lengthy research isn’t always necessary.

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Delhi Sketch-Book "

"I think it was the sheer size of this large Indian city, and then the otherness of the visible structure and society compared to here that initially blew my mind,’ says Barbara Yelin, recalling her stay in New Delhi, a city she travelled to for a week in late 2012 at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Cités - Peking

 Eigentlich wollte Jens Harder in Peking den rasanten Wandel recherchieren, der Chinas Hauptstadt in nur wenigen Jahren von einem endlos erscheinenden zweistöckigen Dorf zu einer wolkenkratzergespickten Mega-Metropole hat werden lassen. Doch vor Ort prallten der Kontrollzwang des Staates und das Freiheitsgefühl des Zeichners mächtig aneinander.
 


Auszüge aus „Cités - Beijing“:

 Bejing © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)


Über den Künstler Jens Harder:

Jens Harder

Wenn Jens Harder zeichnet, dann ist er hochkonzentriert und darf nicht abgelenkt werden (seine Kinder werden dann von ihm nur mit seinem »bösen Blick« oder einem verärgertem Schnaufen bedacht).


Travelpedia: Beijing

  •  Peking wächst rasant. Die Stadt wandelt sich mit atemberaubender Geschwindigkeit. Das betrifft auch die Elektrifizierungsrate unter den Transportfahrzeugen. Sie hat in der chinesischen Hauptstadt aufgrund massiver Förderung mittlerweile die 90 Prozent überschritten. Selbst die rostigste Schrottkarre kommt dem Besucher deshalb umweltfreundlich und mit geisterhafter Lautlosigkeit entgegengerollt. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Peking wächst rasant. Die Stadt wandelt sich mit atemberaubender Geschwindigkeit. Das betrifft auch die Elektrifizierungsrate unter den Transportfahrzeugen. Sie hat in der chinesischen Hauptstadt aufgrund massiver Förderung mittlerweile die 90 Prozent überschritten. Selbst die rostigste Schrottkarre kommt dem Besucher deshalb umweltfreundlich und mit geisterhafter Lautlosigkeit entgegengerollt.
  •  Sie machen im Möbelhaus Mittagsschlaf, haben keine Probleme mit Überwachungsapps und essen Sachen... nun ja. Chinesen sind für Touristen häufig ein Mysterium. Aber nicht alle Klischees über das 1,4 Milliardenvolk treffen zu. Hund und Katze verspeist man nicht überall. Und im Norden gibt es durchaus auch große Menschen. Das „R“ können sie allerdings wirklich nicht aussprechen. In keiner der 56 Volksgruppen. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Sie machen im Möbelhaus Mittagsschlaf, haben keine Probleme mit Überwachungsapps und essen Sachen... nun ja. Chinesen sind für Touristen häufig ein Mysterium. Aber nicht alle Klischees über das 1,4 Milliardenvolk treffen zu. Hund und Katze verspeist man nicht überall. Und im Norden gibt es durchaus auch große Menschen. Das „R“ können sie allerdings wirklich nicht aussprechen. In keiner der 56 Volksgruppen.
  • Strenger Blick, imposante Erscheinung: Am Eingang zu jedem Heiligtum, jedem Palast, jedem Restaurant oder anderen schützenswerten Räumen wacht das obligatorische steinerne Löwenpaar. Dabei steht rechts stets die männliche Figur. Sie hat unter der Tatze einen die Einheit des Reiches symbolisierenden Ball. Links daneben eine Löwin, die unter ihrer Pranke ihr Junges hält und damit Wachstum und Wohlbefinden anzeigt. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Strenger Blick, imposante Erscheinung: Am Eingang zu jedem Heiligtum, jedem Palast, jedem Restaurant oder anderen schützenswerten Räumen wacht das obligatorische steinerne Löwenpaar. Dabei steht rechts stets die männliche Figur. Sie hat unter der Tatze einen die Einheit des Reiches symbolisierenden Ball. Links daneben eine Löwin, die unter ihrer Pranke ihr Junges hält und damit Wachstum und Wohlbefinden anzeigt.
  •  Wer das ursprüngliche Peking erleben möchte, kommt um dieses Highlight nicht herum: eine Tour durch die faszinierenden Hutongs der chinesischen Hauptstadt. Die engen Gassen ziehen sich durch die Altstadt und erstrecken sich um die Verbotene Stadt. Doch die Idylle ist  bedroht: Für neue Bauvorhaben werden Hutongs gleich blockweise abgerissen. Gleichzeitig stehen einige Viertel unter strengem Schutz und werden liebevoll renoviert. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Wer das ursprüngliche Peking erleben möchte, kommt um dieses Highlight nicht herum: eine Tour durch die faszinierenden Hutongs. Die engen Gassen ziehen sich durch die Altstadt und erstrecken sich um die Verbotene Stadt. Doch die Idylle ist bedroht: Für neue Bauvorhaben werden Hutongs gleich blockweise abgerissen. Gleichzeitig stehen einige Viertel unter strengem Schutz und werden liebevoll renoviert.
  •  Ausflüge zur Großen Mauer geraten schnell zur Liebeserklärung – nicht an die Mauer, aber an das Foto. Hier sind Kameras, Smartphones und Selfiesticks im Dauereinsatz. In Kombination mit Enge und steilen Stufen kann einem dabei leicht schwindelig werden. Läufer nehmen das Auf und Ab sportlich: Auf dem Great Wall Marathon bezwingen sie die Mauer auf 42,195 km und überwinden dabei 5.164 Treppenstufen. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Ausflüge zur Großen Mauer geraten schnell zur Liebeserklärung – nicht an die Mauer, aber an das Foto. Hier sind Kameras, Smartphones und Selfiesticks im Dauereinsatz. In Kombination mit Enge und steilen Stufen kann einem dabei leicht schwindelig werden. Läufer nehmen das Auf und Ab sportlich: Auf dem Great Wall Marathon bezwingen sie die Mauer auf 42,195 km und überwinden dabei 5.164 Treppenstufen.
  •  Die königlichen Bootshäuser am Kunming-See geben vor allem in der Sonne ein hübsches Fotomotiv ab. Der See bedeckt etwa drei Viertel des Sommerpalasts in Pekings Norden. Mit seinen Seen, Tempeln, Pavillons und der herrlichen Natur gehört die 290 Hektar umfassende Parkanlage zu den größten und am besten erhaltenen kaiserlichen Gärten der Welt und damit zweifelsohne zu einer der Hauptattraktionen der Stadt. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Die königlichen Bootshäuser am Kunming-See geben vor allem in der Sonne ein hübsches Fotomotiv ab. Der See bedeckt etwa drei Viertel des Sommerpalasts in Pekings Norden. Mit seinen Tempeln, Pavillons und der herrlichen Natur gehört die 290 Hektar umfassende Parkanlage zu den größten und am besten erhaltenen kaiserlichen Gärten der Welt und damit zweifelsohne zu einer der Hauptattraktionen der Stadt.
  •  Für die Olympischen Spiele 2008 stampfte die Pekinger Stadtverwaltung einen gigantischen Park aus dem Boden – mit Stadien, Trainingsstätten, Pressezentrum und einer eigenen Kleinstadt, in der viele tausend Menschen untergebracht wurden. Zentrum und Hauptattraktionen der Anlage: das aufgrund seiner Form und Struktur „Birdnest“ genannte Nationalstadion sowie der Olympische Turm. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Für die Olympischen Spiele 2008 stampfte die Pekinger Stadtverwaltung einen gigantischen Park aus dem Boden – mit Stadien, Trainingsstätten, Pressezentrum und einer eigenen Kleinstadt, in der viele tausend Menschen untergebracht wurden. Zentrum und Hauptattraktionen der Anlage: das aufgrund seiner Form und Struktur „Birdnest“ genannte Nationalstadion sowie der Olympische Turm.

