Sarasija Subramanian
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Zentralwerk

Sarasija Subramanian © Sarasija Subramanian Sarasija Subramanian’s practice stems from analogies derived from the organic world, in relation to its cultural and political implications. In the process of research, interaction, and documentation, her active archive of images and objects continues to grow, incorporating multiple 
histories and presents.  
 
Sarasija is currently based in Bangalore, India, where she is the editor of Reliable Copy - an independent publishing house for works, projects, and writing by artists. She received her Master’s Degree from M.S.U. Faculty of Fine Arts, Vadodara in 2017 and has previously participated in studio residencies at 1Shanthiroad Studio/Gallery (Bangalore, 2018), Interface at the Inagh Valley Trust (Inagh Valley, Ireland, 2017), Space118 (Mumbai, 2017), the Building Bridges Project with EAS (USA, 2017), and the Inlaks-UNIDEE Residency at the Cittadellarte (Biella, Italy, 2016).

In 2018, she had her first solo-exhibition, ‘They walk amongst us, don’t they’ at 1Shanthiroad Studio/Gallery, Bangalore. Previous group exhibitions include, ‘The Print: Matter in Matrix’, presented by Latitude 28 (New Delhi, 2020), ‘Material Gains' and 'Embark' at Gallery Ark (Vadodara, 2018 and 2019), ‘Curatorial Enquiry: Act I’ at Site Art Space (Vadodara, 2018), ‘Incomplete Nature’, at Interface (Galway, 2018), ‘Building Bridges’ with EAS USA at A.M. Gallery (Kolkata, 2018), Art Konsult (New Delhi, 2018), and Gallery Sumukha (Bangalore, 2018), and Art el Centro, Fondazione Pistoletto (Biella, 2016). 

During her time at Zentralwerk, she will engage with two museum collections in Dresden – the Deutsches Hygiene Museum and the Lugen Museum. Focusing on research and documentation - towards a body of work centered around intimacy, the body, its care, and the violence that comes with it - she will extend her current research and practice, looking at new ways to unpack concepts around knowledge systems, and how relationships with both ourselves and others play a part in rupturing these beliefs. 

 

The residency at Zentralwerk e.V was unlike previous residencies I have done (in both India and elsewhere), particularly in the fact that it gave me dedicated time in the studio to pursue a new set of engagements - which is often difficult from home, with other preoccupations.

In addition to the time spent in the studio, and with the practitioners there, the conversations assured a constant inflow of reference material – ranging from texts and other artistic practises to cinema and music – which will help shape the project I began. Further conversations with the team played a large part in understanding models and infrastructures of art spaces in Germany, the socio-political structures within which cultural practitioners’ function there, and the ideas and urgencies that populate the contemporary art world there – both in terms of strengths as well as gaps to be filled.

During my time there, I engaged with the collection at the Deutsches Hygiene-Museum and focussed on research and documentation towards a series of works centred around the way in which structures of State and science have viewed the body of the individual, and the violence that it inflicts and/or is subject to. The preliminary drawings I made there bring together objects from the museum’s collection, and texts from either the museum labels or the audio guide.
  • Borghese Warrior_1 © Sarasija Subramanian
  • Borghese Warrior_2 © Sarasija Subramanian
  • Borghese Warrior_Sarasija © Sarasija Subramanian
The ways in which the museum brings together objects, historic significance, and didactic instructionals became my primary point of interest, particularly with reference to its founding ideology which stressed on ‘seeing’ and consequently ‘knowing’ our bodies as being the key to keeping healthy without question. This collection (and the founding ideology) was then constantly co-opted by every political regime for over a century. The accompanying image is a drawing made during my time at Zentralwerk, referencing specifically a politically-driven call for re-thinking how information is circulated by the museum.

Sarasija Subramanian
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Zentralwerk

Sarasija Subramanian © Sarasija Subramanian Sarasija Subramanians Praxis ergibt sich aus Analogien, die aus der organischen Welt im Hinblick auf ihre kulturellen und politischen Implikationen abgeleitet sind. Im Laufe ihrer Forschungen, Interaktionen und Dokumentationen wird ihr aktives Archiv von Bildern und Objekten immer größer und umfasst zahlreiche historische und gegenwärtige Geschehen. 
 
Derzeit lebt Sarasija in Bangalore, Indien, wo sie die Redakteurin von Reliable Copy - einem unabhängigen Verlag für Werke, Projekte und Texte von Künstler/innen - ist. Sie erhielt 2017 ihren Master-Abschluss an der M.S.U. Faculty of Fine Arts, Vadodara. Zuvor hat sie an Atelieraufenthalten in 1Shanthiroad Studio/Gallery (Bangalore, 2018), Interface, Inagh Valley Trust (Inagh Valley, Irland, 2017), Space118 (Mumbai, 2017), dem Building Bridges Project mit EAS (USA, 2017) und der Inlaks-UNIDEE Residency in der Cittadellarte (Biella, Italien, 2016) teilgenommen.

