Naveen Mahantesh
bangaloREsident-Expanded@ZK/U

Naveen Mahantesh © Naveen Mahantesh Naveen Mahantesh’s practice lies at the intersection of art, architecture and the city. He is involved in creative research with a love for urban life and everyday phenomena. His past projects include working with teams of artists, philosophers and curators in generating projects about built forms, human settlements and the public realm, while considering the city as a studio. His projects provide alternate perspectives for banal routines, take inspiration from urban myths, and engage within the ecologies that the city thrives upon.

His recent curatorial projects include an exhibition about speculative-urbanism called 'Could be urbanism | शायद शहरी है’ at KHOJ-International Artists Association, New Delhi (2018) and 'Backstage of Biology’ - on the institutional archives of NCBS-Bangalore (2019). Naveen has been the City as Studio Fellow at Sarai (2013) and a recipient of INLAKS-ISCP Curatorial Fellowship in Brooklyn, New York City (2015). His propositions have been part of the Sarai Reader Exhibition '09 and INSERT-curated by Raqs Media Collective, Mediating Modernities at Srishti School of Design, FOA-FLUX-art|life|Technology Symposium at Swissnex, among other platforms. Naveen was one of the curators for the Students' Biennale Kochi (2016) and has received project grants from various institutions like KHOJ-International Artists Association and India Foundation for the Arts.

He is a critic for architectural design at design schools and the principal architect of Bangalore-based design firm Cresarc Studio.

He is currently interested in the impact of a global pandemic on urban environments. His residency project, Schroedinger’s Urbanism, will look at the urbanism of a pandemic through the lens of ‘Architecture as witness’ and, as an extension of it, ‘City as witness’. Berlin will be the site for this research and study during his residency at ZK/U.

Naveen Mahantesh
bangaloREsident-Expanded@ZK/U

Naveen Mahantesh © Naveen Mahantesh Naveen Mahanteshs Praxis liegt an der Schnittstelle von Kunst, Architektur und Stadt. Mit Liebe zum städtischen Leben und zu Alltagsphänomenen betreibt er kreative Forschung. Zu seinen bisherigen Projekten gehört die Zusammenarbeit mit Teams von Künstler*innen, Philosophen/innen und Kuratoren/innen bei der Entwicklung von Projekten zu Bauformen, menschlichen Siedlungen und dem öffentlichen Raum, wobei die Stadt als Atelier betrachtet wird. Seine Projekte bieten alternative Perspektiven für banale Routinen, lassen sich von urbanen Mythen inspirieren und setzen sich mit den Ökologien auseinander, von denen die Stadt lebt.

Zu seinen neuesten kuratorischen Projekten gehört eine Ausstellung über spekulativen Urbanismus mit dem Titel 'Could be urbanism | शायद शहरी है’ an KHOJ-International Artists Association, New Delhi (2018) und 'Backstage of Biology’ - über die institutionellen Archive von NCBS-Bangalore (2019). Naveen war als City als Studio Fellow in Sarai (2013) und Empfänger des INLAKS-ISCP Curatorial Fellowship in Brooklyn, New York City (2015). Seine Projektvorschläge waren Teil der Sarai-Leserausstellung '09 und INSERT - kuratiert u.a. von Raqs Media Collective, Mediating Modernities an der Srishti School of Design, FOA-FLUX-art|life|Technology Symposium im Swissnex. Naveen war einer der Kuratoren für die Studentenbiennale Kochi (2016) und erhielt Projektstipendien von verschiedenen Institutionen wie KHOJ-International Artists Association und India Foundation for the Arts.

Er ist Kritiker der architektonischen Gestaltung an Designschulen und der Hauptarchitekt der Designfirma Cresarc Studio, Bangalore.

Derzeit interessiert er sich für die Auswirkungen einer globalen Pandemie auf die städtische Umwelt. Sein Residenzprojekt, Schroedingers Urbanismus, wird den Urbanismus einer Pandemie durch die Lupe von "Architektur als Zeuge" und, als Erweiterung davon, "Stadt als Zeuge" betrachten. Berlin wird der Ort für diese Forschung und Studie während seines Forschungsaufenthaltes an ZK/U sein.