Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

City Contours Bonn
Who says Bonn is boring?

Ludwig Beethoven surrounded by 700 doubles: this art instillation was set up in honour of the composer’s 250th birthday.
Ludwig Beethoven surrounded by 700 doubles: this art instillation was set up in honour of the composer’s 250th birthday. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Sven Simon

Is Bonn truly overshadowed by Cologne, and does the former German capital have an identity crisis? Our author Leonie Gubela explains what makes Bonn unique and why some assumptions about it could use a rethink.

By Leonie Gubela

Cherry blossoms and cobblestones

A canopy of pink: Bonn’s historic city centre with the cherry trees in full bloom.  A canopy of pink: Bonn’s historic city centre with the cherry trees in full bloom. | Photo (detail): © Adobe Bonn’s historic centre is filled with winding alleyways, listed Wilhelminian-style buildings, pubs, and artist studios. Between mid-April and the end of May, it becomes a hotspot for Instagrammers when Heerstrasse is covered by a dense, pink canopy of blooming cherry trees. More ambitious photographers can enter cherry blossom photo competitions and those who do not want to chance missing the narrow window when the trees burst into glorious bloom can follow their progress via newsletter. Along with the pink season, attractions here include the sumptuous pizzas served at Tuscolo restaurant on Frankenbad and the Frauenmuseum (Women’s Museum). Far from the hustle and bustle of the city centre, the Alte Friedhof (Old Cemetery) with its crooked, moss-covered gravestones offers a spot for quiet contemplation.

Beton für Bonn (Cement for Bonn)

Bonn skater part in the Rheinaue wetlands. Bonn skater part in the Rheinaue wetlands. | Photo (detail): © Beton für Bonn For four years, the Subculture Bonn association organized fundraising events and concerts, held raffles, sold merchandise and fought to attract investors as part of its Beton für Bonn (Cement for Bonn) initiative. By summer 2018, the time had finally come for Bonn’s first skate park to open in the Rheinaue wetlands in Beuel. Before the new park was built, a halfpipe on the other side of the Rhine, and much too tricky for beginners, had been the only place to skate. Subculture members wanted something larger for their city so Bonn’s skaters would not have to head into the outskirts to pursue their craft.

Hofgarten and gummi bears

While the Harry Potter craze may have ebbed, quidditch is still played in Bonn’s Hofgarten. While the Harry Potter craze may have ebbed, quidditch is still played in Bonn’s Hofgarten. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/dpa/ Volker Lannert Students sleep amongst taut slacklines (a kind of tightrope stretched between two trees), a couple of guys strum guitars and the local Quidditch team practices alongside the ultimate frisbee club on the back third of the park: the Hofgarten (Court Garden) in front of the university’s main building could hardly seem more carefree on an average summer’s day. The local park once belonged to Prince-Elector Clemens August’s residence and has survived a somewhat turbulent past. Immediately following the Second World War, the area served as a transit camp for freed prisoners of war. Years later, when Bonn was the German capital, hundreds of thousands repeatedly gathered there to demonstrate, protesting the 1968 Germany Emergency Acts and NATO’s Double-Track Decision in the early eighties. Today, people relax in the sunshine, go for walks and, some say, deal illicit substances at night. These probably do not include gummi bears, since these are available quite legally just a few meters from the Hofgarten in Germany’s first Haribo store. And every child knows what the ‘bo’ at the end of the sweet treat’s name stands for, right? (For everyone not from Bonn: The name was derived from the founder’s name and hometown, HAns RIegel from BOnn.)

Luxury camping in a depot

Basecamp, Bonn’s indoor campground. Basecamp, Bonn’s indoor campground. | Photo (detail): © Basecamp A former depot in Bonn-Dottendorf is idea for anyone who enjoys the comfort of a motorhome, but can do without the inconvenience of a camping stove, porta potty and the capriciousness of the great outdoors. Indoor campsite Basecamp has over a dozen elaborately renovated retro caravans with unusual designs. Group travellers can spend the night in sleeping cars scrapped by the Deutsche Bahn. Just like in a hotel, there is a breakfast buffet every morning for the up to 120 overnight guests and the beds are made up fresh every day. It is even a wedding venue – assuming that the Caribbean photo wallpaper that adorns the depot’s walls is not too kitschy for the bridal couple.

