Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Cités - Lima

 Jens Harder rambled through Lima for five hours without a plan, without a goal. The outcome consists of fleeting, marginal observations that show that lengthy research isn’t always necessary.


Extracts from "Cités - Lima":

 Lima © Jens Harder


About the artist Jens Harder:

Jens Harder

When Jens Harder draws, he is fully focused and should not be distracted (his children are then met only by his ‘evil eye’ or with an angry hiss).
 


Travelpedia: Lima

  •  Tourists traveling in Peru will see them everywhere: the country's countless huacas. The term comes from the ancient Inca language Quechua and stands for "place of ceremony". A huaca thus includes temples, burial sites and images of gods. The urban area of Lima alone has 54 huacas. In the popular district of Miraflores, for example, you will find the magnificent Huaca Pucllana. © Jens Harder (Detail)
    Tourists traveling in Peru will see them everywhere: the country's countless huacas. The term comes from the ancient Inca language Quechua and stands for "place of ceremony". A huaca thus includes temples, burial sites and images of gods. The urban area of Lima alone has 54 huacas. In the popular district of Miraflores, for example, you will find the magnificent Huaca Pucllana.
  •  The Peruvian capital Lima is the second driest city in the world after Cairo. Green plants thrive only where water-trucks regularly drive by and water them. About 8.6 million inhabitants are distributed very differently: While there are very rich prosperous neighborhoods, the poor neighborhoods (Pueblos Jóvenes) stretch along the dusty hillsides on the outskirts of the city. © Jens Harder (Detail)
    The Peruvian capital Lima is the second driest city in the world after Cairo. Green plants thrive only where water-trucks regularly drive by and water them. About 8.6 million inhabitants are distributed very differently: While there are very rich prosperous neighborhoods, the poor neighborhoods (Pueblos Jóvenes) stretch along the dusty hillsides on the outskirts of the city.
  •  Lima, Peru's capital, is located on the country's arid Pacific coast. It is the only capital of South America with access to the sea. The beach can be reached directly from various parts of the city. However, it is not completely safe to swim there. Also, the pebble shore are not very convenient. The far more beautiful beaches are in the north of Peru. © Jens Harder (detail)
    Lima, Peru's capital, is located on the country's arid Pacific coast. It is the only capital of South America with access to the sea. The beach can be reached directly from various parts of the city. However, it is not completely safe to swim there. Also, the pebble shore are not very convenient. The far more beautiful beaches are in the north of Peru.

Jens Wiesner on "Cités - Lima"

Out of necessity, the fleeting glimpse changes, intensifies, focuses. And the drawback becomes an advantage that activates our imagination."

Review
 


More Comics for City Explorers

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

"Havanna"

In 2008, the German graphic artist, Reinhard Kleist, spent a few weeks in Cuba researching his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. In the process, he also produced a multifaceted travelogue with drawings and sketches.

Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik

"Kaliningrad"

Anna Volovik has been living in Kaliningrad for 14 years. Long enough to be considered native and short enough to keep discovering new places. The artist sees Kaliningrad as ‘unassuming, endearing and always amazing as soon as you turn off a familiar street.’

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Delhi Sketch-Book "

"I think it was the sheer size of this large Indian city, and then the otherness of the visible structure and society compared to here that initially blew my mind,’ says Barbara Yelin, recalling her stay in New Delhi, a city she travelled to for a week in late 2012 at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Cités - Lima

 Fünf Stunden lief Jens Harder durch Lima, ohne Plan, ohne Ziel. Herausgekommen sind flüchtige Beobachtungen am Rande, die zeigen: Es müssen nicht immer lange Recherchen sein.
 


Auszüge aus „Cités - Lima“

 Lima © Jens Harder


Über den Künstler Jens Harder:

Jens Harder

Wenn Jens Harder zeichnet, dann ist er hochkonzentriert und darf nicht abgelenkt werden (seine Kinder werden dann von ihm nur mit seinem »bösen Blick« oder einem verärgertem Schnaufen bedacht).


