Bidisha Das
Expanded-Resident@Lacuna Lab

Bidisha Das is a creative artist and explorer with an inquisitive interest in Art and Science.

Bidisha Das © Bidisha Das Her medium of communication varies from sound to film, forest to the sky above, human beings and the animal world and nature to technological intervention. The creative journey through any fundamental inquiry plays an important role in her work which becomes an integral process leading to the design and the final expression and outcome.
 
Both the wonder of nature and technology fascinates her immensely, and they often get reflected as an amalgamation in her work. Time has always interested her and with that the realisation that we all spend a tiny moment since our lifetime, compared to the vast universal time, is just like a speck of dust. And that makes every moment we live important, living in the moment beyond yesterday and tomorrow, the moment of ‘NOW’, the artwork that she is creating with the synth.
 
Bidisha graduated from Srishti School of Art Design and Technology, Bangalore, and has been a practicing artist ever since. In keeping with her interest in ethnographic film, ‘Voices from Khandadhar Hills' was her graduating project, a participatory documentary film with the Paudi Bhuyan tribal community in the remote forests of Odisha. She was a fellow in the Law, Environment and Design Laboratory at Srishti. Her work has also explored building tools for research in sound-art practices at the Indian Sonic Research Organisation, Bangalore and she has performed at the HKW in Berlin. She also has been a part of several residencies including the first Arts Science Residency at Khoj International Artists Association, New Delhi. Later, her interest and inquisitiveness about nature and wildlife led her to work as a Rainforest Journalist deep in the Peruvian Amazon rainforest. Bidisha spent six months there and worked on conservation research and science communication. She is also a Darwin Scholar, as a part of the science programme in the UK.
Besides the rainforest exploration, she has worked for future space mission design. She has been a part of a team to plan and design a human mission to an asteroid at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory at the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena. Currently taking all her experiences forward, she is exploring soundscapes and space art.

NOW – A Kinetic Life, the outcome of Bidisha Das bangaloREsidency-expanded@Lacuna Lab in Berlin, Bidisha Das & Thomas Heidtmann © Bidisha Das is an interactive installation, created in collaboration with former bangaloREsident@Srishti Thomas Heidtmann, that spans a visual and acoustic connection between outer space and physical spaces that surround us. It is an orchestra of movement using elements from outer space, nature and human bodies as instrumentations. An expression of the ever-changing moment we are living in: NOW. The installation brings in sounds from all these spaces in real-time to a modular synthesizer, the heart of the installation, that Das created exclusively for the project. It is used to perform live as well as for a permanent sound installation. The synthesizer is accompanied by CubeSat-like objects that are part of Heidtmann’s "Place in Orbit" project, wearable gloves and plants with sensors.

Bidisha Das © Bidisha Das The experience is like having multiple ears aimed in different directions and in various locations at the same time. The real-time data from the spaces and the output result are unique each time it is performed: Natural sounds and sounds from the universe, all merging together – life, that is thriving everywhere and binding us together to live in the moment, NOW.

NOW – A Kinetic Life was presented at the Art Laboratory Berlin from August 3 to 5, 2018 together with an Artist Talk by Das and Heidtmann.

Bidisha Das
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Lacuna Lab

Bidisha Das ist Künstlerin und Forscherin mit Neugier und Interesse an der Überschneidung von Kunst und Wissenschaft.

Bidisha Das © Bidisha Das Ihr Kommunikationsfeld variiert von Ton zu Film, Wald zu Himmel, Mensch, Tierwelt und Natur zu technologischen Eingriffen. Die gestalterische Reise durch grundlegende Untersuchungen spielt eine wichtige Rolle in ihrer Arbeit. Sie wird zu einem integralen Prozess, der zum Design und zum endgültigen Ausdruck und Entwurf führt.
 
