Aruna Ganesh Ram
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Wisp Kollektiv

agr ©Aruna Ganesh Ram Aruna Ganesh Ram founded Visual Respiration in 2012, after making a performance by the same name, where she told human stories of digital photographs. She is presently the Artistic Director of Visual Respiration. She also uses arts practices to create sensory learning experiences.
She is a trainer where she engages with students in the craft of performance making. She holds an MA in Advanced Theatre Practice from The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama.

Aruna's work goes beyond the linear and she generates performance material through research and embodied practice. The audience is part of the making process from the word go, given that the work is intimate and immersive in nature. She is interested in the performance to present multiple perspectives without resorting to the single narrative.

Aruna thinks in images and composes her work as a set of visual movements with sensory touches. Her work over the last years plays with ideas of space, character, narratives and sounds. She is very keen on the audience not being a passive spectator and believe that theatre as a medium is for the LIVE to come Alive – sensorially.
 
At Wisp Kollektiv, Leipzig, she will develop ‘Sonic Identities’ – an aural performance experience of gender.

Coloured and Choosing - An Immersive Gender Sound Installation

Coloured and Choosing_Performance © Nina Buttendorf Duration: 20 minute blind folded aural experience
 
Coloured and Choosing was developed as part of the bangaloREsidency-Expanded in collaboration with Wisp Kollektiv, Leipzig.
 
In this blindfolded 3D sound installation, the audience experiences the personal and the political in a gender space. The space is layered with over 30 sound sources, each transforming from the personal voice to the political, inviting the audience to tune into their gender frequency.
 
I landed at WISP Kollektiv at the end of July and I was quite curious about their work and very eager to meet with all of them. In my opinion, Wisp is truly an interdisciplinary arts organisation. While Felix was busy installing cricket sounds in a cave, Paul & Emma were trying to programme gestures into multimedia visuals and Nina was rigorously documenting every part of the work. My initiation into the 3D Sound Lab was exciting and intimidating. I think after the first session with Felix, I understood the possibilities of 3D sound.
 
My work at the residency involved creating a dramaturgical narrative as a starting point to the sound experience. Felix and I mapped out various possibilities of sound sources and audience placements. This helped me think of the soundscape as layers. Hence the narrative also evolved in layers from the intimate moving towards the political.
 
My own gender and life experiences, coupled with Hindu mythology, found voices and interviews became the source of material for the project. Along with the support of my sound collaborator MT Aditya, I composed a sequence of moments that included judgements, perceptions, poetry, slice-of-life events, love letters and interviews of fellow artists, friends and acquaintances. Felix and I spent time in the studio placing the compositions in a 3D environment.
 
We invited the audience to experience the audio performance. Their feedback was valuable and made me understand how the performances were individualised by the audience and how each member’s experience was unique.
 
And yes, we had fun dosa parties and German spaetzle parties and chill on the farm parties too as part of my stay in Leipzig. A big thank you to Goethe-Institut Bangalore for enabling this process. Immensely grateful.

Aruna Ganesh Ram bangaloREsident-Expanded@Wisp Kollektiv

agr ©Aruna Ganesh Ram Aruna Ganesh Ram gründete 2012 'Visual Respiration', eine Performance-Company in Bangalore, nachdem ein Stück mit dem selbem Namen aufgeführt wurde. In 'Visual Respiration' erzählt Aruna Geschichten über Menschen auf digitalen Fotografien. 

Derzeit ist sie künstlerische Leiterin von 'Visual Respiration'. Sie verwendet Kunstpraktiken, um sensorische Lernerfahrungen zu schaffen.
Sie arbeitet auch als Trainerin, im Bereich Performance Making und arbeitet hauptsächlich mit Schüler*innen. Sie hat einen Master in Theaterpraxis von der Royal Central School of Speech and Drama.

Arunas Arbeit geht über eine lineare Abhandlung hinaus. Durch Forschung und Embodiment schafft sie einzigartiges Performance-Material. Das Publikum ist von Anfang an am Entstehungsprozess beteiligt, das macht ihre Arbeit intim und umfassend. Bei ihren Performances ist es ihr wichtig mehrere Perspektiven zu zeigen und nicht eine einzige Erzählung vorzugeben.