Politics from the past to the present

The lighthouses of the Federal Republic of Germany’s museum and exhibition hall. The lighthouses of the Federal Republic of Germany’s museum and exhibition hall. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/ imageBROKER/ Karl F. Schöfmann Bonn’s Haus der Geschichte (House of History) is a place for visitors to experience Germany’s post-war history up close and personal. Cover decades of fascinating history in minutes by walking through the hold of one of the famous “raisin bombers” involved in the Berlin airlift, past the green, upholstered folding chairs from the Bundestag in the fifties into a replica of a historic cinema for a short screening of the locally made film Grün ist die Heide (the Heath is Green). Place your hand on the cold cement of the Berlin Wall and walk up a steep ramp to the moon. The House of History is one of five museums that together form Bonn’s Museum Mile. It stretches along the Bundesstraße 9 and covers natural history (Museum König), history (Haus der Geschichte), art (Kunstmuseum Bonn), more art (Bundeskunsthalle) and technology (Deutsches Museum). The UN Campus, the United Nations central offices in Germany, is just across the road. Only in Bonn do the political events of past and present run parallel separated by a four-lane thoroughfare.

Viva Viktoria!

No shopping mall here: the “Viva Viktoria!” citizen’s initiative kicked off a successful movement against construction plans. This poster was pinned to the closed Viktoria Bath's wall in 2015. No shopping mall here: the “Viva Viktoria!” citizen’s initiative kicked off a successful movement against construction plans. This poster was pinned to the closed Viktoria Bath's wall in 2015. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / Oliver Berg / dpa It takes a closer look to truly appreciate the Viktoria Quarter’s subtle beauty. It would be easy to walk by the colourful mosaic tiles that decorate the shop entrances in the quarter or overlook the lovely stained glass (actually synthetic resin) windows of the closed Viktoria Bath. With buildings from the fifties and sixties, the Viktoria links the city centre to the Hofgarten. A few years ago, Bonn announced its intention to sell some of the land to an Austrian investor who planned to build a shopping mall and a university library. The plans horrified many Bonn residents, who joined forces to form the Viva Viktoria! citizen’s initiative. They campaigned for “conservation instead of exploitation”, organized parties in the quarter, and kicked off a citizens’ petition for a referendum at the end of 2015. Their efforts were successful and the mall is no longer on the table, though it is still unclear how wide-reaching the scheduled refurbishment of the quarter will be.

Drop towers and castle ruins

View on Schloss Drachenburg: Drachenfels hill (Dragon Rock) is the most popular excursion destination in the Siebengebirge. View on Schloss Drachenburg: Drachenfels hill (Dragon Rock) is the most popular excursion destination in the Siebengebirge. | Photo (detail): © Adobe A boat from Bonn will take you in either direction along the Rhine River, and the upriver and downriver attractions could not be more different. On a trip downstream chemical plants, an oil refinery and the Phantasialand amusement park flow by, while upstream takes you into the Siebengebirge (Seven Mountains) where castle ruins and plenty of Rhine romanticism replace smokestacks and drop towers. The most popular excursion destination is the Drachenfels (Dragon Rock) between Königswinter and Bad Honnef. A dragon is said to have lived atop the 320-metre outcropping, from where it used to swoop down and terrorize the people of the Rhine valley centuries ago. Residents reportedly sacrificed a virgin to the beast every year to appease it until Siegfried (the hero from the epic poem Nibelungenlied or Song of the Nibelungs) rode up on his steed, slayed the beast and bathed in its blood. All traces of this heroic act of derring-do have since disappeared and Drachenfels is a popular destination for conferences and landscape painters. Ride to the top in comfort on the oldest rack railway in Germany or on the back of a donkey. You can even see Cologne Cathedral in the distance in good weather.

Variety instead of adult education classes

“Alte VHS”: the building formerly occupied by an adult education centre is now a liberal cultural centre. “Alte VHS”: the building formerly occupied by an adult education centre is now a liberal cultural centre. | Photo (detail): © Alte VHS Lectures are a thing of the past in the building that once housed the local adult education centre. The Rhizom association turned the empty classrooms into the Alte VHS cultural centre, where discussions on the final stages in phasing out coal, feminist workshops and jam sessions are now on the curriculum. Supported by donations and staffed by volunteers, the Alte VHS centre offers a silk-screening workshop, a vinyl record exchange and a kid-chaos room along with courses ranging from laughter yoga to kickboxing.

