For Adventurers
Was kostet ein Yak

For adventurers
In search of inspiration for his thesis, Philip Cassirer travelled through Nepal, India and Bangladesh. He processed his experiences in the graphic novel, "How much for a yak?".

Extracts from "Was kostet ein Yak":

  • Cassirer: Yak Karte © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Backpacking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Trekking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Trekking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Annapurna © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Snow © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Sikkim © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Leh © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Varanassi © Philip Cassirer

About the artist Philip Cassirer:

 Philip Cassirer

As an illustrator, Philip Cassirer recreates the place from memory, from sketches or even with the help of photographs. He believes that people with an untrained eye will find it much easier to recognise an illustrator by his style than a photographer. In addition to "What does a yak cost", the Hamburg native has published an illustrated book "Technology for Children".


Travelpedia: Nepal, India & Bangladesh

  • Cassirer: Tempel In Kathmandu © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    Swayambhunath is a temple complex, on the west of Kathmandu on a legendary hill. More than 2000 years old, the sanctuary is considered to be one of the oldest Buddhist temple complexes in the world alongside Borobudur in Indonesia.

  • Cassirer: Kathmandu to Phokara © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    Kathmandu, the capital of Nepal, is located at an altitude of around 1300 meters in a wide valley in the middle of the Himalayas. Once a place of longing full of poetry, today Kathmandu is just a stopover on the way to the mountains for many tourists.

  • Cassirer: Pokhara © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    Pokhara is the second largest city in Nepal, located on Lake Phewa. In addition to the loud and stuffy Kathmandu with its crowded streets, Pokhara appears almost idyllic. Mountain lovers appreciate the city as the starting point for the Annapurna Circuit, a popular trekking tour in the Himalayas.

  • Cassirer: People in Nepal © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    There are few countries in the world in which as many different people with different cultures and different origins live together in a confined space as in Nepal. Almost every valley has its own ethnic group with its own language, a total of 124 languages ​​and dialects.

  • Cassirer: People in Varanassi © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    Varanasi is one of the oldest permanently inhabited cities in the world. It lies halfway between Delhi and Kolkata and, due to its unfiltered impressions, is as exotic as it is disturbing for many: thousands of small shops, crowds of beggars, pilgrims and flying traders as well as crowds of people in the narrow dark alleys determine the cityscape.

  • Cassirer: Burning in Varanasi © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    In holy Varanasi, Hindus seek redemption. Whoever wants to die or burn relatives on the banks of the Ganges comes here. In Hinduism, it is believed to escape the eternal cycle of rebirth and to go straight to nirvana. Cremation takes place practically around the clock at the two burning ghats.

  • Cassirer: Red Fort © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    The Red Fort in the north Indian city of Delhi is a fortress and palace complex from the Mughal Empire. It was built between 1639 and 1648 for the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan and has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site since 2007.

  • Cassirer: Dhaka © Philip Cassirer (Detail)

    Traffic chaos prevails in every metropolis, especially in Asia. It is particularly bad in Dhaka. The capital of Bangladesh is one big traffic jam. It paralyzes the city every day. It takes drivers an hour and a half to drive eight kilometers.

Thomas Hummitzsch in conversation about "Was kostet ein Yak"

There are many self-deprecating references in the novel, for instance when you describe the position of travellers in overland buses in Asia, address the problems of constipation and drug use or simply illustrate their bewilderment when faced with cultural differences."

Interview
 

More Comics for adventurers



More about Graphic Travelogues



Top

Für Abenteurer
Was kostet ein Yak

Für Abenteurer

 
Um sich für seine Diplomarbeit inspirieren zu lassen, ist Philip Cassirer durch Nepal, Indien und Bangladesch gereist. Seine Erfahrungen hat er in seinem Comic "Was kostet ein Yak" verarbeitet.

