Gender Bender 2022

GB 2022_banner © Sandbox Collective

Gender Bender is a one-of-its-kind-annual  festival held in Bangalore, India, that showcases new works of art that re-examine and re-imagine the spectrum that is gender.

What started as a platform to display the works of the grantees, has over the last eight years, grown into a much needed and recognised space for important conversations that aim to contribute to our constantly evolving understanding of gender and its implications, including the need for intersectionality, with artists and audiences alike.

The festival showcases works created by the grantees, and also includes curated performances, panel discussions, exhibitions and workshops.

We invite applications from individuals and collectives working in the field of arts to create new and original work around the idea of gender. You are encouraged to approach this theme in a critical way, in relation to your own perspective. The artistic contributions can take any form of expression across different media - from dance to drawing, from photography to pottery, mixed media to mime, and everything in-between, so long as it is new work that can be presented, performed, screened, or exhibited to an audience. 

Gender Bender 2022 grant includes a maximum grant amount of INR 75,000 towards the creation of the work, awarded at the discretion of the panel with due reference to the proposal and budget submitted. 

An independent panel, comprising eminent individuals from various fields  shortlists the projects to be supported. This year's jury members were:  Abhishek Anicca, Sabika Abbas, Sarovar Zaidi and Siddhesh Gautam.

Gender Bender 2022 Grantees are:
Anup Let
Jafrin Akhtar
Mridul Kanti Goshami
MRS TAN
Pranami Rajbangshi
Rishabh Shetty
Revival Disability India
Swaja/Saransh
Shehzor
The Bitter Feminists (by Tej & Apu)


The projects develpoed by the grantees will be presented in Bangalore between December 6 and 11, 2022 at the Bangalore International Centre.

Gender Bender is a joint project of the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan and Sandbox Collective and is conceived, conceptualised, and curated by Sandbox Collective.

Previous editions:
Gender Bender 2020
Gender Bender 2019
Gender Bender 2018
 
Top

Gender Bender 2022

GB 2022_banner © Sandbox Collective

Gender Bender ist ein einzigartiges, jährlich stattfindendes Festival in Bangalore, Indien, das neue Kunstwerke präsentiert, die das Themenfeld "Geschlecht" neu untersuchen und neu definieren.

Was als Plattform zur Präsentation der Werke der Stipendiat*innen begann, hat sich in den letzten acht Jahren zu einem dringend benötigten und anerkannten Raum für wichtige Gespräche entwickelt, die dazu beitragen sollten, unser sich ständig weiterentwickelndes Verständnis von Geschlecht und seinen Implikationen, einschließlich der Notwendigkeit der Intersektionalität, mit Kunstschaffenden und Publikum gleichermaßen zu fördern.

Das Festival präsentiert Werke der Stipendiat*innen und umfasst auch kuratierte Performances, Podiumsdiskussionen, Ausstellungen und Workshops.

Bewerben können sich Einzelpersonen und Kollektive, die im Kunstbereich tätig sind und neue und originelle Arbeiten zum Thema Gender schaffen. Sie sind aufgefordert, sich diesem Thema auf kritische Weise und in Bezug auf ihre eigene Perspektive zu nähern. Die künstlerischen Beiträge können jede Ausdrucksform in verschiedenen Medien annehmen - vom Tanz bis zur Zeichnung, von der Fotografie bis zur Töpferei, von gemischten Medien bis zur Pantomime und allem, was dazwischen liegt, solange es sich um neue Arbeiten handelt, die einem Publikum präsentiert, vorgeführt, vorgeführt oder ausgestellt werden können. 

Das Gender Bender 2022 Stipendium umfasst einen Höchstbetrag von 75.000 INR für die Erstellung des Werks, der nach dem Ermessen der Jury unter Berücksichtigung des Projektvorschlags und des Budgets vergeben wird. 

Eine unabhängige Jury, die sich aus herausragenden Persönlichkeiten aus verschiedenen Bereichen zusammensetzt, trifft eine Vorauswahl der zu fördernden Projekte. Die diesjährige Jury bestand aus: Abhishek Anicca, Sabika Abbas, Sarovar Zaidi und Siddhesh Gautam.

Gender Bender 2022 Stipendiat*innen sind:
Anup Let
Jafrin Akhtar
Mridul Kanti Goshami
MRS TAN
Pranami Rajbangshi
Rishabh Shetty
Revival Disability India
Swaja/Saransh
Shehzor
The Bitter Feminists (by Tej & Apu)


Die, von den Stipendiat*innen entwickelten Projekte, werden zwischen dem 6. und 11. Dezember 2022 im Bangalore International Centre präsentiert.

Das Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan organisiert Gender Bender gemeinsam mit dem Sandbox Collective, welches das Projekt konzipiert hat und kuratiert. 

Frühere Ausgaben:
Gender Bender 2020
Gender Bender 2019
Gender Bender 2018
Top