From Beethoven to German chancellors

Ludwig Beethoven surrounded by 700 doubles: this art instillation was set up in honour of the composer’s 250th birthday. Ludwig Beethoven surrounded by 700 doubles: this art instillation was set up in honour of the composer’s 250th birthday. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/ Sven Simon Bonn is proud of Beethoven, its native son, who is memorialised in and around the Münsterplatz. Perched on an impressive pedestal in front of the post office, pad in hand to compose a symphony, he looks out over the square with a serious expression. His likeness also graces the Stadtgarten, though in a more modern incarnation. The concert hall on the banks of the Rhine bears his name, of course, and the Beethoven Festival celebrates his life’s work every year with numerous concerts and events. Other famous personalities have also shaped the cityscape, including a number of German chancellors. Following the Second World War, Bonn was the seat of government of the Federal Republic of Germany from 1949 to 1999. A total of seven German chancellors lived here at one time or another. A bronze sculpture of the first Chancellor of the Federal Republic stands in front of the former Federal Chancellery on the aptly named Adenauerallee with images from his eventful life shaped into the back of the bust. The Willy Brandt Villa is located in the Venusberg district. The two Helmuts who served as chancellors have been honoured in a less glamorous way: Schmidt has his own roundabout on the B9, and the 400-metre-long section of road leading to it was recently named after Helmut Kohl.

Nightlife worth mentioning

Apart from clubs and pubs, Bonn also offers several open-air festivals and concerts in summer, such as the Green Juice Festival here. Apart from clubs and pubs, Bonn also offers several open-air festivals and concerts in summer, such as the Green Juice Festival here. | Photo (detail): © Michael Sondermann / Bundesstadt Bonn Bonn, the old joke goes, is an acronym for “Bundesstadt ohne nennenswertes Nachtleben” (federal city with no nightlife worthy of mention). This is probably because it pales in comparison to the goings-on in nearby Cologne, home to three times as many people. The options on offer in Bonn are pleasantly limited, so they draw you out instead of pinning you to the sofa in a flurry of indecision. A typical Friday night might start with a Mexikaner cocktail (similar to a Bloody Mary, only spicier and smaller) in Babel, a few “Wegbiere” from Aksoy in the Vorgebirgstraße (a “Wegbier” is a beer to go purchased in a kiosk, also called a “Büdchen” in Bonn, and meant to be drunk on the walk to the next club or bar) followed by a few hours of dancing, maybe in Untergrund, perhaps in Blow Up and possibly in Carpe. Then a few calories consumed in Cala Dor pizzeria provide the strength to hit the final stop: the Wache in the historic city centre, is always open.
 

city contours

Allotments in Berlin or skinny-dipping in Munich: come and explore some German cities with us – also against the grain. We give you an outline of the classic places, communities and events that are an intrinsic part of the city profile – and we redraw the contours by challenging a few clichés.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Stadtkonturen Bonn
Bonn soll öde sein?

Ludwig Beethoven inmitten von 700 Doubles: Die Kunstinstallation wurde anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des Komponisten aufgestellt.
Ludwig Beethoven inmitten von 700 Doubles: Die Kunstinstallation wurde anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des Komponisten aufgestellt. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance / Sven Simon

Steht Bonn im Schatten Kölns? Hat es eine Identitätskrise? Unsere Autorin Leonie Gubela erklärt, was Bonn unverwechselbar macht und warum man so manche Assoziation überdenken sollte.

Von Leonie Gubela

Kirschblüten und Kopfsteinpflaster

Ein Dach in Pink: Die Bonner Altstadt zur Kirschblütenzeit. Ein Dach in Pink: Die Bonner Altstadt zur Kirschblütenzeit. | Foto (Detail): © Adobe Die Bonner Altstadt, das heißt: verwinkelte Gassen, denkmalgeschützte Gründerzeitbauten, Kneipen, Ateliers. Zum Hotspot für Instagrammer wird sie irgendwann zwischen Mitte April und Ende Mai, wenn die zahlreichen Kirschbäume entlang der Heerstraße blühen und ein dichtes rosafarbenes Blütendach bilden. Für kompetitive Fotografen gibt es Kirschblüten-Wettbewerbe – wer das schmale Blütezeitfenster auf keinen Fall verpassen will, kann sogar Newsletter abonnieren. Zu den Attraktionen abseits der pinken Saison gehören die üppige Pizza im Restaurant Tuscolo am Frankenbad und das Frauenmuseum. Fernab des Trubels geht es auf dem Alten Friedhof mit seinen moosbewachsenen schiefen Grabsteinen eher ruhig zu.

