Pratyush Raman
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Lacuna Lab

Pratyush Raman ©Pratyush Raman Pratyush Raman is a practising artist from Bangalore, whose work revolves around education, technology and playfulness of mathematics. He teaches creative coding and new media at Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology. His enquiries deal with consciousness, conditioning and fiction in the contemporary paradigm of civilisation. At Serendipity Arts Festival, his installation work, 'Breathe Pong', reconstructed Pong, one of the earliest arcade games, as an interactive reflection of breathing. He uses code, music and painting as his media of expression.

At Lacuna Lab, Berlin, he will experiment with the idea of video sampling in the context of interaction, using physical computing and creative coding tools, culminating in an installation.

Pratyush @ Lacuna Lab © Pratyush Raman Pratyush Raman’s enquiry is in observing machine relationships and influence on humans in the present and raise a sense of awareness and reflection.

In 1998, at George Gilder’s Telecosm conference, John Searle and Ray Kurzweil discussed the future potentiality of Artificial Intelligence (AI). While Ray insisted that technological growth would enable the said merging, Searle made his familiar argument that a merging can not happen, since robots could not be conscious (Why the Future Doesn’t Need Us, Bill Joy). However, a lack of understanding of what intelligence qualifies in a machine implies our ineptitude in making grounded decisions for future technologies. It is likely that both Kurzweil and Searle are correct in their beliefs, and that humanity and AI merge, not because of consciousness being developed in machines, but by incident, without intent.
 
Today it is often said that AI is everywhere. It influences what we watch (YouTube, Netflix, Instagram), what we read (Goodreads), what we buy (Amazon), how we interact with other technologies (Siri, Alexa), who we befriend (Facebook), how we reach places (Uber, Tesla) and so on. In the current situation, Artificial Intelligence is majorly used a classification problem solver. It processes large amounts of data and classifies new data in groups. For recommendation engines, like in the services mentioned, this classification is “what next?”.

tubed © Pratyush Raman A website like YouTube, suggests content to watch and uses the consumed content to create more suggestions. Data creates more data to heap upon itself. The installation ‘tubed’ replicates this through a customised recommendation AI. It plays with the narrative of users engaging in consumption and becoming a part of the production. In Pratyush’s installation, a recommendation AI is traversing through YouTube content. When a human spectator enters the system, they consume a section of the content generation system. What they consume, and by extension, they themselves become a part of the data that is used to build the AI in the first place. Consumption, which is built on AI suggestions, is the fuel to build the Artificial Intelligence.

'tubed' was presented as part of the exhibition A Vial Piece of Information: Fragments of A Greater Context curated by artist-curator Thomas Heidtmann of Lacuna Lab.

The artist is part of the bangaloREsidency-Expanded program by Goethe-Institut Bangalore / Max Mueller Bhavan in cooperation with Srishti Institute for Art, Design and Technology.

Pratyush Raman
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Lacuna Lab

Pratyush Raman ©Pratyush Raman Pratyush Raman ist ein praktizierender Künstler aus Bangalore, dessen Werke sich um Bildung, Technologie und Verspieltheit der Mathematik drehen. Er unterrichtet kreatives Kodieren und neue Medien am Srishti Institut für Kunst, Design und Technologie. Seine Untersuchungen beschäftigen sich mit Bewusstsein, Konditionierung und Fiktion im zeitgenössischen Paradigma der Zivilisation. Beim Serendipity Arts Festival rekonstruierte seine Installation 'Breathe Pong' Pong, eines der frühesten Arcade-Spiele, als interaktive Reflexion der Atmung. Er verwendet Codes, Musik und Malerei als Ausdrucksmittel.

Am Lacuna Lab in Berlin wird er mit der Idee des Video-Samplings im Kontext der Interaktion experimentieren. Dabei werden physikalische Computer und kreative Codierungswerkzeuge verwendet, die in einer Installation gipfeln.

 

Pratyush @ Lacuna Lab © Pratyush Raman Pratyush Ramans Recherche beschäftigt sich mit der Beobachtung von Beziehungen zwischen Maschinen und Einflüssen auf den Menschen in der Gegenwart und weckt ein Bewusstsein und regt Reflexion an.

1998 diskutierten John Searle und Ray Kurzweil auf der Telecosm-Konferenz von George Gilder über das zukünftige Potenzial der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI). Während Ray darauf bestand, dass technologisches Wachstum die genannte Fusion ermöglichen würde, argumentierte Searle, dass eine Fusion nicht stattfinden könne, da Roboter kein Bewusstsein hätten (Why the Future Doesn't Need Us, Bill Joy). Ein Mangel an Verständnis dafür, welche Intelligenz sich in einer Maschine ausbildet, impliziert jedoch unsere Unfähigkeit, fundierte Entscheidungen für Zukunftstechnologien zu treffen. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass sowohl Kurzweil als auch Searle in ihrem Glauben Recht haben, und dass Menschlichkeit und KI verschmelzen, nicht weil das Bewusstsein in Maschinen entwickelt wird, sondern durch Zufall, ohne Absicht.
 
Heute wird oft gesagt, dass KI überall ist. Es beeinflusst, was wir sehen (YouTube, Netflix, Instagram), was wir lesen (Goodreads), was wir kaufen (Amazon), wie wir mit anderen Technologien interagieren (Siri, Alexa), mit wem wir uns anfreunden (Facebook), wie wir Orte erreichen (Uber, Tesla) und so weiter. In der aktuellen Situation wird Künstliche Intelligenz vor allem als Klassifikationsproblemlöser eingesetzt. Sie verarbeitet große Datenmengen und klassifiziert neue Daten in Gruppen. Bei Empfehlungsmaschinen ist diese Klassifizierung, wie bei den genannten Diensten, "was kommt als nächstes?".

tubed© Pratyush Raman
Eine Website wie YouTube bietet Inhalte zum Anschauen an und nutzt die verbrauchten Inhalte, um weitere Vorschläge zu erstellen. Daten schaffen mehr Daten, um sich selbst zu überhäufen. Die Installation "tubed" repliziert dies durch eine kundenspezifische Empfehlungs-KI. Sie spielt mit der Erzählung von Nutzer*innen, die durch ihren Konsum Teil der Produktion werden. In Pratyush's Installation durchläuft eine Empfehlungs-KI YouTube-Inhalte. Wenn ein*e menschliche*r Betrachter*in das System betritt, verbraucht sie/er einen Teil des Content-Generierungssystems. Durch ihren Konsum und durch die Erweiterung werden sie selbst zu einem Teil der Daten, die zum Aufbau der KI verwendet werden. Der Konsum, der auf KI-Vorschlägen basiert, ist der Treibstoff für den Aufbau der Künstlichen Intelligenz.
 
'tubed' wurde im Rahmen der Ausstellung A Vial Piece of Information:Fragments of A Greater Context präsentiert, kuratiert vom Künstler-Kurator Thomas Heidtmann vom Lacuna Lab.
 
Der Künstler ist Teil des bangaloREsidency-Expanded Programms des Goethe-Instituts Bangalore / Max Mueller Bhavan in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Srishti Institute for Art, Design and Technology.