Sameer Raichur
bangaloREsident-Expanded@basis

Sameer Raichur © Jacobia Dahm Sameer Raichur is an independent Indian photographer based out of Bangalore and a member of Diversify Photo and Native Agency. He graduated with distinction from the Hallmark Institute of Photography; Turners Falls, MA in 2012 – necessary course correction after a brief stint practicing as a corporate lawyer.

He has an affinity for anachronistic socio-cultural practices, and memory and nostalgia are frequent themes in his work. He is particularly drawn to documenting ignored traditions and subcultures hiding in plain sight and is deeply interested in and continues to explore the thorny notion of masculinity and all its accompanying baggage through his work.

He is especially interested in portraiture, documentary photography and relies on editorial commissions to further his personal practice. His clients include Caravan Magazine, FT Weekend Magazine, Geo Magazin, GQ, The Indian Quarterly, Libération, Lonely Planet, LiveMint, Sueddeutsche Zeitung and Time Magazine.

Proposed project at basis:
Like an understanding of the outside world is inevitably influenced by personal life, art is greatly enriched by the harvest of personal experiences. Their emotional expression in a chosen medium has been known to ease our remembrance of negative life events and cope with trauma. I want to use the opportunity provided by the bangaloREsidency-Expanded to recreate memories from a difficult life experience to process any lingering trauma using photography.

Part of this exploration will involve the ‘staging’ of certain incidents – memories seared into the subconscious that are essential to reconstructing the past. A multi-disciplinary approach will benefit the process of staging and recreation as it might involve practices as diverse as performance art, set design and writing; among others. Working at the intersection of cultural viewpoints, the goal is to discover a novel narrative technique to tell a story that I believe would interest an objective observer.

During my bangaloREsidency-Expanded in Frankfurt, I extensively documented Frankfurt’s (in)famous ‘Bahnhofsviertel’ named after the central train station or the ‘Hauptbahnhof’, this neighbourhood is often the first glimpse of Frankfurt for most visitors, as it was for me. While most people use it as a transit point, my host organisation - basis e.V. was based in the Bahnhofsviertel.

The neighbourhood is perhaps best known for housing Frankfurt’s world famous red-light district. It is also home to scores of drug addicts from around Germany whose addiction regularly spills out, often viscerally and disturbingly, onto the streets. This is a source of chagrin to the residents of the neighbourhood, many of whom pay high rents for the vibrant and ‘multi-culti’ vibe that the Bahnhofsviertel affords, unlike some of the other sanitised and affluent parts of the city.

In the past decade or so, the Bahnhofsviertel has witnessed unprecedented gentrification which has brought in swanky cafes, restaurants, bars and speakeasies that cater to the proximate financial district. The end-result is that junkies, hipsters, sex-workers, artists and suits all jostle for space in its history-laden streets.

It is this amalgam of viewpoints witnessed in the Bahnhofsviertel that urged me to document it. As I began to feel comfortable on its streets, I used the outsider’s advantage - objective perspective - to gain access to intimate perspectives. The images I made feature some of the unique spaces that give the neighbourhood its unique character and serve as a portrait of what I consider, the most interesting place in Frankfurt.
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_1 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_2 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_3 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_4 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_5 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_6 © Sameer Raichur

Sameer Raichur
bangaloREsident-Expanded@basis

Sameer Raichur ist ein selbstständiger indischer Fotograf in Bangalore und Mitglied von Diversify Photo und Native Agency. Er schloss 2012 sein Studium am Hallmark Institute of Photography in Turners Falls, MA, mit Auszeichnung ab - eine notwendige Kurskorrektur nach einer kurzen Tätigkeit als Firmenanwalt.

Er hat eine Vorliebe für anachronistische soziokulturelle Praktiken, und Erinnerung und Nostalgie sind häufige Themen in seiner Arbeit. Er ist besonders daran interessiert, ignorierte Traditionen und Subkulturen zu dokumentieren, die sich im Verborgenen abspielen, und setzt sich in seiner Arbeit mit dem heiklen Begriff der Männlichkeit und all seinen Begleiterscheinungen auseinander.

