For Gourmets
Everyday life impressions from Mexico City



For Connoisseurs
What does an illustrator like Mawil do when the Goethe-Institut sends him to Mexico City where he is not interested in narrating an action-packed story but instead would like to put his impressions of everyday life down on paper? In his illustrations, he displays his own subjective images of a country he has three weeks to discover.

Extracts from "Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City":

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Breakfast © Mawil

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Street Life © Mawil

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Water © Mawil

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Cementary II © Mawil

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Street Life II © Mawil

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Souvenirs © Mawil

About the artist Mawil:

Mawil

When Mawil draws, he is only halfway approachable and deeply immersed. In a travel photograph – in contrast to a drawing – he can never capture everything that he considers important in that particular moment. The people, the atmosphere, the panorama, the music in the background, the insider or running gags during the trip.


Travelpedia: Mexico City

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City | Lucha Libre © Mawil (Detail)

    Dramatic, acrobatic and a bit wild: a Lucha Libre show is a pleasure and definitely belongs to the sightseeing program in Mexico City. Shows are held several times a week in the Mexico Arena. Lucha Libre is Mexican wrestling. In contrast to other types of wrestling, the luchadores (wrestlers) often wear masks and perform soaring acrobatic movements.

  • Mawil: Everyday life impressions from aus Mexico City| Cementary © Mawil (Detail)

    Death as a taboo: hard to imagine in Mexico. It belongs to life in the Latin American country. The dead return once a year to visit their relatives before they are adopted by them again in the afterlife. The Mexicans always invite to a party in the cemetery at the beginning of November. A toast is topped with a picnic at the grave, catchy folk music and eerily sweet skulls made of frosting.

Jonas Engelmann on "Everyday life impressions from Mexico City"

Between the blue and green tones, the heat is palpable, the palms provide meagre shade, not a soul is to be seen on the street – an unexpected perspective in one of the world’s largest cities."

Review
 

More Comics for gourmets


More about Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Genießer
Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City

Für Genießer


 
Was tut ein Zeichner wie Mawil, wenn er im Auftrag des Goethe-Instituts nach Mexiko-Stadt reist, und keine actiongeladene Story erzählen, sondern stattdessen Alltagseindrücke zu Papier bringen will? Er entfaltet auf den Skizzen eigene, subjektive Bilder der Metropole, die zu entdecken er drei Wochen Zeit hat.

Auszüge aus „Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City“:

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Frühstück © Mawil

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Straßenszene © Mawil

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Wasser © Mawil

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Friedhof II © Mawil

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Straßenszene II © Mawil

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Souvenire © Mawil

Über den Künstler Mawil:

Mawil

Wenn Mawil zeichnet, dann ist er nur halb ansprechbar bzw. vollkommen angekommen. Auf Reisefotos – im Gegensatz zur Zeichnung – bekommt er nie alles drauf, was ihm in diesem Moment gerade wichtig ist. Die Leute, die Stimmung, das Panorama, die Musik im Hintergrund, die Insider- oder Running Gags der Reise.


Travelpedia: Mexiko-Stadt

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Lucha Libre © Mawil (Ausschnitt)

    Dramatisch, akrobatisch und ein bisschen wild: Eine Lucha Libre-Show ist ein Genuss und gehört unbedingt auf das Sightseeing-Programm in Mexiko-Stadt. In der Arena México finden an mehreren Abenden in der Woche Shows statt. Lucha Libre ist Mexikanisches Wrestling. Im Unterschied zu anderen Wrestling-Typen, tragen die Luchadores (Wrestler) häufig Masken und vollführen hochfliegende akrobatische Bewegungen.

  • Mawil: Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City | Friedhof © Mawil (Ausschnitt)

    Der Tod als Tabu: in Mexiko nur schwer vorstellbar. In dem lateinamerikanischen Land gehört er zum Leben. Einmal im Jahr kehren die Toten zurück, um ihre Verwandten zu besuchen, bevor sie von diesen wieder ins Jenseits verabschiedet werden. Dafür laden die Mexikaner immer Anfang November zur Party auf dem Friedhof. Bei Picknick am Grab, eingängiger Volksmusik und schaurig-süßen Schädeln aus Zuckerguss wird auf den Tod angestoßen.

Jonas Engelmann über „Alltagseindrücke aus Mexico City“

 

Die Hitze ist zwischen den Blau- und Grüntönen förmlich spürbar, die Palmen werfen nur spärliche Schatten, kein Mensch ist auf der Straße zu sehen – eine unerwartete Perspektive auf eine der größten Städte der Welt."

Rezension

Weitere Comics für Genießer


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top