For Everyday Heroes
Barcelona

Alltagshelden
In 2013, Calle Claus was a part of the ‘Comic Transfer’ programme organised by the Goethe-Institut and travelled from Hamburg to Barcelona. He felt most comfortable in the Catalonian capital when he was able to escape the hordes of tourists flooding the city.

 

Extracts from "Barcelona":

  • Calle Claus during his adventure in the Amfiteatro © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus during his adventure in the Amfiteatro

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Claus on tour at the book flea market © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus on tour at the book flea market

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Claus on the way up to Tibidabo © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus on the way up to Tibidabo

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Clau visiting FC Barcelona at Camp Nou © Calle Claus

    Calle Clau visiting FC Barcelona at Camp Nou

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

About the artist Calle Claus:

Calle Claus

Calle Claus, German cartoonist and text writer, illustrator and radio play author, also teaches at various universities and art schools as a lecturer for drawing, character design and storytelling.


Travelpedia: Barcelona

  • Sant Antoni Market, located near the metro station of the same name, is one of the most tradition-rich markets in Barcelona. During the week, the market is one of the best places in the city to buy fresh food, and on Sundays, it becomes a magnet for book lovers and fans of old postcards and nostalgic advertising posters. Over 100 stalls welcome visitors to browse around. © Calle Claus (Detail)

    Sant Antoni Market, located near the metro station of the same name, is one of the most tradition-rich markets in Barcelona. During the week, the market is one of the best places in the city to buy fresh food, and on Sundays, it becomes a magnet for book lovers and fans of old postcards and nostalgic advertising posters. Over 100 stalls welcome visitors to browse around.

  • It is both a bizarre and delightful hotspot that guards many macabre secrets: the spectacular Anatomical Amphitheater. This is housed in the neoclassical building of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Catalonia. It was used as a teaching facility for medical students in the 18th century and was intended to train surgeons. © Calle Claus (Detail)

    It is both a bizarre and delightful hotspot that guards many macabre secrets: the spectacular Anatomical Amphitheater. This is housed in the neoclassical building of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Catalonia. It was used as a teaching facility for medical students in the 18th century and was intended to train surgeons.

  • Camp Nou in Barcelona is Europe's largest soccer stadium (and the third largest in the world). A must-see for any soccer fan! Dedicated purely to soccer, it was inaugurated in 1957 and has been used by FC Barcelona as their home stadium ever since. 110,000 spectators can fit in the facility, and yet it is almost always fully booked. If you can't get tickets for a game, you should definitely book a tour. © Calle Claus (Detail)

    Camp Nou in Barcelona is Europe's largest soccer stadium (and the third largest in the world). A must-see for any soccer fan! Dedicated purely to soccer, it was inaugurated in 1957 and has been used by FC Barcelona as their home stadium ever since. 110,000 spectators can fit in the facility, and yet it is almost always fully booked. If you can't get tickets for a game, you should definitely book a tour.

  • FC Barcelona, or Barça for short, has significantly more supporters across Europe than its arch-enemy Real Madrid and is by far the club with the most fans. A total of 57.8 million. They are called Culers (Catalan cul = ass). The nickname comes from the time when Barça played its home games in the Camp del Carrer Indústria. There, they sat on a wall in the last row: passersby caught a glimpse of bottoms rowed together. © Calle Claus (Detail)

    FC Barcelona, or Barça for short, has significantly more supporters across Europe than its arch-enemy Real Madrid and is by far the club with the most fans. A total of 57.8 million. They are called Culers (Catalan cul = ass). The nickname comes from the time when Barça played its home games in the Camp del Carrer Indústria. There, they sat on a wall in the last row: passersby caught a glimpse of bottoms rowed together.

  • Sagrat Cor ( Sacred Heart), one of the highlights of any visit to Barcelona, is a church on the local mountain Tibidabo. The special features are the fantastic views and the 7.5 m high statue of Jesus on the dome. A Protestant church and a hotel complex with a casino were originally planned here at the end of the 19th century. Instead, the Catholic Knights bought the land, and had the basilica built on the model of Sacré-Cœurs. © Calle Claus (Detail)

    Sagrat Cor ( Sacred Heart), one of the highlights of any visit to Barcelona, is a church on the local mountain Tibidabo. The special features are the fantastic views and the 7.5 m high statue of Jesus on the dome. A Protestant church and a hotel complex with a casino were originally planned here at the end of the 19th century. Instead, the Catholic Knights bought the land, and had the basilica built on the model of Sacré-Cœurs.

Thomas Hummitzsch on "Barcelona"

However, when leafing through his short travelogues, it is something else that catches your eye. Almost as though, with each passing day, the city is becoming louder, more alien and unapproachable."

Review
 

More Comics for everyday heroes




More about Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Alltagshelden
Barcelona

 

Alltagshelden
2013 nahm Calle Claus am Comictransfer des Goethe-Instituts teil und reiste von Hamburg nach Barcelona. Wohl gefühlt hat er sich in der katalanischen Metropole vor allem dann, wenn er den Touristenströmen entfliehen konnte.

Auszüge aus „Barcelona“:

  •  Calle Claus bei seinem Abenteur im Amfiteatro © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus bei seinem Abenteur im Amfiteatro

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Claus unterwegs auf dem Bücherflohmarkt © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus unterwegs auf dem Bücherflohmarkt

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Claus auf dem Weg hoch zum Tibidabo © Calle Claus

    Calle Claus auf dem Weg hoch zum Tibidabo

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

  • Calle Clau zu Besuch im Camp Nou beim FC Barcelona © Calle Claus

    Calle Clau zu Besuch im Camp Nou beim FC Barcelona

  •  © Calle Claus

  •  © Calle Claus

Über den Künstler Calle Claus:

Calle Claus

Calle Claus, deutscher Comic-Zeichner und -Texter, Illustrator und Hörspielautor, unterrichtet auch an verschiedenen Hochschulen und Schulen in Hamburg.


