Photo Exhibition in the Siddhartha Hall Photo: Bernhard Ludewig

Living culture

We foster bilateral cultural exchange programs between Germany and India. We initiate film series, exhibitions, concerts, seminars and festivals, always with the goal to facilitate artistic production, reception and reflection involving actors from both countries.

Projects

Meet our Guests Photo: © Colourbox.de

Four questions
Meet our guests

The Goethe-Institut /Max Mueller Bhavan is very keen on bringing people together. We like to invite artists and musicians, fotographers and academics, filmmakers and authors and so many more to India where they come together with local colleagues.

Encountering the strange © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

German female literature in Hindi
Encountering the strange

The anthology 'Ek Ajnabi se Mulakat‘ presents texts by German women writers translated into Hindi. Learn more about the authors.

Logo Inherited memories © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Forgotten and Recalled
My Parents' World

As the world is now gripped with the Syrian refugee crisis and debates rage on their acceptance in various countries in Europe, it may be the right time to look back into some of the biggest refugee crises and human migration in recent history. The debates centre mostly around the broader theme of what impact the refugees would have if they are allowed to settle in a particular society.

Books Photo: Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Literary translation
The German List

German literature in English translation published by Seagull Books, Calcutta.

.

goethe.de/180seconds
180 Seconds City

From Berlin to Bogota – and back via Tokyo and Kolkata! 16 cities, 64 short films and four themes taken from life in the big cities of the world: in 180 seconds emerges a picture of a city, showing what unites us and what makes us different from one another.

Future Perfect

Goethe.de/futureperfect
Future Perfect

The world is in need of ideas for a better, more sustainable future, but ideas are not enough. The Goethe-Institut and the foundation FUTURZWEI collect stories for tomorrow – lived today, everywhere.

On tour with Photo: © GettyImages William Fawcett

City walks
On Tour with...

Our authors meet persons who move others or moved others, people we talk about or will talk about, persons who are creative and inspire us or others. They show us their town, their favorite spots or places which have left an imprint on them.

Foto: Poets Translating Poets

goethe.de/ptp
Poets Translating Poets

Poets from South Asia and Germany translate each other's poems.

This Side That Side © Vishwajyoti Ghosh 2013

Forgotten and Recalled
This Side That Side

This Side That Side’ is the first-ever compendium of its kind which brings together graphic narratives on that epochal moment from comic book writers, graphic artists, film makers and illustrators from India, Pakistan, and Bangladesh.

Popcast
Current Music from Germany

Rock, pop, hiphop, electro: at the beginning of every month we shine our search beacon into the nation’s studios and clubs from Kiel up north to Weilheim way down south. Together with Zündfunk, Bavarian Radio’s scene magazine, we showcase the latest music by riveting off-the-charts bands.

Top

Fotoausstellung in der Siddhartha Halle Foto: Bernhard Ludewig

Kultur erleben

Wir fördern den Kulturaustausch zwischen Deutschland und Indien. Wir initiieren Filmreihen, Ausstellungen, Konzerte, Seminare und Festivals, bei denen es um die gemeinsame künstlerische Produktion, Rezeption und Reflexion geht. 

Projekte

Museum of the Future: Banner grafik Grafik: Goethe-Institut / Aarushi Surana

Museum of the Future

Welche Bedeutung besitzt Bildung für das Wohlergehen einer Gesellschaft? Welche Rollen spielen Museen? Museumsfachleute und weitere Experten und Expertinnen aus Deutschland und Indien gehen dieser Frage nach.

Social Translating

Das Social Translating Projekt

Das Social Translating Projekt erprobt eine neue soziale Praxis des literarischen Übersetzens. Zehn Übersetzerinnen und Übersetzer aus Asien übertragen „Die Welt im Rücken“ von Thomas Melle in ihre jeweiligen Landessprachen, treffen sich dabei in einem geschlossenen digitalen Raum und erarbeiten ihre Übersetzungen im Austausch untereinander sowie im engen Diskurs mit dem Autor.

Bei uns zu Gast © Colourbox.de

Bei uns zu Gast

Die sechs Goethe-Institute / Max Mueller Bhavan in Indien sind Orte des kulturellen Austausches und der interkulturellen Begegnung. Regelmäßig bringen wir Menschen aus diversen Bereichen zusammen.

Begegnung mit dem Fremden © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan New Delhi

Begegnung mit dem Fremden

Die Anthologie 'Ek Ajnabi se Mulakat‘ vereint in Hindi übersetzte Texte von deutschen Schriftstellerinnen. Lernen Sie hier mehr über die Autorinnen.

Logo Inherited memories © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Meiner Eltern Welt

Während die weltweite Aufmerksamkeit gegenwärtig der syrischen Flüchtlingskrise gilt und den Debatten über die Aufnahme von Flüchtlingen in den verschiedenen europäischen Ländern, scheint dies auch der richtige Moment zu sein, auf eine der größten Flüchtlingskrisen und Migrationsbewegungen in der jüngeren Geschichte zurückzublicken. 

Bücher Foto: Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Die German List

Der indische Verlag „Seagull Books“, Kalkutta, publiziert Übersetzungen deutscher Literatur ins Englische.

.

180 Sekunden Stadt

Von Berlin nach Bogotá – und zurück über Tokyo und Kolkata! 16 Städte, 64 Kurzfilme und vier Themen aus dem Leben in den großen Metropolen der Welt: In je 180 Sekunden entsteht ein Bild der Stadt, das zeigt, was uns eint und was uns voneinander unterscheidet.

Future Perfect

Geschichten von Pionieren

Die Welt braucht Ideen für eine bessere und nachhaltige Zukunft, aber Ideen sind nicht genug. Das Goethe-Institut und die Stiftung FUTURZWEI sammeln Geschichten von überall für morgen – schon heute umgesetzt.

Unterwegs mit Foto: © GettyImages William Fawcett

Unterwegs mit...

Unsere Autoren treffen Menschen, die etwas bewegen oder bewegt haben. Menschen, über die man spricht oder sprechen wird. Menschen, die kreativ sind und uns oder andere inspirieren. Sie zeigen uns ihre Stadt, ihre Lieblingsplätze, Orte, die sie geprägt haben.

Foto: Poets Translating Poets

Poets Translating Poets

Gegenseitiges Übersetzen: Lyriker aus Südasien übersetzen deutsche Gedichte. Deutsche Dichter übertragen Gedichte aus südasiatischen Sprachen ins Deutsche.

This Side That Side © Vishwajyoti Ghosh 2013

This Side That Side

„This Side That Side“ ist das erste Kompendium, das grafische Erzählungen von Comicbuchautoren, Grafikern, Filmemachern und Illustratoren aus Indien, Pakistan und Bangladesch vereint.

Popcast © Goethe-Institut | Illustration: DOON 東

Aktuelle Musik aus Deutschland

Rock, Pop, Hip-Hop, Electro: jeder Monat beginnt mit einem neuen Schlaglicht auf die Studios und Clubs zwischen Kiel und Weilheim. Gemeinsam mit Zündfunk, dem Szenemagazin des bayerischen Rundfunks, präsentieren wir Neues abseits der Charts.

Aktuelles aus der Klassikszene

Was passiert Neues in der klassischen Musik in Deutschland? Gemeinsam mit BR Klassik präsentieren wir an jedem 15. eines Monats klassische und zeitgenössische CD-Neuerscheinungen sowie Entwicklungen der deutschsprachigen Klassikszene. Abonnierbar über RSSFeeds und iTunes!

Top