Sonia Soney
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Weltkunstzimmer

Sonia Soney © Sonia Soney Sonia Soney (23) is a contemporary artist/dancer who graduated from the Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts, Bangalore. She is trained in contemporary dance, basics of ballet, kalaripayattu, bharatanatyam, hip-hop, chauu and has worked under many national and international choreographers. 

Art helps people heal, realise and learn a lot about the self, and at the same time question the conditioning process that society puts an individual’s body and mind through. Using art to converse with the spectators helping them/making them realise the capabilities of the body in all its physical and mental forms and various senses has been a primary goal.

Who decides what is beautiful? Who decides what is ugly? Sonia’s work aims to break the stereotype with respect to toxic standards, with regard to gender, body type, mentalities and so on. She looks forward to a peaceful and harmonious world, helping open doors to humanity through movement art.

*Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, Sonia's residency will take place in 2021.

Sonia Soney
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Weltkunstzimmer

Sonia Soney © Sonia Soney Sonia Soney (23) ist eine zeitgenössische Künstlerin/Tänzerin, die ihr Studium am Attakkalari Centre for Movement Arts in Bangalore abgeschlossen hat. Sie ist im zeitgenössischen Tanz, in den Grundlagen des Balletts, Kalaripayattu, Bharatanatyam, Hip-Hop, Chauu ausgebildet und hat mit vielen Choreografen aus Indien und anderen Ländern zusammengearbeitet. 

Kunst hilft Menschen, sich selbst zu heilen, zu erkennen und viel über sich selbst zu lernen und gleichzeitig den Konditionierungsprozess zu hinterfragen, der von der Gesellschaft auf Körper und Geist des Einzelnen ausgeübt wird. Ihr Hauptziel ist es, mit den Betrachtenden durch Kunst ins Gespräch zu kommen und ihnen dabei zu helfen, die Fähigkeiten des Körpers in all seinen physischen und geistigen Formen und verschiedenen Sinnen zu erkennen.

Wer entscheidet, was schön ist? Wer entscheidet, was hässlich ist? Sonias Arbeit zielt darauf ab, das Stereotyp in Bezug auf toxische Normen, hinsichtlich Geschlecht, Körpertyp, Mentalitäten usw. zu durchbrechen. Sie freut sich auf eine friedliche und harmonische Welt und hofft, durch die Bewegungskunst Türen zur Menschlichkeit zu öffnen.