Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Tokyo

 

 After completing his studies, Dirk Schwieger went to Tokyo. He initially published the resulting comic experiment Moresukine - Weekly from Tokyo on his blog. Schwieger does not follow his individual interests or impulses in his explorations but works through the tasks his followers give him. The booklet, later published as a compilation by Reprodukt, offers impressions of Tokyo in particular and Japanese (popular) culture in general.


Extracts from "MORESUKINE: WÖCHENTLICH AUS TOKYO":

 Dirk Schwieger: MORESUKINE - Wöchentlich aus Tokyo © Dirk Schwieger


About the artist Dirk Schwieger:

Dirk Schwieger likes to be inspired on the road: An Erasmus stay took him to Reykjavík for a year and left a lasting impression on him. It was there that he came up with the idea for a comic project about elf sightings, which he is currently still working on. After completing his studies, he went to Tokyo.


Travelpedia: Tokyo

  • Built in 1938, the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo never ceases to amaze visitors. Why? Because a Bauhaus villa is enthroned here in the middle of a Japanese garden. And because what was originally the family residence of an industrial magnate combining personal lives with works of art in a whimsically beautiful way. © Dirk Schwieger
    Built in 1938, the Hara Museum of Contemporary Art in Tokyo never ceases to amaze visitors. Why? Because a Bauhaus villa is enthroned here in the middle of a Japanese garden. And because what was originally the family residence of an industrial magnate combining personal lives with works of art in a whimsically beautiful way.
  •  You have to get used to the constant background noise in Tokyo. It surrounds you everywhere and at all times. Roaring people on every street corner and on flatscreens aren't everything: In Tokyo, telephone booths, cash and ticket machines, traffic lights, escalators and, and, and... Assistance in everyday life is what the locals call it. © Dirk Schwieger
    You have to get used to the constant background noise in Tokyo. It surrounds you everywhere and at all times. Roaring people on every street corner and on flatscreens aren't everything: In Tokyo, telephone booths, cash and ticket machines, traffic lights, escalators and, and, and... Assistance in everyday life is what the locals call it.
  •  If you want to understand Japan's culture, you have to try okonomiyaki. The basic ingredients of the dish are water, cabbage, flour, egg and dashi. To this, all sorts of things are added as desired. For example, oyster sauce, fish flakes or seaweed. By the way, okonomi means flavor, in the sense of what you want, and yaki means fried or grilled. © Dirk Schwieger
    If you want to understand Japan's culture, you have to try okonomiyaki. The basic ingredients of the dish are water, cabbage, flour, egg and dashi. To this, all sorts of things are added as desired. For example, oyster sauce, fish flakes or seaweed. By the way, okonomi means flavor, in the sense of what you want, and yaki means fried or grilled.
  •  Origami - this is the centuries-old, intricate art of folding a piece of paper. There are even paper folding congresses. However, the Origami House gallery in Hakusan is the only one of its kind in Tokyo. And there seems to be nothing that cannot be artfully folded. And despite the amazing skills, only a few artists can make a living from their work. © Dirk Schwieger
    Origami - this is the centuries-old, intricate art of folding a piece of paper. There are even paper folding congresses. However, the Origami House gallery in Hakusan is the only one of its kind in Tokyo. And there seems to be nothing that cannot be artfully folded. And despite the amazing skills, only a few artists can make a living from their work.
  •  For Western souls, the boundaries between "public" and "private" quickly blur in Japan. For example, because the housing situation is extremely cramped, living rooms, bedrooms, kitchens and bathrooms can quickly become public spaces. Otsuka, for example, is a residential area with numerous love hotels and yakuzas. © Dirk Schwieger
    For Western souls, the boundaries between "public" and "private" quickly blur in Japan. For example, because the housing situation is extremely cramped, living rooms, bedrooms, kitchens and bathrooms can quickly become public spaces. Otsuka, for example, is a residential area with numerous love hotels and yakuzas.
  •  Sushi, the epitome of Japanese cuisine, is not a part of everyday life there. The combination of leavened rice and raw fish is eaten on special occasions. Natto, on the other hand, is traditional. The fermented soybeans seem inedible to untrained palates, i.e. to almost all foreigners. This is due to the moldy smell and slimy consistency. © Dirk Schwieger
    Sushi, the epitome of Japanese cuisine, is not a part of everyday life there. The combination of leavened rice and raw fish is eaten on special occasions. Natto, on the other hand, is traditional. The fermented soybeans seem inedible to untrained palates, i.e. to almost all foreigners. This is due to the moldy smell and slimy consistency.
  •  Mount Takao is home to one of Japan's most biodiverse ecosystems. Located about an hour west of Shinjuku, it offers picturesque views and breathtaking panoramas. Protecting the subtropical biodiversity is the job of the tengu. There is even a shrine dedicated to the red-skinned guardians of the forest, half-man, half-bird.  © Dirk Schwieger
    Mount Takao is home to one of Japan's most biodiverse ecosystems. Located about an hour west of Shinjuku, it offers picturesque views and breathtaking panoramas. Protecting the subtropical biodiversity is the job of the tengu. There is even a shrine dedicated to the red-skinned guardians of the forest, half-man, half-bird.
  •  Going to the bathroom in Japan can quickly become an experience. Even in public. Because the toilets there are equipped with every comfort. For example, the temperature of the toilet seat can be regulated or unpleasant noises can be masked with music. However, you first have to find the right buttons - especially the flush button...! © Dirk Schwieger
    Going to the bathroom in Japan can quickly become an experience. Even in public. Because the toilets there are equipped with every comfort. For example, the temperature of the toilet seat can be regulated or unpleasant noises can be masked with music. However, you first have to find the right buttons - especially the flush button...!

