German in 1000 Schools

Deutsch an 1000 Schulen © Goethe-Institut New Delhi / Max Mueller Bhavan
Since 2012, the project "German in 1000 Schools" has aimed at supporting teaching and learning of German in state run schools  in India. We collaborate with various schools chains like Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), Navodaya Vidylalaya Samiti (NVS) and Tamil Nadu State Board (TNSB) which offer German across the length and breadth of the country. This project is also open to other school boards.

Kendriya Vidylalayas and Navodaya Vidylalyas with approx.1200 schools and 700 schools respectively have a presence in every district and major city in India make it possible for the Goethe-Institut to record a presence in almost every state in the country. Kendriya Vidyalayas are government schools set up for government employees who are often posted to different parts of the country every few years. Navodaya Vidyalayas,on the other hand, are boarding schools meant for selected students from rural areas who are brought to these schools to enable them to enjoy an excellent and holistic education.

The Tamil Nadu State Board (TNSB) offers its students German at the Senior Secondary level in the southern state of Tamil Nadu. On the request of the TNSB the Goethe-Institut developed a text book only for the board.

With the goal of having at least 50% of all learners enrolled in vocational training by 2025, the National Education Policy 2020 aims to implement various initiatives to promote skills development. We are committed to support our partner schools in this endeavour. Together with PRORecognition, the Information service of Indo German Chamber of Commerce, we have embarked upon this journey. Regular workshops, training and orientation sessions are being conducted on this theme.  

At present around 30,000 students are learning German as an additional language in these schools. The Goethe-Institut supports these schools with teaching materials, teacher training programmes and events for students like youth camps, cultural events and competitions, scholorships for students and study trips to Germany for decision makers. The support is offered both in online and offline formats. 

 
YMC

YOUNG MAX CLUB

A club for students from State run schools

Our Alumni

Studying in Germany is a dream many  students have. Some  students from the Kendriya Vidyalayas have been able to realise this dream. They finished their schooling in India and found their way to the top German universities.
Click on their videos and listen in to what they have to say.
Top

Deutsch an 1000 Schulen

Deutsch an 1000 Schulen © Goethe-Institut New Delhi / Max Mueller Bhavan
Das Projekt „Deutsch an 1000 Schulen“ richtet sich seit 2012 an Deutschschüler*innen der öffentlichen Schulen in Indien. Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan arbeitet hier bisher mit den herausragenden öffentlichen Schuleinrichtungen Kendriya Vidyalaya Sangathan (KVS), Navodaya Vidylalaya Samiti (NVS) und Tamil Nadu State Board (TNSB) zusammen und ist auch offen für weitere öffentliche Schuleinrichtungen in Indien.

Kendriya Vidylalayas und Navodaya Vidyalayas mit ca. 1200 beziehungsweise 700 Schulen haben eine indienweite Präsenz, wodurch Deutschunterricht im öffentlichen Schulbereich in fast allen indischen Bundesstaaten gewährleistet ist. Die Kendriya Vidyalaya Schulen sind öffentliche Schulen für Kinder von staatlichen Angestellten, die in der Regel alle drei bis vier Jahre ihren Dienstort wechseln müssen. Navodaya Vidylalayas Schulen hingegen sind Internatsschulen, die besonders begabte Kinder aus Dorfschulen aufnehmen, um ihnen eine gute und holistische Schulausbildung zukommen zu lassen.

Die Schulbehörde Tamil Nadu State Board (TNSB) bietet Deutsch im Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu in der Oberstufe an. Dafür hat das Goethe-Institut im Auftrag von TNSB eigens ein Lehrwerk für Deutsch erstellt.

Mit dem Ziel, dass bis 2025 mindestens 50 % aller Lernenden eine Berufsausbildung absolvieren, will die Nationale Bildungspolitik 2020 verschiedene Initiativen zur Förderung der Kompetenzentwicklung umsetzen. Wir haben uns verpflichtet, unsere Partnerschulen bei diesem Vorhaben zu unterstützen. Gemeinsam mit PRORecognition, dem Informationsdienst der Deutsch-Indischen Handelskammer, haben wir uns auf diesen Weg gemacht. Regelmäßige Workshops, Schulungen und Orientierungsveranstaltungen sind zu diesem Thema durchgeführt.  

Zurzeit lernen über 30.000 Schüler*innen Deutsch als Wahlfach an diesen staatlichen Schulen. Das Goethe-Institut unterstützt diese Schulen u.a. mit Lehrmitteln, Lehrerfortbildungen, Jugendcamps, Kulturveranstaltungen, Vorbereitung auf und Abnahme von international anerkannten Prüfungen, Wettbewerben für Schüler*innen, Stipendien und Besucherreisen für Entscheidungsträger.

YMC

YOUNG MAX CLUB

Ein Club für Schüler*innen aus Stattlichen Schulen.

Unser Alumni

Studium in Deutschland ist ein Traum für viele  Schüler*innen. Einige Schüler*innen der Kendriya Vidyalyas haben diesen Traum verwirklichen können. Nach dem Schulabschluß haben sie den Weg zu deutschen Universitäten gefunden. Klicken Sie auf ihre Videos und erfahren Sie, was diese Schüler*innen zu sagen haben.
Top