Travelpedia: Lima

  •  Wer in Peru unterwegs ist, sieht sie überall: die unzähligen huacas des Landes. Der Begriff kommt aus der alten Inkasprache Quechua und steht für „Zeremonienort“. Eine huaca umfasst also Tempel, Grabstätten und Götterbilder. Allein das Stadtgebiet von Lima zählt 54 Huacas. Im beliebtem Stadtteil Miraflores zum Beipiel findet man die großartige Huaca Pucllana. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Wer in Peru unterwegs ist, sieht sie überall: die unzähligen Huacas des Landes. Der Begriff kommt aus der alten Inkasprache Quechua und steht für „Zeremonienort“. Eine Huaca umfasst also Tempel, Grabstätten und Götterbilder. Allein das Stadtgebiet von Lima zählt 54 Huacas. Im beliebten Stadtteil Miraflores zum Beispiel findet man die großartige Huaca Pucllana.
  •  Die peruanische Hauptstadt Lima ist nach Kairo die zweitrockenste Stadt der Welt. Grünpflanzen gedeihen nur dort, wo regelmäßig LKWs mit Wassertanks vorbeifahren und sie gießen. Etwa 8,6 Millionen Einwohner verteilen sich sehr unterschiedlich: Es gibt sehr reiche florierend Stadtteile, während am Stadtrand, die Armenviertel (Pueblos Jóvenes) die staubigen Hänge emporwachsen.  © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Die peruanische Hauptstadt Lima ist nach Kairo die zweittrockenste Stadt der Welt. Grünpflanzen gedeihen nur dort, wo regelmäßig LKW mit Wassertanks vorbeifahren und sie gießen. Etwa 8,6 Millionen Einwohner verteilen sich recht unterschiedlich: Es gibt sehr reiche, florierende Stadtteile. Während am Stadtrand die Armenviertel (Pueblos Jóvenes) die staubigen Hänge emporwachsen.
  •  Lima, Perus Hauptstadt, liegt an der trockenen Pazifikküste des Landes. Es ist die einzige Hauptstadt Südamerikas mit Zugang zum Meer. Den Strand kann man direkt von verschiedenen Stadtteilen erreichen. Allerdings ist es nicht ganz ungefährlich, dort zu baden. Auch ist das Kieselufer gewöhnungbedürftig. Die weitaus schöneren Strände gibt es im Norden Perus. © Jens Harder (Ausschnitt)
    Lima, Perus Hauptstadt, liegt an der trockenen Pazifikküste des Landes. Es ist die einzige Hauptstadt Südamerikas mit Zugang zum Meer. Den Strand kann man direkt von verschiedenen Stadtteilen erreichen. Allerdings ist es nicht ganz ungefährlich, dort zu baden. Auch ist das Kieselufer gewöhnungbedürftig. Die weitaus schöneren Strände gibt es im Norden Perus.

Jens Wiesner über „Cités - Lima“

Aus der Not heraus wandelt sich der flüchtige Blick, intensiviert sich, fokussiert. Und der Mangel gerät zum Vorteil und aktiviert unsere Fantasie."

Rezension
 


Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

„Havanna“

Als Reinhard Kleist 2008 nach Kuba reist, um über Fidel Castro zu recherchieren, entsteht auch das Reisetagebuch »Havanna«. Es versammelt Reiseeindrücke und Erlebnisse, stellt Menschen und Orte vor, berichtet von den Mühen und Entdeckungen vor Ort und gibt Einblicke in die Seelenlage des Zeichners.

Travelpedia: Kaliningrad © Anna Wolowik

„Kaliningrad“

Anna Wolowik lebt seit 14 Jahren in Kaliningrad. Lange genug, um als Einheimische zu gelten, und kurz genug, um immer noch neue Orte zu entdecken. Für die Zeichnerin ist Kaliningrad "bescheiden, lieb und immer wieder verwundernd, sobald man von der bekannten Straße abbiegt.“

 

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

„Delhi Sketch-Book“

Barbara Yelin erinnert sich an ihren Aufenthalt in New Delhi, wohin sie im Herbst 2012 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts für eine Woche gereist ist: „Get ready to be blown away by all the impressions“ beschreibt sie die auf sie einstürzenden Eindrücke beim Verlassen der U-Bahn.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top