For Seekers Of Meaning
India Travel sketches

Seaker
In December 2017, Reinhard Kleist spent a month in India on the invitation of the Goethe-Institut. He appeared for live drawing sessions, workshops and readings in Pune, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai and New Delhi, and he participated in DeCAF, Delhi’s first Comic Arts Festival. He also visited the Taj Mahal, Kovalam, Jaipur and Pune. The result is his “India Travel Sketches”.

Extracts from "India Travel sketches":

  • Kleist_Agra. © Reinhard Kleist

  •  Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

    Jaipur

  • Kleist_Kovalam © Reinhard Kleist

    Kovalam

  •  Kleist_Chennai © Reinhard Kleist

    Chennai

  • Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

  • Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

    Jaipur

  • Kleist_Chennai © Reinhard Kleist

    Chennai

About the artist Reinhard Kleist:

His most successful works include ‘Cash – I See a Darkness’, ‘The Boxer’ and ‘An Olympic Dream’. He has won the Max & Moritz Prize for the best German-language comic book artist and the German Children’s Literature Award for non-fiction.
 


Travelpedia: India

  • Kleist: Kolkata © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

    Kolkata (formerly: Calcutta) is the capital of the Indian state of West Bengal. Founded as a trading post for the British East India Company, Kolkata was the capital of British India from 1773 to 1911. Today, it is valued for its great colonial architecture, art galleries and cultural festivals.

  • Kleist: Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

    Pink City: Jaipur owes its nickname to the reddish-colored facades of its most important buildings. The capital of the Indian state of Rajasthan fascinates with unique buildings such as the Amber Fort and the Palace of the Winds.

Barbara Buchholz in conversation about "Travel Sketches India"

The local Goethe-Institut sent me through the city with two employees, and I was asked to sit down and draw somewhere and they took photos of me. That was a little absurd, because for me drawing is actually about observing and not being the centre of attention."


Interview

More Comics for seekers of meaning




Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Sinnsucher
Reiseskizzen Indien

Sinnsucher

 
Reinhard Kleist verbrachte im Dezember 2017 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts einen Monat in Indien. Er trat in Pune, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai und New Delhi bei Live Drawing Sessions, Workshops und Lesungen auf, und er nahm an DeCAF, dem ersten Comic Arts Festival in New Delhi, teil. Er besuchte außerdem das Taj Mahal, Kovalam, Jaipur und Pune. Entstanden sind dabei seine „Reiseszkizzen Indien“.

Auszüge aus „Reiseskizzen Indien“:

  • Kleist_Agra © Reinhard Kleist

    Agra

  •  Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

    Jaipur

  • Kleist_Kovalam © Reinhard Kleist

    Kovalam

  •  Kleist_Chennai © Reinhard Kleist

    Chennai

  • Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

    Jaipur

  • Kleist_Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist

    Jaipur

  • Kleist_Chennai © Reinhard Kleist

    Chennai

Über den Künstler Reinhard Kleist:

Zu seinen erfolgreichsten Arbeiten gehören »Cash – I see a darkness«, »Der Boxer« und »Der Traum von Olympia«. Er hat u.a. den Max-und-Moritz-Preis als bester deutschsprachiger Comic-Künstler und den Jugendliteraturpreis Sachbuch gewonnen.


Travelpedia: Indien

  • Kleist: Kolkata © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

    Kolkata (früher: Kalkutta) ist die Hauptstadt des indischen Bundesstaates Westbengalen. Als Handelsposten der Britischen Ostindien-Kompanie gegründet, war Kolkata von 1773 bis 1911 Hauptstadt Britisch-Indiens. Heute wird sie für ihre großartige Kolonialarchitektur, ihre Kunstgalerien und Kulturfestivals geschätzt.

  • Kleist: Jaipur © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

    Pink City oder die rosarote Stadt, den Spitznamen verdankt Jaipur den rötlich gefärbten Fassaden seiner wichtigsten Bauten. Die Hauptstadt des indischen Bundesstaates Rajasthan fasziniert durch einzigartige Bauwerke wie das Amber Fort und den Palast der Winde.

Barbara Buchholz im Gespräch über „Reiseszkizzen Indien“

Das dortige Goethe Institut hat mich mit zwei Angestellten durch die Stadt geschickt, und ich sollte mich immer irgendwo hinsetzen und zeichnen. Die haben das dann fotografiert. Das war ein bisschen absurd, denn eigentlich geht es mir beim Zeichnen darum, zu beobachten und nicht im Mittelpunkt zu stehen."

Interview
 

Weitere Comics für Sinnsucher




Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top