Travelpedia: Barcelona

  • Der Sant Antoni Markt in der Nähe der gleichnamigen Metrostration gehört zu den traditionsreichsten Märkten Barcelonas. Unter der Woche einer der besten Orte der Stadt, um frische Lebensmittel zu kaufen, verwandelt er sich sonntags zum Anziehungspunkt für Buchliebhaber und Fans von alten Postkarten und nostalgischen Werbeplakaten. Mehr als 100 Stände laden zum Stöbern ein. © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Der Sant Antoni Markt in der Nähe der gleichnamigen Metrostration gehört zu den traditionsreichsten Märkten Barcelonas. Unter der Woche einer der besten Orte der Stadt, um frische Lebensmittel zu kaufen, verwandelt er sich sonntags zum Anziehungspunkt für Buchliebhaber und Fans von alten Postkarten und nostalgischen Werbeplakaten. Mehr als 100 Stände laden zum Stöbern ein.

  • Es ist ein bizarrer und reizvoller Hotspot zugleich, der viele makabre Geheimnisse hütet: das spektakuläre anatomische Amphitheater. Untergebracht ist es im neoklassizistischen Gebäude der Königlichen Akademie der Medizin in Katalonien. Es wurde im 18. Jahrhundert als Lehrstätte für Medizinstudenten genutzt und war für die Ausbildung von Chirurgen vorgesehen. © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Es ist ein bizarrer und reizvoller Hotspot zugleich, der viele makabre Geheimnisse hütet: das spektakuläre anatomische Amphitheater. Untergebracht ist es im neoklassizistischen Gebäude der Königlichen Akademie der Medizin in Katalonien. Es wurde im 18. Jahrhundert als Lehrstätte für Medizinstudenten genutzt und war für die Ausbildung von Chirurgen vorgesehen.

  • Europas größtes Fußballstadion (und das drittgrößte der Welt,) ist das Camp Nou in Barcelona. Ein Muss für jeden Fußballfan! Das reine Fußballstadion wurde 1957 eingeweiht und wird seither vom FC Barcelona als Heimstadion genutzt. 110.000 Zuschauer passen in die Anlage, und trotzdem ist sie fast immer ausgebucht. Wer keine Tickets für ein Spiel ergattert, sollte unbedingt eine Tour buchen. © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Europas größtes Fußballstadion (und das drittgrößte der Welt,) ist das Camp Nou in Barcelona. Ein Muss für jeden Fußballfan! Das reine Fußballstadion wurde 1957 eingeweiht und wird seither vom FC Barcelona als Heimstadion genutzt. 110.000 Zuschauer passen in die Anlage, und trotzdem ist sie fast immer ausgebucht. Wer keine Tickets für ein Spiel ergattert, sollte unbedingt eine Tour buchen.

  • Der FC Barcelona, kurz Barça, hat europaweit deutlich mehr Anhänger als Erzfeind Real Madrid und ist mit Abstand der Klub mit den meisten Fans. Insgesamt 57,8 Millionen. Sie werden Culers (katalanisch cul = Arsch), genannt. Der Spitzname stammt aus der Zeit, als Barça seine Heimspiele im Camp del Carrer Indústria austrug. Dort saß man in der letzten Reihe auf einer Mauer: Passanten sahen das Bild aneinandergereihter Hinterteile. © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Der FC Barcelona, kurz Barça, hat europaweit deutlich mehr Anhänger als Erzfeind Real Madrid und ist mit Abstand der Klub mit den meisten Fans. Insgesamt 57,8 Millionen. Sie werden Culers (katalanisch cul = Arsch), genannt. Der Spitzname stammt aus der Zeit, als Barça seine Heimspiele im Camp del Carrer Indústria austrug. Dort saß man in der letzten Reihe auf einer Mauer: Passanten sahen das Bild aneinandergereihter Hinterteile.

  • Sagrat Cor (heiliges Herz), die Kirche auf dem Hausberg Tibidabo, ist ein Highlight jedes Barcelona-Besuchs. Das Besondere ist die fantastische Aussicht sowie die 7,5 m hohe Jesus Statue auf der Kuppel. Ursprünglich war hier Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts eine evangelische Kirche und eine Hotelanlage mit Casino geplant. Die katholischen Ritter kauften stattdessen das Grundstück und ließen nach Vorbild Sacré-Cœurs die Basilika errichten. © Calle Claus (Ausschnitt)

    Sagrat Cor (heiliges Herz), die Kirche auf dem Hausberg Tibidabo, ist ein Highlight jedes Barcelona-Besuchs. Das Besondere ist die fantastische Aussicht sowie die 7,5 m hohe Jesus Statue auf der Kuppel. Ursprünglich war hier Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts eine evangelische Kirche und eine Hotelanlage mit Casino geplant. Die katholischen Ritter kauften stattdessen das Grundstück und ließen nach Vorbild Sacré-Cœurs die Basilika errichten.

Thomas Hummitzsch über „Barcelona“

Blättert man durch seine kleinen Reiseberichte, fällt aber auch etwas anderes auf. Es scheint, als wäre ihm die Stadt mit jedem Tag lauter, fremder und unnahbarer geworden."

Rezension
 

Weitere Comics für Alltagshelden




Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top