Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Dirk Schwieger

 Dirk Schwieger (*1978) was introduced to the comic book early. Prior to studying visual arts at the UDK Berlin (his teachers included Georg Baselitz), he attended a comic artists seminar in Erlangen. A year later he founded his own comic book publishing company with the logical title of der.eigen.verlag. The experiment Moresukine – Uploaded Weekly from Tokyo won the Award Sondermann and was translated into English. Now there is a Japanese version too. Schwieger is also a comic book translator and lecturer. Together with Elke R. Steiner, he has been running the Werkstatt für Comics since 2018.

... answers

For me, the difference between travel photography and travel drawing...
"... was evident in places where photography was prohibited. Whether in the Capsule Hotel, the Ghibli Museum, or in the telephone clubs of the red-light district – drawing can transcend these barriers; it allowed me to capture spaces beyond what is commonly captured by the media."

When I draw, then...
"... I sometimes hold my breath to make sure that the line is just right."

Inspirations on my ‘travels’ have been above all, the drawings of...
"... Yoshiharu Tsuge, whom I discovered in Japan, and whose skillful balancing of external and internal landscapes continues to guide me. That his works are now actually available in German, published by Reprodukt, is really special!"

I would still like to...
"... see Iceland again, and yet again! At the moment, I am working on a long-term project on the elf sightings that have been reported there. Here, too, pencil and paper will help much more than any recording device because elves usually opt to remain invisible."

My reading for my next trip will include...
"... a volume of queer travel literature – previously that would have meant Hubert Fichte, above all. Now I would really like to be in Annemarie Schwarzenbach’s Ford Roadster en route to Afghanistan, with Isabelle Eberhardt in the desert, or with Samuel R. Delany in Times Square."

... surf further


Dirk Schwieger's Website

... at Graphic Travelogues


Moresukine – Wöchentlich aus Tokyo

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Dirk Schwieger

 Dirk Schwieger (*1978 Frankfurt a.M.) kam früh zum Comic. Noch vor dem Studium der Bildenden Kunst an der UdK Berlin (u. a. bei Georg Baselitz) nahm er 1999 am Comic-Seminar Erlangen teil und gründete ein Jahr später seinen Comicverlag mit dem Titel der.eigen.verlag. Sein Comic-Experiment Moresukine – Wöchentlich aus Tokyo erhielt den Sondermann-Preis und wurde ins Englische übersetzt. Mittlerweile gibt es auch eine japanische Fassung. Schwieger ist auch Comic-Übersetzer und -Dozent. Seit 2018 betreibt er gemeinsam mit Comic-Kollegin Elke R. Steiner die „Werkstatt für Comics“.
 

... antwortet

Der Unterschied zwischen Reisefotos und Reisezeichnungen... 
„... hat sich mir an Orten gezeigt, an denen Fotografieren verboten war. Ob im Kapselhotel, im Ghibli-Museum oder den Telefonclubs der Rotlichtviertel – das Zeichnen kann solche Barrieren durchschreiten und hat mir ermöglicht, Räume jenseits der allgegenwärtigen medialen Erfassung festzuhalten.“

Wenn ich zeichne, dann... 
„... halte ich manchmal den Atem an, damit die Linie sitzt.“

Inspiriert hat mich auf meinen „Reisen“ vor allem...
„... Yoshiharu Tsuge, den ich in Japan entdeckt habe und dessen virtuose Gratwanderungen zwischen äußeren und inneren Landschaften mich nach wie vor begleiten. Ein Ereignis für mich, dass seine Arbeiten nun tatsächlich auf Deutsch bei Reprodukt erscheinen!“

Ich möchte gern noch... 
„... und noch und nochmals Island sehen! Momentan arbeite ich an einem Langzeitprojekt zu den dort vermeldeten Elfen-Sichtungen. Auch hierbei werden mich Stift und Papier deutlich weiterbringen als jedes Aufnahmegerät, denn die Elfen entscheiden sich zumeist, unsichtbar zu bleiben.“

Auf meinem nächsten Trip gehört in meine Reiselektüre... 
„... ein Band queerer Reiseliteratur – früher hieß das für mich vor allem Hubert Fichte, jetzt wäre ich gern in Annemarie Schwarzenbachs Ford Roadster auf dem Weg nach Afghanistan, mit Isabelle Eberhardt in der Wüste oder mit Samuel R. Delany am Times Square.“

... weiter surfen

Dirk Schwiegers Webseite

... Bei Graphic Travelogues

Moresukine – Wöchentlich aus Tokyo

Top