Er interessiert sich besonders für Porträt- und Dokumentarfotografie und ist auf redaktionelle Aufträge angewiesen, um seine persönliche Praxis zu vertiefen. Zu seinen Kunden gehören Caravan Magazine, FT Weekend Magazine, Geo Magazin, GQ, The Indian Quarterly, Libération, Lonely Planet, LiveMint, Süddeutsche Zeitung und Time Magazine.
Sameer Raichur © Manasa Prabhu
Projektvorschlag bei basis:
So wie das Verständnis der Außenwelt notwendigerweise vom persönlichen Leben beeinflusst wird, so wird auch die Kunst durch die Sammlung persönlicher Erfahrungen stark bereichert. Ihr emotionaler Ausdruck in einem gewählten Medium ist dafür bekannt, unsere Erinnerung an negative Lebensereignisse abzuschwächen und Trauma zu bewältigen. Ich möchte die Gelegenheit, die mir die bangaloREsidency-Expanded bietet, nutzen, Erinnerungen aus einer schwierigen Lebenserfahrung wieder aufleben zu lassen, um alle verbliebenen traumatischen Erlebnisse mit Hilfe der Fotografie zu verarbeiten.

Ein Teil dieser Forschungsarbeit wird die "Inszenierung" bestimmter Ereignisse umfassen - im Unterbewusstsein eingebrannte Erinnerungen, die für die Rekonstruktion der Vergangenheit unerlässlich sind. Ein multidisziplinärer Ansatz wird dem Inszenierungs- und Wiederherstellungsprozess nützlich sein, da er unterschiedliche Kunstpraktiken wie Performance-Kunst, Bühnenbild und Drehbuch u.a. umfassen könnte. Das Ziel der Arbeit an der Schnittstelle kultureller Standpunkte ist es, eine neuartige Erzähltechnik zu entdecken, um eine Geschichte zu erzählen, die meiner Meinung nach einen objektiven Beobachter interessieren würde.

Während meiner bangaloRE-Residency-Expanded in Frankfurt habe ich Frankfurts (un)berühmtes Bahnhofsviertel ausgiebig dokumentiert. Benannt nach dem Hauptbahnhof, ist dieses Viertel für die meisten Besucher der erste Blick auf Frankfurt, so war es auch für mich. Während die meisten Menschen es als Durchgangsstation nutzen, hatte meine Gastorganisation basis e.V. ihren Sitz im Bahnhofsviertel.

Das Viertel ist vielleicht am besten dafür bekannt, dass es Frankfurts weltberühmtes Rotlichtviertel beherbergt. Es beherbergt aber auch zahlreiche Drogenabhängige aus ganz Deutschland, deren Sucht regelmäßig auf die Straße drängt, und zwar oft auf erschreckende und beunruhigende Weise. Dies ist ein Ärgernis für die Bewohner des Viertels, von denen viele hohe Mieten für die lebendige und "Multi-Kulti"-Stimmung zahlen, die das Bahnhofsviertel im Gegensatz zu einigen anderen sanierten und wohlhabenden Stadtteilen bietet.

In den letzten zehn Jahren hat das Bahnhofsviertel eine beispiellose Gentrifizierung erlebt, die schicke Cafés, Restaurants, Bars und Speakeasies hervorgebracht hat, die auf das nahe gelegene Finanzviertel ausgerichtet sind. Das Ergebnis ist, dass sich Junkies, Hipster, Sexarbeiter, Künstler und Anzugträger um den Platz in den geschichtsträchtigen Straßen drängeln.

Es ist diese Mischung aus verschiedenen Sichtweisen, die ich im Bahnhofsviertel erlebt habe, die mich dazu brachte, es zu dokumentieren. Als ich begann, mich auf den Straßen wohl zu fühlen, nutzte ich den Vorteil der objektiven Perspektive eines Außenstehenden, um Zugang zu intimen Perspektiven zu erhalten. Die Bilder, die ich gemacht habe, zeigen einige der einzigartigen Räume, die dem Viertel seinen einzigartigen Charakter verleihen und dienen als Porträt dessen, was ich für den interessantesten Ort in Frankfurt halte.
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_1 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_2 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_3 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_4 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_5 © Sameer Raichur
  • Sameer Raichur @ basis_6 © Sameer Raichur