Vivek Muthuramalingam
bangaloREsident-Expanded@whiteBOX

viv ©Indu Antony Vivek Muthuramalingam is a documentary photographer and artist based out of Bangalore, India. His practice is often multidisciplinary and involves writing, videography and multimedia.

In his documentary work, Vivek is partial to ideas that coax a narrative and inform a deeper connection with the subject. He studied fine art at Ken School of Art, Bangalore and completed his studies in medicine at Kolar, Karnataka. He worked briefly as a surgical resident in the Department of Urology at Manipal Hospital in Bangalore before he took to photography.

Vivek’s photographs have appeared in The Wall Street Journal, Gulf News, The Sunday Guardian, Motherland Magazine, TimeOut, Al Jazeera, Domus India, National Geographic Traveller India, Huffington Post India, The Caravan and The Indian Express. He has also contributed to publications and reports for the Greenpeace, Indian Literature (Sahitya Akademi’s journal), WHO and UNESCO.
 
At whiteBOX, Munich, he will create a visual memoir of the local landscape experimenting with memory, loss and transformation.

Vivek @ whiteBOX © whiteBOX During the course of his residency at whiteBOX in Munich, Vivek Muthuramalingam chose the theme of love and loss, threading together intimate memories and the landscape of Germany which formed the backdrop for many of them. He presented them as a series of photographs and poems, conceptualised in the format of a book tentatively titled, Poems for a Lost Love. He also set-up a darkroom at whiteBOX for producing ambrotypes, an alternative photographic process through which photographs are made on glass plates.

With the intention of giving the Germans an insight into the life of a South Indian family, Vivek presented a reproduction of a family album put together by his mother, called Sweet Memories. It included photographs of a Mysore vacation with his close friend, one taken during a visit to a cake fair and another from his grandfather’s house in Cox Town.

Vivek extensively journaled his time in Germany on his Instagram page and displayed them in his studio as prints for a larger audience to view.

Vivek Muthuramalingam bangaloREsident-Expanded@WhiteBox

viv ©Indu Antony Vivek Muthuramalingam ist Dokumentarfotograf und Künstler aus Bengaluru, Indien. Seine Praxis ist oft multidisziplinär und umfasst Schreiben, Videografie und Multimedia.

In seiner dokumentarischen Arbeit bevorzugt Vivek Ideen mit einer kräftigen Erzählung, die eine tiefere Verbindung mit dem Thema aufbauen. Er studierte bildende Kunst an der Ken School of Art in Bengaluru und schloss sein Medizinstudium in Kolar, Karnataka, ab. Er arbeitete für kurze Zeit als Chirurg in der Abteilung für Urologie des Manipal Hospital in Bengaluru, bevor er sich der Fotografie widmete.

Viveks Fotografien sind in Wall Street Journal, Gulf News, Sunday Guardian, Motherland Magazine, TimeOut, Al Jazeera, Domus India, National Geographic Traveller India, Huffington Post India, Caravan und Indian Express u.a. publiziert worden. Er hat auch zu Veröffentlichungen und Berichten für Greenpeace, Indian Literature (Zeitschrift der Sahitya Akademi), die WHO und die UNESCO beigetragen.
 
Bei whiteBOX, München wird er eine visuelle Erinnerung an die lokale Landschaft erstellen, indem er mit Erinnerung, Verlust und Transformation experimentieren wird.

Vivek @ whiteBOX © whiteBOX

Während seiner Residenz bei whiteBOX in München wählte Vivek Muthuramalingam das Thema Liebe und Verlust, das intime Erinnerungen und die Landschaft Deutschlands, die für viele von ihnen den Hintergrund bildete, zusammenfügen. Er präsentierte sie als eine Reihe von Fotografien und Gedichten, die im Format eines Buches mit dem vorläufigen Titel "Gedichte für eine verlorene Liebe" konzipiert wurden. Außerdem richtete er bei whiteBOX eine Dunkelkammer für die Produktion von Ambrotypen ein - ein alternatives fotografisches Verfahren, bei dem Fotos auf Glasplatten gemacht werden.

Mit der Absicht, den Deutschen einen Einblick in das Leben einer südindischen Familie zu geben, präsentierte Vivek eine Reproduktion eines von seiner Mutter zusammengestellten Familienalbums mit dem Titel "Sweet Memories". Es enthielt Fotos eines Urlaubes mit einem engen Freund in Mysore, eines während eines Besuchs auf einer Kuchenmesse und eines aus dem Haus seines Großvaters in Cox Town.

Vivek hat seine Zeit in Deutschland auf seiner Instagram-Seite ausführlich dokumentiert und sie in seinem Studio als Drucke für ein größeres Publikum zur Ansicht ausgestellt.