Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
M.A.P // A.M.P © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

M.A.P // A.M.P

A project by Goethe‑Institut seeking to capture, document, explore and invite music, poetry, research and discourse on the intersections of music and activism in South Asia. The thematic frame of M.A.P // A.M.P interfaces with other topics, especially pertaining to civil society, minorities, feminism, and queer activism.

About the project

What’s New?

EPISODE #6: Ahmer

Ahmer © Ahmer Prolific rapper and producer from Srinagar, Kashmir, Ahmer is acutely aware of the violence that plagues the valley. His lyrics reflect a self-critical and self-aware artist trying to make sense of a complex issue. 

more...

By diving into his and his family’s history, Ahmer introduces the complexities faced by Kashmiri’s and provides a more holistic view of their society. His debut album Little Kid Big Dreams, in collaboration with Delhi-based producer Sez On The Beat, is a raw and vivid exploration of the brutalities suffered by Kashmiri people at the hands of an occupying force. This was followed up with the self-produced Inqalab mixtape, a ferocious response to the Indian state’s ongoing brutal crackdown in Kashmir. In 2020, Ahmer collaborated and released singles with Ali Saffudin and Straight Outta Srinagar; 2021 sees Ahmer release his sophomore album in which he brings forth the immense talent that resides amongst the valley’s citizens.
 


Listen to Episode #6


Open Call for Submissions

M.A.P//A.M.P Music Library © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

M.A.P // A.M.P

The M.A.P // A.M.P Music Library aims to create a repository of activist music, which will serve as an archive to amplify the reach of music as an expression and a tool of social and political activism. This library is an effort to bring together such voices from the region that may have gone unheard. In the process, we hope to create a rich and diverse range of activist music that will span all genres and generations of music and poetry.


Projects

Poscasts MAP//AMP © Goethe-Institut

Podcasts

M.A.P // A.M.P is a new podcast series by Goethe-Institut that aims to map the role of music in activism, movements, and protests. Host Bhanuj Kappal explores the intersection of music and activism in the South Asian Context, aided by musicians, academics and cultural organisations from across the subcontinent.

Pirate Radio M.AP // A.M.P © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Pirate Radio

Goethe-Institut in collaboration with reboot.fm presents Multiply . Activate . Punctuate, a radio station that will bring to you the sounds of protest and activism from across the country. Join us as Indian RJ Sarthak traces the diverse repository of revolutionary artists through a series of conversations underlining the nuance of protest.
 


Like. Follow. Listen. Share.


Get in Touch

If you have any questions, or want more information about our projects, write to us at map-amp@goethe.de

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
M.A.P // A.M.P © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

M.A.P // A.M.P

Das Projekt des Goethe‑Instituts möchte Musik, Poesie, Forschung und Debatten an der Schnittstelle von Musik und Aktivismus in Südasien einfangen, dokumentieren, erkunden und anregen. Der inhaltliche Rahmen erstreckt sich dabei über eine weite Bandbreite von gesellschaftlichen Themen, vor allem in Zusammenhang mit Minderheiten, Feminismus und queerem Aktivismus.

Über das Projekt

Aktuell

EPISODE #6: Ahmer

Ahmer © Ahmer Ahmer ist ein erfolgreicher Rapper und Musikproduzent aus Srinagar im von Konflikten geplagten Kaschmirtal. Seine Texte offenbaren einen selbstkritischen und nachdenklichen Künstler, der versucht, einer komplexen Situation Sinn abzuringen.

weiter ...

Anhand seiner eigenen Familiengeschichte reflektiert Ahmer die Probleme seines Heimatstaates und bietet Einblicke in die dortigen Gesellschaftsverhältnisse. Sein Debütalbum Little Kid Big Dreams, an dem Produzent Sez On The Beat aus Delhi mitgewirkt hat, klagt das Leid der kaschmirischen Bevölkerung unter dem Joch der Besatzung an, und auch das folgende Mixtape Inqalab lässt sich als wütende Antwort auf die fortdauernden brutalen Maßnahmen des indischen Staates in der Region verstehen. 2020 veröffentlichte Ahmer Singles mit Ali Saffudin und Straight Outta Srinagar; 2021 erschien sein zweites Album, das unbekannten Talenten aus Kaschmir eine Bühne bietet.


Episode #6 anhören


Open Call für Ihre Beiträge

M.A.P//A.M.P Music Library © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

M.A.P // A.M.P

Die M.A.P // A.M.P Music Library ist ein Archiv für gesellschaftskritische Musik. Es soll ihre Reichweite erhöhen und ihre Wirkkraft als Medium des sozialen und politischen Aktivismus verstärken. Die Musikbibliothek soll Stimmen der Region vereinen, die zu lange überhört wurden und in diesem Zuge eine Sammlung einer weiten Bandbreite verschiedener Genres von Musik und Poesie anlegen.


Projekte

Poscasts MAP//AMP © Goethe-Institut

Podcasts

M.A.P // A.M.P ist eine neue Podcast‑Serie des Goethe‑Instituts, in der Moderator Bhanuj Kappal der Bedeutung von Musik für politischen Aktivismus und Protestbewegungen im südasiatischen Kontext nachgehen wird. Dabei unterstützen ihn Musiker*innen, Akademiker*innen und Kulturorganisationen des Subkontinents.

Pirate Radio M.AP // A.M.P © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Pirate Radio

Das Goethe-Institut, in Zusammenarbeit mit reboot.fm, präsentiert Multiply . Activate . Punctuate, einen Radiosender, der die Klänge von Protest und Aktivismus in ganz Indien zu Ihnen bringt. Seien Sie dabei, wenn der Inder RJ Sarthak in einer Reihe von Gesprächen den vielfältigen Spuren revolutionärer Künstler*innen folgt und die Nuancen des Protests herausarbeitet.


Like. Follow. Listen. Share.


Schreiben Sie uns

Bei Fragen oder weiteren Informationen zu unseren Projekten können Sie sich gerne an uns unter map-amp@goethe.de wenden.
 

Top