Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Kaliningrad

  Anna Volovik has been living in Kaliningrad for 14 years. Long enough to be considered native and short enough to keep discovering new places. For example, the slipways on the River Pregolya. The artist sees Kaliningrad as ‘unassuming, endearing and always amazing as soon as you turn off a familiar street.’

 


Extracts from "Kaliningrad":


About the artist Anna Volovik:

Anna Wolowik © Anna Wolowik

Anna Volovik is an illustrator and graphic artist from Kaliningrad. In 2016, her graphic novel What Colour is the Snow? won an award in the Best Graphic Novel category at the BigFest comic book festival. She also won the 2017 prize for Best Graphic Novel (Jakow) awarded by the publisher Boomfest.


Travelpedia: Kaliningrad

  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Haus des Sowjets © Anna Wolowik
    Kaliningrad Oblast covers an area of 15,000 sq. km and is situated between the EU countries of Poland and Lithuania. Until 1945, Kaliningrad was called Königsberg and was the capital of East Prussia. It became a Soviet city after the war. In 1996, the Russian Federation granted its exclave on the Baltic Sea the status of a Special Economic Zone. The oblast is home to around one million people.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik
    Many parts of the former Königsberg were devastated during the war and some buildings were destroyed in peacetime. The ruins of Königsberg Castle were blown in 1967, on orders from Brezhnev and the House of Soviets was built where the castle once stood. The high-rise with the two towers in the city centre is an unfinished building that is still empty today.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Rauschen © Anna Wolowik
    Svetlogorsk is a seaside resort situated about 35 km north-west of Kaliningrad. Known by the Germans as Rauschen, the coastal resort town is a popular tourist destination. Above all, visitors love the decorative wooden villas dating back to around 1900. The main attractions are the cliffs and the wide sandy beach. The beach can be reached by cable car.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Bernstein © Anna Wolowik
    Kaliningrad is amber country with 90% of the world’s reserves. And it has been this way for 40 million years. Once described by Ovid as the ‘tears of the gods’, the stone is therefore coveted. Many collectors are gripped by amber fever, particularly after storms. Mining and collecting for commercial purposes are however illegal, which is why amber smuggling flourished in the 1990s.

More Comics for city Explorers

Minsk © Reinhard Kleist

"Travel Sketches from Minsk"

Reinhard Kleist travels to workshops around the world for the Goethe-Institut. This led to numerous travel sketches in which he processes his own impressions and experiences. In 2015, among other destinations, Belarus was on his program.

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Delhi Sketch-Book "

"I think it was the sheer size of this large Indian city, and then the otherness of the visible structure and society compared to here that initially blew my mind,’ says Barbara Yelin, recalling her stay in New Delhi, a city she travelled to for a week in late 2012 at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut.

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Detail)

"Operation Läckerli"

Travelling to Basel as a member of Monogatari in the 1990s, Tim Dinter is used to fast-paced Berlin. In Basel, he visits museums.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Kaliningrad

 

 Anna Wolowik lebt seit 14 Jahren in Kaliningrad. Lange genug, um als Einheimische zu gelten, und kurz genug, um immer noch neue Orte zu entdecken. Zum Beispiel die Hellingen am Pregel. Für die Zeichnerin ist Kaliningrad "bescheiden, lieb und immer wieder verwundernd, sobald man von der bekannten Straße abbiegt.“


Auszüge aus „Kaliningrad“:

Kaliningrad. Universitätsgebäude. Anna Wolowik Kaliningrad. Universitätsgebäude | © Anna Wolowik


Über die Künstlerin Anna Wolowik:

Anna Wolowik © Anna Wolowik

Anna Wolowik ist eine Zeichnerin und Comiczeichnerin aus Kaliningrad. 2016 wurde ihr Comic Welche Farbe hat der Schnee? in der Kategorie „Beste Grafik“ mit dem Preis des Comicfestivals BigFest ausgezeichnet. 


Travelpedia: Kaliningrad

  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Haus des Sowjets © Anna Wolowik
    Die "Oblast Kaliningrad" ist ein 15 000 Quadratkilometer großes Gebiet zwischen den EU-Staaten Polen und Litauen. Bis 1945 hieß Kaliningrad Königsberg und war die Hauptstadt von Ostpreußen. Nach dem Krieg wurde es zu einer sowjetischen Stadt. 1996 räumte die Russische Föderation ihrer Ostsee-Exklave den Status einer Sonderwirtschaftszone ein. Etwa eine Million Menschen lebt hier.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik
    Während des Krieges wurden mehrere Stadteile des ehemaligen Königsberges vernichtet, und manch Gebäude dann in Friedenszeiten zerstört. 1967 etwa sprengte man die Ruine des Königsberger Schlosses auf Befehl Breschnews. Anstelle des Schlosses wurde das Haus der Sowjets gebaut. Das Hochhaus mit den zwei Türmen im Zentrum der Stadt ist eine Baurruine, die bis heute leersteht.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Rauschen © Anna Wolowik
    Swetlogorsk ist ein Badeort an der samländischen Ostseeküste, etwa 35 Kilometer nordwestlich von Kaliningrad. Das ehemalige Seebad Rauschen - ist ein beliebtes Touristenziel. Besucher lieben vor allem die schmucken Holzvillen aus der Zeit um 1900. Hauptattraktion ist die Steilküste und der weitläufige Sandstrand. Dieser ist übrigens vom Ort per Sessel-Lift zu erreichen.
  • Travelpedia: Kaliningrad - Bernstein © Anna Wolowik
    Kaliningrad ist Bernsteinland. 90 Prozent der weltweiten Reserven lagern hier. Und zwar seit 40 Millionen Jahren. Entsprechend begehrt sind die "Tränen der Götter“, wie Ovid den Schmuckstein einst nannte. Vor allem nach Stürmen, packt viele Sammler das Bernsteinfieber. Abbau und gewerbliches Sammeln sind allerdings illegal, sodass der Bernsteinschmuggel in den 90er-Jahren blühte.

Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Minsk © Reinhard Kleist

„Reiseskizzen aus Minsk“

Für das Goethe-Institut reist Reinhard Kleist zu Workshops um die ganze Welt. Dabei entstanden zahlreiche Reiseskizzen, in denen er eigene Eindrücke und Erlebnisse verarbeitet. Im Jahr 2015 stand unter anderem Weißrussland auf seinem Programm.

 

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

„Delhi Sketch-Book“

Barbara Yelin erinnert sich an ihren Aufenthalt in New Delhi, wohin sie im Herbst 2012 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts für eine Woche gereist ist: „Get ready to be blown away by all the impressions“ beschreibt sie die auf sie einstürzenden Eindrücke beim Verlassen der U-Bahn.

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Ausschnitt)

„Operation Läckerli“

Als Tim Dinter in den neunziger Jahren als Teil der Comicgruppe Monogatari nach Basel reist, ist er die Berliner Hektik gewöhnt. In Basel geht er ins Museum.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top