Jens Wiesner über „Cités - Beijing“

Harder selbst gewöhnte es sich an, abends im Hotelzimmer auf der Basis vor Ort entstandener Fotografien und Skizzen zu zeichnen... Dieses Prozedere erklärt auch den auffälligen Stilwechsel innerhalb der Serie. Die Zeichnungen, die deutlich skizzenhafter wirken, sind eben jene, die Harder in China anfertigte."

Rezension
 


Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

„Havanna“

Als Reinhard Kleist 2008 nach Kuba reist, um über Fidel Castro zu recherchieren, entsteht auch das Reisetagebuch »Havanna«. Es versammelt Reiseeindrücke und Erlebnisse, stellt Menschen und Orte vor, berichtet von den Mühen und Entdeckungen vor Ort und gibt Einblicke in die Seelenlage des Zeichners.

 © Jens Harder (detail)

„Cités - Lima“

Fünf Stunden lief Jens Harder durch Lima, ohne Plan, ohne Ziel. Herausgekommen sind flüchtige Beobachtungen am Rande, die zeigen: Es müssen nicht immer lange Recherchen sein.

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

„Delhi Sketch-Book“

Barbara Yelin erinnert sich an ihren Aufenthalt in New Delhi, wohin sie im Herbst 2012 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts für eine Woche gereist ist: „Get ready to be blown away by all the impressions“ beschreibt sie die auf sie einstürzenden Eindrücke beim Verlassen der U-Bahn.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top