Marie Schröer on "MORESUKINE"

If the term ‘graphic travelogue’ had been coined for one particular book, then for Dirk Schwieger’s collection of episodes – Moresukine: Uploaded Weekly from Tokyo."

Review
 


More Comics for City Explorers

Barbara Yelin: Kairo © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Travel Sketches from Kairo"

Barbara Yelin was there in 2011 when the people of Egypt chased out President Mubarak and spread hope for democratic reform from Tahrir Square to the entire Arab world. Eight years later, the consequences of the demonstrations are grim. This also alters the way her comic book is received.

Ulli Lust: Alltagsspionage © Ulli Lust (Detail)

"Alltagsspionage"

Born in Austria and a Berliner by choice, Ulli Lust in her early years was captivated by a Berlin in transition and went where people, oblivious of the place and the world, indulge in the purest of all desires.

Making friends in Bangalore | Traffic © Sebastian Lörscher (Detail)

"Making friends in Bangalore"

Sebastian Lörscher takes his readers on a colourful and exciting #Graphic Journey. With red-edged pages, beautifully creamy paper that brings out the colours well, and harmonious typography, the book is so well designed that the Stiftung Buchkunst chose it as one of the most beautiful books of 2014. But the content is also not disappointing.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Tokio

 

 Nach Abschluss seines Studiums ging Dirk Schwieger nach Tokio. Das resultierende Comic-Experiment Moresukine – Wöchentlich aus Tokyo veröffentlichte er zunächst wochenaktuell in seinem Blog. Schwieger folgt in seinen Erkundungen nicht seinen individuellen Interessen oder Impulsen, sondern arbeitet die Aufgaben ab, die ihm seine Follower stellen. Das Büchlein, als Kompilation später von Reprodukt herausgegeben, bietet Impressionen aus Tokio im Besonderen und japanischer (Populär-)Kultur im Allgemeinen.


Auszüge aus „MORESUKINE: WÖCHENTLICH AUS TOKYO“:

 Dirk Schwieger: MORESUKINE - Wöchentlich aus Tokyo © Dirk Schwieger


Über den Künstler Dirk Schwieger:

Dirk Schwieger lässt sich gern unterwegs inspirieren: Ein Erasmus-Aufenthalt brachte ihn für ein Jahr nach Reykjavík und prägte ihn nachhaltig. Dort entstand die Idee für ein Comicprojekt über Elfensichtungen, an dem er aktuell noch arbeitet. Nach Abschluss des Studiums ging er nach Tokio.