Beton für Bonn

Der Bonner Skatepark in der Rheinaue. Der Bonner Skatepark in der Rheinaue. | Foto (Detail): © Beton für Bonn Vier Jahre lang organisierte der Verein Subculture Bonn mit seiner Initiative Beton für Bonn Spendenveranstaltungen, Tombolas, Konzerte, verkaufte Merchandise und rang um Investoren. Im Sommer 2018 war es dann so weit: In der Beueler Rheinaue eröffnete Bonns erster Skatepark. Bisher hatte es bloß eine Halfpipe auf der anderen Seite des Rheins gegeben, dort zu skaten ist aber nichts für Anfänger. Die Leute von Subculture wünschten sich Größeres für die Stadt, auch damit Bonner Skater*innen nicht länger ins Umland ausweichen müssen.

Hofgarten und Gummibärchen

Auch wenn der Harry Potter Boom vorbei ist – Quidditch wird in Bonn am Hofgarten weiter gespielt. Auch wenn der Harry Potter Boom vorbei ist – Quidditch wird in Bonn am Hofgarten weiter gespielt. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/dpa/ Volker Lannert Schlafende Student*innen zwischen gespannten Slacklines (Balanciergurten, die zwischen zwei Bäumen aufgespannt werden), zwei, drei Typen mit Gitarren und im hinteren Drittel trainiert die lokale Quidditch-Mannschaft neben dem Ultimate-Frisbee-Verein: Der Hofgarten vor dem Uni-Hauptgebäude könnte an einem durchschnittlichen Sommertag nicht sorgloser erscheinen. Das Naherholungsgebiet, das mal zur Residenz des Kurfürsten Clemens August gehörte, hat allerdings eine bewegte Geschichte hinter sich. Kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg fungierte das Gelände als Durchschleusungslager für entlassene Kriegsgefangene. Später, als Bonn Regierungssitz war, trafen sich dort immer wieder Hunderttausende, um zu demonstrieren. Zum Beispiel gegen die Notstandsgesetze von 1968 oder Anfang der Achtziger gegen den Nato-Doppelbeschluss. Heute wird dort gefaulenzt, spaziert und nachts, so sagt man, gedealt. Wahrscheinlich nicht mit Gummibärchen, denn die gibt es ganz legal nur wenige Meter vom Hofgarten entfernt im ersten Haribo-Store der Bundesrepublik. Und es weiß ja jedes Kind, wofür das Bo steht, oder? (Für alle Nicht-Bonner*innen: Der Name setzt sich zusammen aus dem Namen des Gründers HAns RIegel aus BOnn.)

Luxuscamping in der Lagerhalle

Bonns Indoor-Campingplatz: das Basecamp. Bonns Indoor-Campingplatz: das Basecamp. | Foto (Detail): © Basecamp Die Lagerhalle in Bonn-Dottendorf richtet sich an alle, die Wohnmobile ganz gemütlich finden, mit Campingkocher, Dixi-Klos und Natur aber nichts anfangen können. Auf dem Indoor-Campingplatz stehen über ein Dutzend aufwändig renovierte Retro-Wohnwagen mit ausgefallenen Designs. Gruppenreisende können ausrangierte Schlafwagen der Deutschen Bahn mieten. Ganz wie in einem Hotel gibt es jeden Morgen ein Frühstücksbuffet für die bis zu 120 Übernachtungsgäste und täglich werden die Betten gemacht. Und man kann dort sogar heiraten! Vorausgesetzt, dem Brautpaar ist die Karibik-Fototapete an den Wänden der Lagerhalle nicht zu kitschig.

Politik von gestern bis heute

Lichttürme der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Lichttürme der Kunst- und Ausstellungshalle der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/ imageBROKER/ Karl F. Schöfmann Selten ist deutsche Nachkriegsgeschichte so nah erlebbar und dicht erzählt wie im Bonner Haus der Geschichte. Binnen Minuten lassen sich dort Jahrzehnte zurücklegen: durch den Laderaum eines Rosinenbombers, vorbei am grüngepolsterten Klappgestühl des Bundestags in den Fünfzigern, hinein in die Nachbildung eines Lichtspielhauses für eine Kurzvorstellung des Heimatfilms Grün ist die Heide. Man kann seine Hand auf den kalten Stein der Berliner Mauer legen und eine steile Rampe zum Mond hinauflaufen. Das Haus der Geschichte ist eines von fünf Museen, die gemeinsam die Bonner Museumsmeile bilden. Sie erstreckt sich entlang der Bundesstraße 9 und behandelt der Reihe nach die Themen Naturkunde (Museum König), Geschichte (Haus der Geschichte), Kunst (Kunstmuseum Bonn), nochmal Kunst (Bundeskunsthalle) und Technik (Deutsches Museum). Auf der anderen Seite der B9 befindet sich der UN-Campus, Zentrum der Vereinten Nationen in Deutschland. In Bonn verläuft das aktuelle Politikgeschehen also parallel zum vergangenen, nur getrennt durch eine vierspurige Straße.

