Yash Bhandari
bangaloREsident-Expanded@Lichtenberg Studios

yab ©Yash Bhandari Formally trained in sculpture, Yash Bhandari has explored performance art with 080 Loopholes Collective, explored sustainable architecture, farming and furniture design with SacredGroves at Auroville and has been a part of various citizen movements that have sharpened his creative agency. Having then moved to bridge tensions of working with the Government, for 3 years he worked with the public art project, Art in Transit, in the role of a Research Associate and co-curator in collaboration with the Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation at various sites, to create dialogues through art and design inquiries that were directly shared with the transiting public.

Has been an active part of some street intervention with collectives like Geechugalu. By placing his practice in public spaces, he believes in using his privilege to share the contagious joy of creativity and creating opportunities for collaborations in public spaces.
 
“I enjoy challenging thought and constantly working with new networks and mediums, to unlearn biases I have picked up and work around similar thematics with my surrounding ecology using the medium of art practice for this introspection, all with a little room for irony and self critique.  My practice switches between community participation, urban interventions, performance, to spatial design, multimedia installation, curation and sculpture with found materials frequently as I attempt to work through their limitations and my own.”

At Lichtenberg Studios, Berlin, he will be creating mixed-media interventions in public spaces around the city and the neighbourhood of Lichtenberg.

Being part of the creative collective advocacy in Bengaluru’s communities helped inform my agency and practice. With the bangaloREsidency-Expanded initiative, I got the opportunity to test my individual capacity on the surface level at Lichtenberg Studios, Berlin.

The serendipitous bicycle journeys became my modus operandi. I found interesting sites camouflaged in the background of the social housing structures without announcing themselves as any spectacle - much the opposite of  the otherwise international cosmopolitan nature of Berlin.

Found material from parks were a way for me to disseminate information about the locality: where do the natural and aesthetic merge, and how much does their contrast in function say about their relationship. I foraged from mahonia shrubs on Orbsee Lake, making jam and marmalade was the only feasible idea which was shared later at the goodbye dinner, as a bitter-sweet dessert.

Constantly finding flowers jutting out of the fences that surrounded much of the residential and social housing areas helped me reflect poetically on the spirit of these neighbours, who, although highly guarded, opened up slowly and with kindness towards my being an other, when I interacted with them. A photograph print series of these were then installed at Rummelsberg S-Bahn Station.

As I moved around, I felt the growing resistance against gentrification in the locality and its inhabitants. The camouflage gentrification blocks that I made in the studio were used as temporary public sculptures, which moved around in a performative, playful way in various forms and situations, till blown apart by the wind or little pedestrians.

To keep the critical memory of the Stasi present in the public spaces, I chose to make interventions in the same medium as taggers, using elements and symbols from the Stasi prison and museum super imposed to form a commentary on the present memory or lack thereof in the public spaces which are tagged.

In retrospect, I am curious to understand what gets assimilated as memory, data, information, experience and what becomes knowledge, and for whom.

I am developing a video-based work in the form of self-surveillance over this slowly as an extension / reflection of my time in the residency.

Yash Bhandari bangaloREsident-Expanded@Lichtenberg Studios

yab ©Yash Bhandari Yash Bhandari ist ausgebildeter Bildhauer und hat bei '080 Loopholes Collective' Performance-Kunst und bei SacredGroves, Auroville nachhaltige Architektur, Landwirtschaft und Möbeldesign erforscht. Er war Teil verschiedener Bürgerbewegungen, die seine kreativen Tätigkeiten geschärft haben.

Um die Spannungen mit der Regierung zu überbrücken, arbeitete Yash drei Jahre lang im Rahmen des öffentlichen Kunstprojekts Art in Transit als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Co-Kurator in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bangalore Metro Rail Corporation an verschiedenen Standorten, Dialoge durch Kunst und auch Designanfragen zu schaffen, die direkt mit der durchquerenden Öffentlichkeit geteilt wurden.