Travelpedia: Tokio

  •  1938 erbaut, verblüfft das Hara Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Tokio immer wieder seine Besucher. Warum? Weil hier eine Bauhaus-Villa inmitten eines Japanischen Gartens thront. Und weil die ursprünglich als Familienresidenz eines Industriemagnaten auf skurill-schöne Weise persönliche Lebenswelten mit Kunstwerken kombiniert. © Dirk Schwieger
    1938 erbaut, verblüfft das Hara Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Tokio immer wieder seine Besucher. Warum? Weil hier eine Bauhaus-Villa inmitten eines Japanischen Gartens thront. Und weil die ursprünglich als Familienresidenz eines Industriemagnaten auf skurill-schöne Weise persönliche Lebenswelten mit Kunstwerken kombiniert.
  •  An die permanente Geräuschkulisse in Tokio muss man sich erst gewöhnen. Sie umgibt einen immer und überall. Brüllende Menschen an jeder Straßenecke und auf Flatscreens sind nicht alles: In Tokio schreien auch Telefonzellen, Geld- und Fahrkartenautomaten, Ampeln, Rolltreppen und, und, und… Hilfestellung im Alltag nennen es die Einheimischen. © Dirk Schwieger
    An die permanente Geräuschkulisse in Tokio muss man sich erst gewöhnen. Brüllende Menschen an jeder Straßenecke und auf Flatscreens sind nicht alles: In Tokio schreien auch Telefonzellen, Geld- und Fahrkartenautomaten, Ampeln, Rolltreppen und, und, und… Hilfestellung im Alltag nennen es die Einheimischen.
  •  Wer Japans Kultur verstehen will, muss Okonomiyaki probieren. Die Grundzutaten des Gerichtes sind Wasser, Kohl, Mehl, Ei und Dashi. Dazu wird nach Belieben alles Mögliche hinzugefügt. Etwa Austersoße, Fischflocken oder Seetang. Übrigens bedeutet Okonomi Geschmack, im Sinne von was du willst und yaki gebraten oder gegrillt. © Dirk Schwieger
    Wer Japans Kultur verstehen will, muss Okonomiyaki probieren. Die Grundzutaten des Gerichtes sind Wasser, Kohl, Mehl, Ei und Dashi. Dazu wird nach Belieben alles Mögliche hinzugefügt. Etwa Austersoße, Fischflocken oder Seetang. Übrigens bedeutet Okonomi Geschmack, im Sinne von was du willst und yaki gebraten oder gegrillt.
  • Origami – das ist die komplizierte Faltkunst eines Stück Papiers. Sogar eigene Papierfalt-Kongresse werden veranstaltet. Die Galerie Origami House in Hakusan zeigt besondere Exemplare. Und da scheint es nichts zu geben, das sich nicht kunstvoll falten ließe. Trotz aller Fertigkeiten können nur wenige Künstler von ihrer Arbeit leben. © Dirk Schwieger
    Origami – das ist die komplizierte Faltkunst eines Stück Papiers. Sogar eigene Papierfalt-Kongresse werden veranstaltet. Die Galerie Origami House in Hakusan zeigt besondere Exemplare. Und da scheint es nichts zu geben, das sich nicht kunstvoll falten ließe. Trotz aller Fertigkeiten können nur wenige Künstler von ihrer Arbeit leben.
  •  Für westliche Seelen verschwimmen die Grenzen zwischen „Öffentlich“ und „Privat“ in Japan schnell. Da die Wohnsituation z. B. extrem beengt ist, können Wohn- und Schlafzimmer, Küche und Bad schnell mal in den öffentlichen Raum verlagert werden. Otsuka ist beispielsweise ein Wohngebiet mit zahlreichen Love-Hotels und Yakuzas. © Dirk Schwieger
    Für westliche Seelen verschwimmen die Grenzen zwischen „Öffentlich“ und „Privat“ in Japan schnell. Da die Wohnsituation z. B. extrem beengt ist, können Wohn- und Schlafzimmer, Küche und Bad schnell mal in den öffentlichen Raum verlagert werden. Otsuka ist beispielsweise ein Wohngebiet mit zahlreichen Love-Hotels und Yakuzas.
  • Sushi, Inbegriff der japanischen Küche, zählt dort nicht zum Alltag. Man isst die Kombi aus Reis und rohem Fisch zu besonderen Anlässen. Natto dagegen ist traditionell. Die fermentierten Sojabohnen scheinen für ungeübte Gaumen, also für fast alle Ausländer, ungenießbar. Das liegt am schimmligen Geruch und der schleimigen Konsistenz. © Dirk Schwieger
    Sushi, Inbegriff der japanischen Küche, zählt dort nicht zum Alltag. Man isst die Kombi aus Reis und rohem Fisch zu besonderen Anlässen. Natto dagegen ist traditionell. Die fermentierten Sojabohnen scheinen für ungeübte Gaumen, also für fast alle Ausländer, ungenießbar. Das liegt am schimmligen Geruch und der schleimigen Konsistenz.
  •  Der Berg Takao beherbergt eines der artenreichsten Ökosysteme Japans. Er liegt etwa eine Stunde westlich von Shinjuku und bietet malerische Aussichten und atemberaubende Panoramen. Die subtropische Artenvielfalt zu beschützen, ist Aufgabe der Tengu. Den rothäutigen Hütern des Waldes, halb Mensch, halb Vogel, ist sogar ein Schrein gewidmet.  © Dirk Schwieger
    Der Berg Takao beherbergt eines der artenreichsten Ökosysteme Japans. Er liegt etwa eine Stunde westlich von Shinjuku und bietet malerische Aussichten und atemberaubende Panoramen. Die subtropische Artenvielfalt zu beschützen, ist Aufgabe der Tengu. Den rothäutigen Hütern des Waldes, halb Mensch, halb Vogel, ist sogar ein Schrein gewidmet.
  • Der Gang aufs stille Örtchen kann schnell zum Erlebnis werden. Auch in der Öffentlichkeit. Denn die Toiletten sind mit viel Komfort ausgerüstet. So lässt sich die Temperatur der Klobrille regulieren, Musik kaschiert unangenehme Geräusche. Allerdings muss man erst mal die richtige Taste finden – den Spülknopf z. B.! © Dirk Schwieger
    Der Gang aufs stille Örtchen kann schnell zum Erlebnis werden. Auch in der Öffentlichkeit. Denn die Toiletten sind mit viel Komfort ausgerüstet. So lässt sich die Temperatur der Klobrille regulieren, Musik kaschiert unangenehme Geräusche. Allerdings muss man erst mal die richtige Taste finden – den Spülknopf z. B.!