Aruna denkt in Bildern und komponiert ihre Arbeit als eine Reihe von visuellen Bewegungen mit sensorischen Berührungen. Ihre Arbeit in den letzten Jahren spielt mit Ideen von Raum, Charakter, Erzählungen und Klängen. Es ist ihr sehr wichtig, dass das Publikum kein passiver Zuschauer ist und glaubt, dass das Theater ein Medium für den LIVE-Moment ist, um sensorisch lebendig zu werden.

Bei Wisp Kollektiv, Leipzig plant Aruna ‘Sonic Identities’ - eine auditive Performance - Erfahrung vom Geschlecht. 

Coloured and Choosing - Eine immersive Gender-Klanginstallation

Coloured and Choosing © Nina Buttendorf Dauer: 20-minütiges Hörerlebnis mit geschlossenen Augen
 
Coloured and Choosing wurde im Rahmen der bangaloREsidency-Expanded in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Wisp Kollektiv aus Leipzig entwickelt.
 
In der 3D-Klanginstallation erlebt das Publikum das Persönliche und Politische in einem Geschlechterraum mit verbundenen Augen. Der Raum ist mit über 30 Klangquellen durchzogen, die sich jeweils von der persönlichen Stimme zum Politischen wandeln und das Publikum einladen, sich auf ihre Geschlechterfrequenz einzustellen.
 
Ich bin Ende Juli beim WISP Kollektiv angekommen und war sehr neugierig auf ihre Arbeit und sehr gespannt darauf, alle dort anzutreffen. Meiner Meinung nach funktioniert Wisp als eine wirklich interdisziplinäre Kunst/-Kulturorganisation. Während Felix damit beschäftigt war Cricket-Sounds in einer Höhle zu installieren, versuchten Paul & Emma Gesten in eine Multimedia-Visualisierungen zu programmieren, und Nina dokumentierte rigoros jeden Teil der Arbeit. Meine Einführung in das 3D Sound Lab war aufregend und einschüchternd. Ich denke, dass ich nach der ersten Sitzung mit Felix die Möglichkeiten des 3D-Sounds verstanden habe.
 
Meine Arbeit in der Residenz bestand darin, eine dramaturgische Erzählung als Ausgangspunkt für das Klangerlebnis zu schaffen. Felix und ich haben verschiedene Möglichkeiten von Schallquellen und Publikumspositionen ausgearbeitet. Das half mir, die Klanglandschaft als Ebenen zu betrachten. Daher entwickelte sich die Erzählung auch in Schichten vom Intimen zum Politischen.
 
Meine eigenen Geschlechter- und Lebenserfahrungen, gepaart mit hinduistischer Mythologie, Stimmen und Interviews wurden zur Materialquelle und Ausgangspunkt für das Projekt. Mit Unterstützung meines Klangkollegen MT Aditya komponierte ich eine Reihe von Momenten, die Urteile, Wahrnehmungen, Gedichte, Slice-of-Life Situationen, Liebesbriefe und Interviews mit Kollegen, Freund*innen und Bekannten beinhalteten. Felix und ich verbrachten Zeit im Studio und platzierten die Kompositionen in einer 3D-Umgebung.
 
Wir haben das Publikum eingeladen, die Audio-Performance zu erleben. Ihr Feedback war wertvoll und ließ mich verstehen, wie die Auftritte vom Publikum inidviduell wahrgenommen wurden und wie einzigartig die Erfahrungen der einzelnen Mitglieder*innen waren.
 
Und ja, wir hatten lustige Dosa-Partys, deutsche Spätzle-Partys sowie Bauernhof-Partys im Rahmen meines Aufenthalts in Leipzig. Ein großes Dankeschön geht an das Goethe-Institut Bangalore, welches diesen Prozess ermöglicht hat. Hierfür bin ich überaus dankbar.