Viva Viktoria!

Nein zur Shopping-Mall: Die Bürgerinitiative „Viva Viktoria!“ initiierte ein erfolgreiches Bürgerbegehren gegen die Baupläne. Dieses Plakat hing 2015 am ehemaligen Viktoriabad. Nein zur Shopping-Mall: Die Bürgerinitiative „Viva Viktoria!“ initiierte ein erfolgreiches Bürgerbegehren gegen die Baupläne. Dieses Plakat hing 2015 am ehemaligen Viktoriabad. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance / Oliver Berg / dpa Um die Schönheit des Viktoriaviertels zu begreifen, muss man genauer hinsehen. Im Vorbeigehen fallen sie fast nicht auf – die bunten Mosaiksteinchen, die die Ladeneingänge des Viktoriaviertels umgeben, oder die Kunstharzfenster des stillgelegten Viktoriabads. Das Quartier mit Gebäuden aus den Fünfzigern und Sechzigern verbindet die Innenstadt mit dem Hofgarten. Vor ein paar Jahren kündigte die Stadt an, einige der Immobilien an einen österreichischen Investor verkaufen zu wollen. Der wiederum plante, auf den Grundstücken eine Shoppingmall und eine Universitätsbibliothek zu errichten. Bei zahlreichen Bonner Bürger*innen lösten die Pläne Entsetzen aus und es entstand die Bürgerinitiative Viva Viktoria!.Sie warb fürs „Erhalten statt Ausbeuten“, organisierte Partys im Viertel und initiierte Ende 2015 ein Bürgerbegehren. Mit Erfolg: Die Mall ist vom Tisch. Umgebaut werden soll trotzdem, in welchem Ausmaß ist allerdings noch unklar.

Free-Fall-Tower und Burgruinen

Blick auf Schloss Drachenburg: Der Drachenfels ist das beliebteste Ausflugsziel im Siebengebirge. Blick auf Schloss Drachenburg: Der Drachenfels ist das beliebteste Ausflugsziel im Siebengebirge. | Foto (Detail): © Adobe Aus Bonn heraus geht es entweder rheinabwärts oder rheinaufwärts – was einen entlang dieser beiden Wege erwartet, könnte unterschiedlicher nicht sein. Ist die Strecke rheinabwärts gesäumt von Chemiewerken, einer Erdölraffinerie und dem Freizeitpark Phantasialand, beginnt rheinaufwärts das Siebengebirge, ganz ohne qualmende Schornsteine und Free-Fall-Tower. Dafür mit original Burgruinen und jeder Menge Rheinromantik. Beliebtestes Ausflugsziel ist der Drachenfels zwischen Königswinter und Bad Honnef, 320 Meter hoch und, glaubt man der Sage, ehemaliges Domizil eines Ungeheuers. Vor Jahrhunderten soll sich ein Drache dort eingerichtet haben, um die Bevölkerung des Rheintals in Angst und Schrecken zu versetzen. Die sollen dem Tier zur Besänftigung jedes Jahr eine Jungfrau geopfert haben, bis Siegfried (der aus dem Nibelungenlied), auf seinem Gaul herbeiritt, das Vieh tötete und ein Bad in seinem Blut nahm. Mittlerweile sind davon alle Spuren beseitigt und der Drachenfels beliebter Ort für Tagungen oder Landschaftsmalerei. Erreichbar ist er mit der ältesten Zahnradbahn Deutschlands oder per Eselsritt. Oben angekommen kann man bei gutem Wetter sogar den Kölner Dom sehen.

