bangaloREsidency
Expanded

bangaloREsidency expanded © Goethe-Institut Bangalore

The Project

The bangaloREsidency-Expanded was conceptualised in 2017 to further intensify the reach and sustainability of the residency project. During extended feedback sessions and discussions with hosts and bangaloREsidents, the need to encourage and support artistic traffic in the opposite direction was felt. Young, emerging Indian artists stand to profit immensely from exposure to other cultures/artistic arenas.

The aim of this initiative is, therefore, to establish long-term artistic exchange in a sustainable format that intensifies creative exchange through a novel practice of collaboration wherein Indian artists get to live and work in Germany, gain access to the art practice of the other culture and thereby enrich their own creativity.

Selection: Indian artists are nominated by one of our 27 bangaloREsidency hosts and the German partner organisation makes the final selection.
Duration: 4 to 8 weeks.
Support: The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan takes care of international and local travel expenses and the daily allowance. The partner organisation provides accommodation and atelier space, infrastructural and networking support.   

Partners in Germany

In the launch phase of bangaloREsidency-Expanded, four partner organisations have been brought on board:

WhiteBOX

ZK/U

Lichtenberg Studios

Zentralwerk

Residents

The first set of residents under bangaloREsidency-Expanded includes:

Suresh Kumar G.

Sridhar GangoLli

Indu Antony

Kunjikuttan Narayanan 

Anjali Gopan

bangaloREsidency
Expanded

bangaloREsidency expanded © Goethe-Institut Bangalore



bangaloREsidency-Expanded wurde 2017 vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore und von vier deutschen Kunstorganisationen konzipiert, um die Nachhaltigkeit des bangaloREsidency-Projekts zu verstärken. Während der langen Feedbacksessions und Diskussionen mit den Residency Hosts und den bangaloREsidenten wurde eins klar, eine reziproke Initiative fehlt. Jungen, aufstrebenden indischen KünstlerInnen soll die Möglichkeit gegeben werden, aus der kulturellen Begegnung Profit für Ihre eigene künstlerische Entwicklung schlagen zu können.

Das Ziel dieser Initiative ist es, einen langfristigen kulturellen Austausch zu schaffen und ein nachhaltiges Format, das den kreativen Austausch vertieft, einzuführen. bangaloREsidency-Expanded steht für den sinnvollen und produktiven Kulturaustausch, wobei KünstlerInnen aus Indien Gelegenheit haben, in Deutschland zu leben und zu arbeiten, die Kunst des Anderen näher kennenzulernen und dadurch ihre eigene Kreativität und Innovativität zu fördern.

- Auswahl: unsere 27 bangaloREsidency Hosts übernehmen die Verantwortung, indische KünstlerInnen den deutschen Organisationen zu empfehlen. Die Endauswahl trifft der deutsche Partner.
- Dauer: 4 bis 8 Wochen
- Unterstützung: Das Goethe-Institut übernimmt sowohl die An- und Abreisekosten, als auch die Kosten für den Transport innerhalb Deutschlands. Außerdem bekommt der Künstler Tagegeld vom Institut. Der Partner in Deutschland kümmert sich um die Unterkunft, das Atelier und die Infrastruktureinrichtungen.

Partner in Deutschland

Das Goethe-Instiut Bangalore freut sich, mit den folgenden vier Partnerorganisationen zu kollaborieren:

WhiteBOX

ZK/U

Lichtenberg Studios

Zentralwerk

Künstler

Die erste Gruppe der bangaloREsidency-Expanded Residenten besteht aus:

Suresh Kumar G.

Sridhar GangolLi

Indu Antony

Kunjikuttan Narayanan

Anjali Gopan