Sowohl das Wunder der Natur als auch die Technik faszinieren sie außerordentlich, und sie spiegeln sich oft als Verschmelzung in ihren Arbeiten wider. Das Thema Zeit hat sie schon immer interessiert und damit die Erkenntnis, dass der winzige Moment, den wir Lebenszeit nennen wie ein Staubkorn wirkt im Vergleich mit der unermesslichen universellen Zeit. Diese Erkenntnis macht jeden Moment, in dem wir leben, wichtig, den Moment jenseits von gestern und morgen, den Moment des "NOW", das Kunstwerk, für das sie den Synth entwickelt.
 
Bidisha ist Absolventin der Srishti School of Art Design and Technology, Bangalore, und praktiziert seither als Künstlerin. Ihr Interesse am ethnographischen Film führte zu ihrem Abschlussprojekt  "Voices from Khandadhar Hills", einem partizipativen Dokumentarfilm gedreht mit der Paudi-Bhuyan-Stammesgemeinschaft in den entlegenen Wäldern von Odisha. Sie war Stipendiatin im Labor für Recht, Umwelt und Design bei Srishti. Ihre Arbeit hat sich mit dem Bau von Werkzeugen für die Klangkunstforschung an der Indian Sonic Research Organization, Bangalore, beschäftigt und sie trat am HKW in Berlin auf. Sie nahm an mehreren Residenzen teil, darunter die erste Arts Science Residency bei der Khoj International Artists Association, New Delhi. Später führte sie ihr Interesse und ihre Neugier auf Natur und Tierwelt dazu, als Regenwaldjournalistin tief im peruanischen Amazonas-Regenwald zu arbeiten. Bidisha verbrachte dort sechs Monate und widmete sich der Naturschutzforschung und Wissenschaftskommunikation. Darüber hinaus ist sie Darwin-Stipendiatin, als Teil des Wissenschaftsprogramms in Großbritannien.
Neben der Erforschung des Regenwaldes hat sie an der Gestaltung zukünftiger Weltraummissionen gearbeitet. Sie war Teil eines Teams am Jet Propulsion Laboratory des California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, das eine bemannte Mission zu einem Asteroiden plante und entwarf. Aktuell entwickelt sie alle diese Erfahrungen weiter und erforscht Klanglandschaften und Raumkunst.

NOW – A Kinetic Life, das Ergebnis von Bidisha Das bangaloREsidency-expanded@Lacuna Lab in Berlin, ist eine Bidisha Das & Thomas Heidtmann © Bidisha Das interaktive Installation, welche sie gemeinsam mit dem früheren bangaloREsident@Srishti Thomas Heidtmann erstellt hat.
Diese Installation spannt visuelle und akustische Verbindungen zwischen dem Weltraum und den physikalischen Räumen, die uns umgeben. Es ist ein Orchester der Bewegungen, welches Elemente aus dem Weltraum, der Natur und menschliche Körper als Instrumentation nutzt. Es ist ein Ausdruck des sich im permanenten Wandel befindenden Moments, in welchem wir leben - NOW. Die Installation speist all die Gräusche der verschiedenen Räume in Echtzeit in einen Modularsynthesizer, das Herz der Installation, welche Das speziell für dieses Projekt erstellt hat. Es lässt sich sowohl für Live-Performances, als auch für permanente Sound-Installationen nutzen. Neben dem Synthesizer stellen CubeSat-ähnliche Objekte - tragbare Handschuhe und Pflanzen mit Sensoren, welche bereits Teil von Heidtmann's Projekt "Place in Orbit" waren, wichtige Elemente der Installation dar. 

Bidisha Das © Bidisha Das Die Erfahrung gestaltet sich als hätte man mehrere Ohren, welche gleichzeitig in verschiedene Richtungen und variierende Orte ausgerichtet sind. Die Echtzeit-Daten der Räume und das resultierende Output sind bei jeder Performance einzigartig: Geräusche der Natur und Geräusche aus dem Universum, alle kommen zusammen - Leben, welches überall gedeiht und uns alle verbindet um im Moment zu leben, NOW.



NOW – A Kinetic Life wurde im Art Laboratory Berlin vom 3. bis zum 5. August 2018 verbunden mit einem Künstlergespräch mit Das und Heidtmann präsentiert.