Er hat an einigen Straßeninterventionen mit Kollektiven wie Geechugalu aktiv teilgenommen. Durch seine Praxis im öffentlichen Raum möchte er sein Privileg nutzen, die Freude an Kreativität zu teilen und Möglichkeiten für die Zusammenarbeit im öffentlichen Raum zu schaffen.

''Ich mag es, Gedanken herauszufordern und ständig mit neuen Netzwerken und Medien zu arbeiten, um Vorurteile zu verlernen und mit ähnlichen Themen mit meiner umgebenden Ökologie umzugehen, indem ich anhand des Mediums der künstlerischen Praxis mich selbst beobachte - alles mit ein wenig Raum für Ironie und Selbstkritik. Meine Praxis wechselt zwischen Bürgerbeteiligung, urbanen Interventionen, Performance, Raumgestaltung, multimedialer Installation, Kuration und Skulptur mit gefundenen Materialien, wobei ich versuche, ihre und meine Grenzen zu überwinden. “

At Lichtenberg Studios, Berlin wird er Mixed-Media-Interventionen im öffentlichen Raum der Stadt und im Stadtteil Lichtenberg schaffen.
 
 

Die Teilnahme an kreativen kollektiven Bürgerbewegungen in den Gemeinden Bangalores trug dazu bei, meine Tätigkeit und Praxis zu verfeinern. Mit der Initiative bangaloREsidency-Expanded hatte ich die Möglichkeit, meine individuelle Leistungsfähigkeit in den Lichtenberg Studios, Berlin, zu testen.

Die glücklichen Fahrradreisen wurden zu meinem Modus Operandi. Ich fand interessante Orte, die durch soziale Wohnungsstrukturen getarnt waren, ohne sich als Spektakel zu bezeichnen - ganz im Gegensatz zur ansonsten internationalen Weltoffenheit Berlins.

Gefundenes Material aus Parks war für mich eine Möglichkeit, Informationen über den Ort zu verbreiten: Wo verschmelzen Natur und Ästhetik, und wie viel sagt ihr funktionaler Kontrast über ihre Beziehung aus. Ich wurde mit Mahonie Gehölzen am Orbsee gemästet, Marmelade herzustellen war die einzig mögliche Idee, die später beim Abschiedsessen als bitter-süßes Dessert geteilt werden konnte.

Ständig Blumen zu finden, die aus den Zäunen ragten, die widerum einen Großteil der Wohn- und Sozialwohnungen umgaben, half mir, den Geist dieser Nachbarn poetisch zu reflektieren, die sich, obwohl sie hoch wachsam waren, langsam und freundlich öffneten, um ein*e andere*r zu sein, als ich mit ihnen interagierte. Eine Fotodruckserie davon wurde dann am S-Bahnhof Rummelsberg installiert.

Während ich mich umher bewegte fühlte ich den zunehmenden WIderstand gegen die Genrtifikatiobn in dem Ort und seinen Anwohner*innen. Die Tarnblocks, die ich im Atelier gemacht hatte, wurden als temporäre öffentliche Skulpturen verwendet, die sich performativ und spielerisch in verschiedenen Formen und Situationen bewegten, bis sie durch den Wind oder kleine Fußgänger auseinandergeblasen wurden.

Um die kritische Erinnerung an die Stasi im öffentlichen Raum zu erhalten, habe ich mich entschieden, Interventionen mit dem gleichen Medium wie dem der Etikettiergeräte durchzuführen, wobei ich Elemente und Symbole aus dem Stasi-Gefängnis und -Museum verwendet habe, die als Kommentar zu der gegenwärtigen Erinnerung oder deren Fehlen im öffentlichen Raum mit Etiketten versehenen wurden.

Rückblickend bin ich neugierig zu verstehen, was als Erinnerung, Daten, Informationen, Erfahrungen assimiliert wird und was zu Wissen wird und für wen.

Ich entwickle eine videobasierte Arbeit in Form von Selbstbeobachtung darüber als Erweiterung / Reflexion meiner Residenz-Zeit.