Auszüge aus „Was kostet ein Yak“:

  • Cassirer: Yak Karte © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Backpacking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Trekking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Trekking © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Annapurna © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Schnee © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Sikkim © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Leh © Philip Cassirer

  • Cassirer: Varanassi © Philip Cassirer

Über den Künstler Philip Cassirer:

 Philip Cassirer

Als Zeichner kreiert Philip Cassirer den Ort neu aus seiner Erinnerung, aus Skizzen oder auch mit der Hilfe von Fotos. Er behauptet, dass es für Leute mit ungeschultem Auge sehr viel leichter ist, einen Zeichner an seinem Stil zu erkennen, als einen Fotografen. Neben „Was kostet ein Yak“ hat der gebürtige Hamburger ein illustriertes „Technikbuch für Kinder“ herausgegeben.


Travelpedia: Nepal, Indien & Bangladesch

  • Cassirer: Tempel In Kathmandu © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Swayambhunath ist ein Tempelkomplex, im Westen von Kathmandu auf einem sagenumwobenen Hügel. Mehr als 2000 Jahre alt, gilt das Heiligtum neben dem Borobudur in Indonesien als eine der ältesten buddhistischen Tempelanlagen der Welt.

  • Cassirer: Kathmandu nach Phokara © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Kathmandu, die Hauptstadt Nepals, liegt auf rund 1300 Metern Höhe in einem weiten Talkessel inmitten des Himalaya-Gebirges. Einst Sehnsuchtsort voller Poesie, ist Kathmandu heut für viele Touristen nur noch ein Zwischenstopp auf dem Weg in die Berge.

  • Cassirer: Pokhara © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Pokhara ist die zweitgrößte Stadt Nepals, am Phewa-See gelegen. Neben dem lauten und stickigen Kathmandu mit seinen voll gestopften Straßen, erscheint Pokhara fast idyllisch. Bergliebhaber schätzen die Stadt als Ausgangspunkt für den Annapurna Circuit, eine beliebte Trekkingtour im Himalaya.

  • Cassirer: Menschen in Nepal © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Es gibt wenige Länder auf der Welt, in denen so viele verschiedene Menschen mit verschiedenen Kulturen und unterschiedlicher Herkunft auf engsten Raum zusammenleben wie in Nepal. Fast jedes Tal hat eine eigene ethnische Gruppe mit eigener Sprache, insgesamt sind es 124 Sprachen und Dialekte.

  • Cassirer: Menschen in Varanassi © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Eine der ältesten dauerhaft bewohnten Städte der Welt ist Varanasi. Sie liegt auf halbem Weg zwischen Delhi und Kolkata und wirkt aufgrund ihrer ungefilterten Eindrücke für viele ebenso exotisch wie verstörend: Tausende von kleinen Läden, Scharen von Bettlern, Pilgern und fliegenden Händlern sowie Menschenmassen in den engen dunklen Gassen bestimmen das Stadtbild.

  • Cassirer: Verbrennung in Varanasi © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Im heiligen Varanasi suchen Hindus Erlösung. Hierher kommt, wer sterben oder Angehörige am Ufer des Ganges verbrennen will. Im Hinduismus glaubt man, so dem ewigen Kreislauf der Wiedergeburt zu entgehen und direkt ins Nirvana zu gelangen. An den zwei Verbrennungs-Ghats finden praktisch rund um die Uhr Einäscherungen statt.

  • Cassirer: Red Fort © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Das Rote Fort in der nordindischen Stadt Delhi ist eine Festungs- und Palastanlage aus der Epoche des Mogulreiches. Sie wurde zwischen 1639 und 1648 für den Mogulkaiser Shah Jahan erbaut und gehört seit 2007 zum Weltkulturerbe der UNESCO.

  • Cassirer: Dhaka © Philip Cassirer (Ausschnitt)

    Verkehrschaos herrscht in jeder Metropole, zumal in Asien. In Dhaka ist es besonders heftig. Die Hauptstadt von Bangladesch ist ein einziger Stau. Tagtäglich legt er die Stadt lahm. Für acht Kilometer brauchen Autofahrer anderthalb Stunden.

Thomas Hummitzsch im Gespräch über „Was kostet ein Yak“

Es gibt viele selbstironische Bezüge in dem Comic, etwa wenn Sie die Position von Reisenden in asiatischen Überlandbussen beschreiben, Verstopfungsprobleme und Drogenkonsum thematisieren oder einfach nur die Ratlosigkeit bei kulturellen Unterschieden aufzeigen."

Zum Interview

Weitere Comics für Abenteurer



Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues



Top