Marie Schröer über „MORESUKINE“

Wenn die Bezeichnung Graphic Travelogue zu einem Comic wie die Faust aufs Auge passt, dann zu Dirk Schwiegers Episodencomic.“

Rezension
 


Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Barbara Yelin: Kairo © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

„Reiseskizzen aus Kairo“

Barbara Yelin war 2011 live dabei, als die Menschen in Ägypten Präsident Mubarak davonjagten und die Hoffnung auf demokratische Reformen vom Tahrir-Platz in die gesamte arabischen Welt ausstrahlte. Acht Jahre später sieht die Bilanz der Proteste düster aus. Das verändert auch die Rezeption ihres Comics.

Ulli Lust: Alltagsspionage © Ulli Lust (Ausschnitt)

„Alltagsspionage“

Die in Österreich geborene Wahlberlinerin Ulli Lust hat in ihren ersten Jahren Berlin im Wandel eingefangen und hat sich dorthin begeben, wo Menschen orts- und weltvergessen der reinsten aller Lüste frönen.

Making friends in Bangalore | Verkehr © Sebastian Lörscher (Ausschnitt)

„Making friends in Bangalore“

Sebastian Lörscher nimmt seine Leserschaft mit auf eine farbenfrohe und erlebnisreiche #Graphic Journey. Mit rotem Seitenschnitt, schön cremigem Papier, das die Farben gut zur Geltung bringt, und abgestimmter Typografie ist das Buch so gestaltet, dass die Stiftung Buchkunst es zu einem der schönsten Bücher 2014 kürte. Aber auch inhaltlich enttäuscht es nicht.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top