For Everyday Heroes
Making friends in Bangalore

 
Alltagshelden
Sebastian Lörscher takes his readers on a colourful and exciting #Graphic Journey: Making Friends in Bangalore. "Mit dem Skizzenbuch in Indien" is the fourth book by the Berlin-based illustrator. With support from the Goethe-Institut Bangalore, he spent a month in 2011 in the South Indian IT city, and in the 2014 Edition, Büchergilde published his wonderful travel sketches.

Extracts from "Making friends in Bangalore":

  • Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

About the artist Sebastian Lörscher:

Sebastian_Loerscher

As Sebastian Lörscher sat and drew on the streets in India, Haiti or Nigeria, people could look over his shoulder and ask what he was doing – and he could ask them questions, too. For him, drawing was always a door opener to the people and their stories.
 


Travelpedia: Bangalore

  • Making friends in Bangalore | Traffic © Sebastian Lörscher (Detail)

    Bangalore is known for its traffic chaos. The capital of the southern Indian state of Karnataka is chronically congested. The streets are not in the best condition and are often flooded in the rainy season. Tens of thousands of rickshaws crackle and honk through the tough rush of cars, motorcycles, Vespas, buses, cows, elephants, trucks, carts and pedestrians.

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore | Cricket © Sebastian Lörscher (Detail)

    What football means to Germans is cricket to Indians. Nowhere is the enthusiasm for the British ball game as great as in India. The duel between bowler and batsman can last several days on the subcontinent.

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore | IT © Sebastian Lörscher (Detail)

    Boomtown Bangalore: The IT metropolis has experienced an incredible upswing in the past 20 years: Numerous technology companies from home and abroad have settled here thanks to the optimal conditions. Entire industrial parks are still being built today.

Barbara Buchholz on "Making friends in Bangalore"

Lörscher also allows readers to share his sometimes surprising, sometimes curious experiences using graphic tricks."

Rezession

More Comics for everyday heroes




More about Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Alltagshelden
Making friends in Bangalore

 

Alltagshelden
Sebastian Lörscher nimmt seine Leserschaft mit auf eine farbenfrohe und erlebnisreiche #Graphic Journey. „Making Friends in Bangalore. Mit dem Skizzenbuch in Indien“ ist das vierte Buch des in Berlin lebenden Zeichners. 2011 verbrachte er mit Unterstützung des Goethe-Instituts Bangalore einen Monat in der südindischen IT-Metropole und veröffentlichte 2014 seine wunderbar aufbereiteten Reiseskizzen bei der Edition Büchergilde.

Auszüge aus „Making friends in Bangalore“:

  • Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore © Sebastian Lörscher

Über den Künstler Sebastian Lörscher:

Sebastian_Loerscher

Wenn Sebastian Lörscher in den Straßen saß und zeichnete, in Indien, Haiti oder Nigeria, konnten die Leute ihm über die Schulter schauen und fragen, was er da mache – und er konnte zurückfragen. So war für ihn das Zeichnen auch immer ein Türöffner zu den Menschen und zu ihren Geschichten.


Travelpedia: Bangalore

  • Making friends in Bangalore | Verkehr © Sebastian Lörscher (Ausschnitt)

    Bangalore ist bekannt für sein Verkehrschaos. Die Hauptstadt des südindischen Bundesstaates Karnataka ist chronisch verstopft. Die Straßen sind nicht im besten Zustand und in der Regenzeit gern mal überflutet. Zehntausende Rikschas knattern und hupen sich durch das zähe Gewühl aus Autos, Motorrädern, Vespas, Bussen, Kühen, Elefanten, LKWs, Karren und Fußgängern.

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore | Cricket © Sebastian Lörscher (Ausschnitt)

    Was den Deutschen der Fußballsport ist den Indern das Cricket. Nirgendwo ist die Begeisterung für das britische Schlagballspiel so groß wie in Indien. Das Duell zwischen Werfer (Bowler) und Schlagmann (Batsman) kann auf dem Subkontinent schon mal mehrere Tage dauern.

  • Sebastian Lörscher: Making friends in Bangalore | IT © Sebastian Lörscher (Ausschnitt)

    Boomtown Bangalore: Die IT-Metropole erlebte in den vergangenen 20 Jahren einen unglaublichen Aufschwung: Zahlreiche Technologiefirmen aus dem In- und Ausland siedelten sich dank optimaler Bedingungen zuhauf hier an. Ganze Industrieparks entstehen bis heute.

Barbara Buchholz über „Making Friends in Bangalore“

Mit grafischen Kniffen lässt Lörscher Leser an seinen überraschenden bis kuriosen Erfahrungen teilhaben."

Rezension

Weitere Comics für Alltagshelden




Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top