2018 hatte sie ihre erste Solo-Ausstellung "They walk among us, don't they" in 1Shanthiroad Studio/Gallery, Bangalore. Zu ihren früheren Gruppenausstellungen gehören "The Print: Matter in Matrix", präsentiert von Latitude 28 (Neu-Delhi, 2020), "Materialgewinne" und "Einschiffung" in der Gallery Ark (Vadodara, 2018 und 2019), "Kuratorial Enquiry":Act I' im Site Art Space (Vadodara, 2018), 'Incomplete Nature', an der Schnittstelle (Galway, 2018), 'Building Bridges' mit EAS USA in der A.M. Gallery (Kalkutta, 2018), Art Konsult (Neu-Delhi, 2018), Galerie Sumukha (Bangalore, 2018) und Art el Centro, Fondazione Pistoletto (Biella, 2016). 

Während ihrer Residenz im Zentrelwerk wird Sarasija sich mit Sammlungen im Deutschen Hygiene und Lugen-Museum in Dresden beschäftigen. Der Schwerpunkt ihrer Arbeit liegt auf Forschung und Dokumentation und zielt auf ein Werk ab, in dem Intimität, der Körper, seine Pflege und die Gewalt, die damit einhergeht, im Mittelpunkt stehen. Dabei wird sie ihre aktuelle Forschung und Praxis erweitern und nach neuen Wegen suchen, Konzepte rund um Wissenssysteme zu entpacken und zu untersuchen, wie unsere Beziehungen sowohl zu uns selbst als auch zu anderen eine Rolle dabei spielen, diese Überzeugungen aufzubrechen. 

Die Recidency im Zentralwerk e.V. unterschied sich von früheren Künstlerresidenzen, an denen ich teilgenommen habe (sowohl in Indien als auch anderenorts), vor allem durch die Tatsache, dass ich im Atelier Zeit hatte, mich mit neuen Themen zu befassen - was von zu Hause aus, wo ich mich mit anderen Dingen beschäftige, oft schwierig ist.

Neben der Zeit, die ich im Studio und mit den dort tätigen Kunstschaffenden verbrachte, sorgten die Gespräche für einen ständigen Zufluss von Referenzmaterial - von Texten und anderen künstlerischen Praktiken bis hin zu Film und Musik -, das zur Gestaltung meines neuen Projekts beitragen wird. Weitere Gespräche mit dem Team spielten eine große Rolle für das Verständnis der Modelle und Infrastrukturen von Kunsträumen in Deutschland, der soziopolitischen Strukturen, innerhalb derer die Kulturschaffenden dort arbeiten, und der Ideen und Dringlichkeiten, die die zeitgenössische Kunstwelt dort befüllen - sowohl im Hinblick auf Stärken als auch auf Leerstellen, die zu füllen sind.

Während meiner Zeit dort beschäftigte ich mich mit der Sammlung im Deutschen Hygiene-Museum und konzentrierte mich auf die Recherche und Dokumentation einer Reihe von Arbeiten, die sich mit der Art und Weise befassen, wie staatliche und wissenschaftliche Strukturen den Körper des Individuums betrachtet haben, und mit der Gewalt, die ihm zugefügt wird und/oder der er ausgesetzt ist. Die vorläufigen Zeichnungen, die ich dort angefertigt habe, verbinden Objekte aus der Sammlung des Museums mit Texten, die entweder auf den Etiketten des Museums oder im Audioguide stehen.
  • Borghese Warrior_1 © Sarasija Subramanian
  • Borghese Warrior_2 © Sarasija Subramanian
  • Borghese Warrior_Sarasija © Sarasija Subramanian
Mich interessierte vor allem die Art und Weise, wie das Museum Objekte, historische Bedeutung und didaktische Anweisungen zusammenbringt, insbesondere im Hinblick auf seine grundlegende Ideologie, die das "Sehen" und folglich das "Wissen" über unseren Körper als Schlüssel zur Gesunderhaltung ohne Zweifel betont. Diese Sammlung (und die damit verbundene Grundidee) wurde dann über ein Jahrhundert lang von jedem politischen Regime übernommen. Die obenstehende Zeichnung habe ich während meiner Zeit im Zentralwerk angefertigt. Sie bezieht sich insbesondere auf eine politisch motivierte Aufforderung zum Überdenken, wie das Museum Informationen weitergibt.