Ainesh Madan
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Weltkunstzimmer

Ainesh Madan © Noah Emrich Ainesh Madan is a choreographer and performer, currently based in Bangalore. Madan attended Bard College (USA) on a full-tuition scholarship, attaining a Bachelor of Arts in Dance and Economics.

Madan premiered his first evening-length solo, titled Phantasies, as part of the University Settlement Guest Artist Series programme in New York City for which he received the Emergency Grant from the Foundation for Contemporary Arts. He is a recipient of the Work Up Residency at Gibney Dance Center (NYC), the BAX (NYC) Upstart Residency, and the DanceWEB Scholarship (2016).

Madan recently premiered Impressions (Four Solos), and Sketches, as part of The Platform festival, and The Shoonya Ticket, respectively.

 

After numerous months spent learning German from my computer, finally being in residence at Weltkunstzimmer was a dream come true. Not only was the residency everything I had hope for in terms of resources and opportunities, I also found myself developing fond relationships that I hope to cherish for the rest of my career as a dance-maker.
Second Dance Song- 3_1 © Janine Blöß The Second Dance Song (Part 3) was arranged and staged at Weltkunstzimmer after some amount of preparatory rehearsals in my living room. The proximity of my bedroom and the dance studio proved to be ideal. I was able to spend my mornings working, which left the afternoons free for me to explore the city of Düsseldorf and its cultural offerings. The fact that there was another dancer in residence with me made the whole process all the more exciting.

The generous production grant also allowed me to have fruitful collaborations with my peers back in Bangalore. Each of us created material in our specific disciplines independently. It was exciting for me to work with projections for the first time, and to collaborate with a musician without being didactic in my approach. The infrastructure at Weltkunstzimmer was sufficient in helping stage the work in a seamless fashion.
Second Dance Song-3_2 © Janine Blöß When I look back at the five weeks I spent in Düsseldorf (and the surrounding regions), I am filled with joy and excitement. I am deeply grateful to the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, and the people who supported my adventure. Thank you for helping manifest five weeks of learning, creating, teaching, and sharing for a young artist. It really helped deepen my connection to dance and dance-making. Vielen vielen Dank!
Second Dance Song-3_3 © Janine Blöß Part 3 of The Second Dance Song, also called Zarathustra’s roundelay, is a poem that breaks out of the prose structure, and is the inspiration for a solo that I created during my bangaloREsidency-Expanded at Weltkunstzimmer, Düsseldorf. The movement does not attempt translation, but embodies the essence of the text, to motivate the viewer to engage further with Nietzsche’s writing.

Livestream footage
Music: Abhaydev Praful
Illustration and animation: Joshua Sailo
Costume: Uli Schott
Choreography and performance: Ainesh Madan
Length: 14 minutes

Ainesh Madan
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Weltkunstzimmer

Ainesh Madan © Noah Emrich Ainesh Madan ist Choreograf und Performer und lebt derzeit in Bangalore. Er besuchte das Bard College (USA) als Vollstipendiat und erlangte einen Bachelor of Arts in Tanz und Wirtschaft.

Madan präsentierte sein erstes abendfüllendes Solo mit dem Titel Phantasies im Rahmen des University Settlement Guest Artist Series-Programms in New York City, wofür er den Emergency Grant der Foundation for Contemporary Arts erhielt. Er ist Empfänger der Work Up Residency am Gibney Dance Center (NYC), der BAX (NYC) Upstart Residency und des DanceWEB-Stipendiums (2016). 

Vor kurzem hat Madan Impressions (Vier Solos) und Sketches jeweils im Rahmen des Festivals The Platform und The Shoonya Ticket uraufgeführt.

Nachdem ich viele Monate damit verbracht hatte, am Computer Deutsch zu lernen, war für mich die Residency im Weltkunstzimmer ein wahr gewordener Traum. Die Residency war nicht nur alles, was ich mir in Bezug auf Ressourcen und Gelegenheiten erhofft hatte, sondern ich habe auch nette Kontakte aufgebaut, die ich hoffentlich für den Rest meiner Karriere als Tanzschaffende pflegen möchte.
Second Dance Song- 3_1 © Janine Blöß The Second Dance Song (Teil 3) wurde nach einigen vorbereitenden Proben in meinem Wohnzimmer zusammengestellt und im Weltkunstzimmer inszeniert. Dabei erwies sich die günstige Lage des Studios, welches sich in der Nähe meines Schlafzimmers befand, als ideal. So konnte ich vormittags arbeiten und hatte nachmittags Zeit, die Stadt Düsseldorf und ihr kulturelles Angebot zu erkunden. Die Tatsache, dass eine weitere Tänzerin neben mir als bangaloREsident dort zu Gast war, machte den ganzen Prozess noch spannender.

Der großzügige Produktionszuschuss ermöglichte mir zudem eine fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit mit meinen Kolleg/innen in Bangalore. Jeder von uns erstellte unabhängig voneinander Material in den jeweiligen Fachbereichen. Für mich war es spannend, zum ersten Mal mit Projektionen zu arbeiten und mit einem Musiker zusammenzuarbeiten, ohne dabei didaktisch vorzugehen. Die Infrastruktur im Weltkunstzimmer war ausreichend, um die Arbeit reibungslos zu inszenieren.
Second Dance Song-3_2 © Janine Blöß Wenn ich auf die fünf Wochen zurückblicke, die ich in Düsseldorf (und den umliegenden Regionen) verbracht habe, empfinde ich große Freude und Aufregung. Ich bin dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan und den anderen Beteiligten, die mein Abenteuer unterstützt haben, zutiefst dankbar. Danke, dass ihr einem jungen Künstler die Gelegenheit geboten habt, fünf Wochen lang zu lernen, zu schaffen, zu lehren und zu teilen. Es hat mir wirklich geholfen, meine Verbindung zum Tanz und zum Tanzschaffen zu vertiefen. Vielen vielen Dank!
Second Dance Song-3_3 © Janine Blöß Der dritte Teil von The Second Dance Song, auch Zarathustras Reigen genannt, ist ein Gedicht, das aus der Prosa-Struktur ausbricht, und ist die Inspiration für ein Solo, das ich während meiner bangaloREsidency-Expanded im Weltkunstzimmer in Düsseldorf geschaffen habe. Die Bewegung versucht nicht zu übersetzen, sondern verkörpert die Essenz des Textes, um den Betrachter zu motivieren, sich weiter mit Nietzsches Schrift zu beschäftigen.

Livestream Video
Musik: Abhaydev Praful
Illustration und animation: Joshua Sailo
Kostüme: Uli Schott
Choreographie und Performance: Ainesh Madan
Länge: 14 Minuten