Culture

Welcome image © Goethe-Institut

Welcome!

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan offers topics from culture and society in Germany, India and the South Asian region, thereby building bridges between the continents. With our digital offerings, we want to portray a modern image of Germany. At the same time, we take into account the local perspective, deal with topics from India and neighboring countries and promote international dialogue.


Cultural scene © Goethe-Institut

Cultural Genres

The art and cultural scene in Germany and India is characterized by great diversity with respect to the size and scope of the various cultural institutions and projects. In the "Arts" section, we highlight "Architecture", "Music", "Visual Arts" and "Dance and Theater" and share regular updates on calls for proposals and residencies. The two focal points of the region, "Film, Media & Digital Culture" and "Literature & Knowledge" are also covered. 

Contemporary Life ©Goethe-Institut

Contemporary Life

Germany is globally renowned as the "Land of poets and thinkers". But it is also the country of the Currywurst, of Christmas markets and Oktoberfest, of soccer and punctuality! How do the Germans live? What is the typical contemporary culture, what is being debated, and where do discourses arise? All of these and many more are the focus of this section. 

Top

Kultur

Willkommensbild © Goethe-Institut

Willkommen!

Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan bietet Themen aus Kultur und Gesellschaft in Deutschland, Indien sowie der Region Südasien und schlägt damit Brücken zwischen den Kontinenten. Mit unserem digitalen Angebot wollen wir ein modernes Deutschlandbild vermitteln. Gleichzeitig nehmen wir die Perspektive vor Ort auf, behandeln Themen aus Indien sowie der Nachbarländer und fördern den internationalen Dialog.
 


Kulturelle Szene © Goethe-Institut

Kulturelle Sparten

Die Kunst- und Kulturszene in Deutschland und Indien zeichnet sich durch eine große Vielfalt aus. In der Sparte „Künste“ vereinen wir „Architektur“, „Musik“, „Bildende Künste“ sowie „Tanz und Theater“. Hier finden Sie auch regelmäßige Updates zu Ausschreibungen und Residenzen. Dazu kommen die beiden Schwerpunkte der Region „Film, Medien & digitale Kultur“ sowie „Literatur & Wissen“.

Künste

Simurgh Centre Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan

Simurgh Centre

Das Simurgh Centre ist ein kultureller Raum für Kollaborationen und Konversationen zwischen Künstler*innen aus Afghanistan, Indien und Deutschland. Uns liegt daran, die Arbeit afghanischer Künstler*innen vor allem aus Delhi zu unterstützen, zu erkunden und zu teilen.

Zeitgenössisches Leben ©Goethe-Institut

Gegenwart

Deutschland ist weltweit bekannt als das „Land der Dichter und Denker“. Aber es ist auch das Land der Currywurst, der Weihnachtsmärkte und Oktoberfeste, des Fußballs und der Pünktlichkeit. Wie leben die Deutschen? Was ist typische Gegenwartskultur, worüber wird gestritten, wo entstehen Diskurse? Um diese Fragen und mehr rankt sich unser Bereich „Gegenwart“.

Top