Nikhil Nagaraj
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Wisp Kollektiv

Nikhil Nagaraj is a sound designer and musician, who works primarily with theatre and dance productions.

Nikihl Nagaraj © David Simmons Using custom-made software instruments, he designs sound effects and contemporary electronic music. He also develops art projects based on live audio-visuals, interactive design and electro-acoustic sound research. Additionally, Nagaraj is the chief sound supervisor at a recording studio in Bangalore.

He works collaboratively with audio-visual artists in a studio space too and invites the audience and composer to look at the music and to also break down the barriers that exist between the composer and the audience.

During his bangaloREsidency-Expanded@Wisp Kollektiv he plans to create a Manifold Interface Amplitude Panning spatialisation application that allows users to compose in three dimensions.
 

Nikhil@WISP-Kollektiv_Abschlussbericht © David Simmons Things started to get busy just a few days after I arrived in Leipzig with planning, travelling and setting up the .inf installation at the Ars Electronica Festival in Linz. I had the job of building up the 4-channel sound system in which image and soundscapes, generated in real time, change continuously and remind visitors of the constant shifts in nature and social conditions, and  the never-ending movement of time. Each frame is unique and irreproducible. An algorithm calculates random behaviour patterns, while the sound responds automatically to changes in the image. The visual content was displayed on three 65-inch screens and exhibited for three days at the Festival.

Wisp Laboratory was an intense week of Nikhil@WISP-Kollektiv_1 © David Simmons setting up an immersive audio-visual system together with 30 participants in Kontor80, Leipzig. There I had the job of building the 32-channel 3D audio sound system and  the sound design on the system. The visuals were projected in 360° and both the audio and visual systems had bi-directional communication to manipulate parameters. The lab ended with the performance by Felix Deufel (Synthesizer, Percussion), Nikhil Nagaraj (Synthesizer, 3D Mix) Dorin Cucicov (Visuals) and Sebastien Branche (Spatialised Saxophone).

Nikhil Nagaraj
Expanded-Resident@Wisp Kollektiv

Nikhil Nagaraj ist sowohl Sound Designer als auch Musiker, welcher vor allem mit Theater- und Tanzproduktionen zusammenarbeitet.

Nikhil Nagaraj © David Simmons Mit speziell angefertigten Softwareinstrumenten designt er Soundeffekte und zeitgenössische elektronische Musik.
Zudem entwickelt er Kunstprojekte, die auf audiovisuellem Livematerial, interaktivem Design und elektroakustischer Forschung von Geräuschen basieren. Zudem ist Nagaraj der leitender Mischtonmeister eines Aufnahmestudios in Bangalore.

Er arbeitet zudem in einem Studio in Kollaboration mit audiovisuellen Künstlern und beseitigt Barrieren zwischen Komponisten und deren Zuhörern.

Während seiner bangaloREsidency-Expanded@Wisp Kollektiv plant er eine Manifold-Interface Amplitude Panning Anwendung zur Verräumlichung zu kreieren, die es dem Komponisten erlaubt, in drei Dimensionen zu komponieren.

Nikhil@WISP-Kollektiv_Abschlussbericht © David Simmons Bereits kurz nach der Anreise in Leipzig begann die Planung einer Reise gemeinsam mit den Vorbereitungen für die .inf Installation während des Ars Electronica Festivals in Linz. Meine Aufgabe war es dabei, ein 4-kanäliges Sound System zu erstellen, in dem sich Bilder und Klanglandschaft, welche in Echtzeit erstellt werden, kontinuierlich ändern. Dies soll die Zuschauer an die konstanten Veränderungen in der Natur, der sozialen Bedingungen und dem nie endenden Fortschreiten der Zeit erinnern. Jedes Bild ist einzigartig und nicht wiederherstellbar. Ein Algorithmus berechnet zufällige Verhaltensstrukturen, während der Sound automatisch auf die Veränderungen des Bildes reagiert. Der visuelle Part wurde dabei auf drei 65-Inch Screens gezeigt und drei Tage während des Festivals ausgestellt.

 
Das WISP Laboratory stellte eine intensive Woche dar, in welcher Nikhil@WISP-Kollektiv_1 © David Simmons ich ein immersives audiovisuelles System gemeinsam mit 30 Teilnehmern im Kontor80, Leipzig erstellte. Hierbei hatte ich die Aufgabe, ein 32-kanäliges 3D Audio Sound System und das Sound Design für dieses System zu erstellen. Die Visuals wurden in einer 360° Installation dargestellt und sowohl die Audio-, als auch die visuellen Systeme nutzten eine bidirektionale Kommunikation zur Manipulation der Parameter.
Das Lab endete mit der Performance von Felix Deufel (Synthesizer, Percussion), Nikhil Nagaraj (Synthesizer, 3D Mix) Dorin Cucicov (Visuals) und Sebastien Branche (Saxophon).