Vielfalt statt VHS

BU: Alte VHS: het gebouw van de voormalige volkshogeschool werd omgevormd tot een links cultureel centrum BU: Alte VHS: het gebouw van de voormalige volkshogeschool werd omgevormd tot een links cultureel centrum. | Foto: © Alte VHS Im Gebäude der ehemaligen Volkshochschule ist der Frontalunterricht Vergangenheit. Der Verein Rhizom hat aus den leerstehenden Räumlichkeiten das Kulturzentrum Alte VHS gemacht, in dem Diskussionsveranstaltungen zum Ende des Kohleausstiegs, feministische Workshops oder Jamsessions abgehalten werden. In der Alten VHS, die sich über Spenden und ehrenamtliche Mitarbeit organisiert, gibt es eine Siebdruckwerkstatt, eine Plattentauschbörse und einen Kinder-Chaos-Raum sowie Kursangebote von Lachyoga bis Kickboxen.

Von Beethoven bis Bundeskanzler

Ludwig Beethoven inmitten von 700 Doubles: Die Kunstinstallation wurde anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des Komponisten aufgestellt. Ludwig Beethoven inmitten von 700 Doubles: Die Kunstinstallation wurde anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags des Komponisten aufgestellt. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/ Sven Simon Bonn, das ist auch Beethoven. Der Münsterplatz ist sein Revier. Gleich vor dem Postamt steht er auf beeindruckendem Sockel und komponiert grimmig dreinblickend eine Sinfonie auf seinen Block. Auch im Stadtgarten hat man ihn dargestellt, dort allerdings deutlich moderner. Selbstverständlich ist die Konzerthalle am Rheinufer nach ihm benannt und jährlich wird ihm zu Ehren das Beethovenfest mit zahlreichen Konzerten und Events gefeiert. Doch auch andere Persönlichkeiten prägen das Stadtbild, etwa eine Reihe von Bundeskanzlern. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg, vom Jahr 1949 bis 1999, war Bonn Regierungssitz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Insgesamt sieben Bundeskanzler haben hier zeitweise gewohnt. Vor dem ehemaligen Bundeskanzleramt, an der – wie sollte es anders sein – Adenauerallee, steht eine Bronze-Plastik des ersten Kanzlers der Bundesrepublik. Auf dem Hinterkopf sind die Stationen seines Lebens eingraviert. Im Ortsteil Venusberg befindet sich die Willy-Brandt-Villa. Etwas weniger glamourös werden die beiden Kanzler-Helmuts geehrt: Schmidt hat an der B9 einen eigenen Kreisverkehr, der dahinführende 400 Meter lange Straßenabschnitt trägt seit Kurzem den Namen Helmut Kohls.

Nennenswertes Nachtleben

Neben dem Nachtleben in Clubs und Kneipen hat Bonn im Sommer auch mehrere Open-Air-Festivals und -Konzerte zu bieten, wie hier das Green Juice Festival. Neben dem Nachtleben in Clubs und Kneipen hat Bonn im Sommer auch mehrere Open-Air-Festivals und -Konzerte zu bieten, wie hier das Green Juice Festival. | Foto (Detail): © Michael Sondermann / Bundesstadt Bonn Bonn gilt hämischerweise auch als Akronym für Bundesstadt ohne nennenswertes Nachtleben. Dies rührt auch daher, dass das Bonner Nachtleben häufig an dem des nahegelegenen Kölns gemessen wird – einer Stadt mit dreimal so großer Einwohnerzahl. In Bonn ist das Angebot so angenehm begrenzt, dass man auch tatsächlich vor die Tür geht – und nicht überfordert angesichts der Fülle an Möglichkeiten auf dem Sofa sitzen bleibt. Ein klassischer Freitagabend könnte so aussehen: Mexikaner trinken im Babel, bei Aksoy auf der Vorgebirgsstraße Wegbiere kaufen (kurze Erklärung: das Bier to go, das man am Kiosk – hier auch Büdchen genannt – kauft, um die Wegstrecke zum nächsten Club oder zur nächsten Bar zu überbrücken) und danach ein paar Stunden tanzen: vielleicht im Untergrund, vielleicht im Blow Up und ganz vielleicht im Carpe. Danach zur Pizzeria Cala Dor, stärken für die letzte Station: die Wache in der Altstadt. Die hat garantiert immer auf.
 

Stadtkonturen

Schrebergärten in Berlin oder Nacktbaden in München: Wir erkunden mit Euch deutsche Städte – auch gegen den Strich. Wir skizzieren klassische Orte, Gruppen und Events, die nicht aus dem Stadtbild wegzudenken sind – und ziehen neue Konturen, indem wir das ein oder andere Klischee ins Wanken bringen.

 

Top