smarter digital realities

smARTer digital realities Design: Paul Anthony George © Sandbox Collective



Smarter Digital Realities invites select participants from four Asian cities - Bangalore, Dhaka, Mumbai and Pune - to reflect on digital change.

Digitalisation has found its way into every household, every office, every car and every business. It's no longer just mobile phones and tablets, it's now about artificial intelligence, smart homes, blended learning, online libraries, etc. How does this development change our cities, our apartments, how does it change our communication and consumer behaviour? We are increasingly living through our devices, no longer shaping personal relationships, but rather using digital interfaces. 

The project comprises of a series of on/offline workshops, and which also involves input from facilitators/experts, encourages participants to reflect on their relationship with the urban and to frame how experiences of the city have increasingly been mediated by the digital - at scale, or for the individual. Cities are provocative sites to imagine the ubiquitous role of technology, and themes such as the gig economy, the smart city, start-up culture, surveillance: these will all form part of the material that participants can work with. 
 
Participants will be encouraged to imagine the city and its imbrications with the digital under the rubric of five different themes:  sex, desire and the city; design and the city; work and the city; technology and the city; ecology and the city. 

Smarter Digital Realities is a project conceived and conceptualised by Sandbox Collective in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan and curated by Padmini Ray Murray.

Padmini Ray Murray_SDR © Padmini Ray Murray Padmini Ray Murray (PhD, University of Edinburgh) is the founder of Design Beku, a collective that emerged from a desire to explore how technology and design can be decolonial, local, and ethical.
 
Padmini established the first degree level digital humanities programme in India at the Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology where she was course director from 2016-2018. She was the recipient of the Arts and Humanities Research Council Unbox Fellowship (2012-13) and the co-investigator with Claire Squires on The Book Unbound, also funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council. She is currently co-investigator on Gendering the Smart City with Professor Ayona Dutta, and the digital lead on Two Centuries of Indian Print, a project in collaboration with the British Library and Jadavpur University. She served as a trustee for Wikimedia UK from 2013-2014, and led a research project on platform governance and design for the Ekstep Foundation in 2018.
 
As a creative practitioner, Padmini creates new media work which reflects her research and interests, such as Darshan Diversion (with KV Ketan and Joel Johnson), a feminist videogame about the Sabarimala temple controversy (2016); Halt The Hate (with Pratyush Raman) an interactive database of crimes against minorities for Amnesty India (2017) and is currently working on Visualising Cybersecurity – a Hewlett funded project that aims to alter how cybersecurity is depicted and discussed in the media (with the Centre for Internet and Society and Paulanthony George), and A is for AI: A Dictionary of AI (with Pratyush Raman, 2020). Padmini’s most recent published work focuses on how corporate online space, commit and perpetuate epistemological violence against the marginalised, through collusions of infrastructure and the interface.

smarter digital realities 2021

smARTer digital realities Design: Paul Anthony George © Sandbox Collective



Smarter Digital Realities lädt ausgewählte Teilnehmende aus vier asiatischen Städten - Bangalore, Dhaka, Mumbai und Pune - dazu ein, über den digitalen Wandel aus einer künstlerischen Perspektive nachzudenken.

Die Digitalisierung hat in jedem Haushalt und in jedem Unternehmen Einzug gehalten. Es geht nicht mehr nur um Mobiltelefone und Tablets, sondern auch um künstliche Intelligenz, intelligente Häuser, Blended Learning, Online-Bibliotheken usw. Wie verändert diese Entwicklung unsere Städte, unsere Wohnungen, wie verändert sie unser Kommunikations- und Konsumverhalten? Wir werden zunehmend von unseren Geräten gesteuert und pflegen keine persönlichen Beziehungen mehr, sondern nutzen vielmehr digitale Schnittstellen.

Das Projekt besteht aus einer Reihe von On-/Offline-Workshops mit Beiträgen von Moderatoren/Experten, die die Teilnehmenden dazu anregen, über ihre Beziehung zum Urbanen nachzudenken und zu überlegen, wie die Erfahrungen mit der Stadt zunehmend durch das Digitale vermittelt werden - auf breiter Ebene oder für das Individuum. Städte sind provokative Orte, um sich die allgegenwärtige Rolle der Technologie vorzustellen und Themen wie Gig-Economy, Smart City, Start-up-Kultur und Überwachung dienen als Material, mit dem die Teilnehmenden arbeiten können. 

Die Teilnehmenden werden dazu angeregt, sich die Stadt und ihre Verflechtungen mit dem Digitalen unter fünf verschiedenen Themen vorzustellen: Sex, Begehren und die Stadt; Design und die Stadt; Arbeit und die Stadt; Technologie und die Stadt; Ökologie und die Stadt. 

Das Projekt Smarter Digital Realities ist von Sandbox Collective in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan konzipiert und gestaltet worden und wird von Padmini Ray Murray kuratiert.

Padmini Ray Murray_SDR © Padmini Ray Murray Padmini Ray Murray (promoviert an der Universität Edinburgh) ist die Gründerin von Design Beku, einem Kollektiv, das aus dem Wunsch heraus entstanden ist, zu erkunden, wie Technologie und Design de-kolonial, lokal und ethisch sein können.

Padmini gründete den ersten Studiengang für digitale Geisteswissenschaften in Indien am Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology, wo sie von 2016-2018 Kursleiterin war. Sie erhielt das Arts and Humanities Research Council Unbox Fellowship (2012-13) und war gemeinsam mit Claire Squires an dem Projekt The Book Unbound beteiligt, das ebenfalls vom Arts and Humanities Research Council finanziert wurde. Derzeit ist sie gemeinsam mit Professor Ayona Dutta an Gendering the Smart City beteiligt und leitet das Projekt Two Centuries of Indian Print, das in Zusammenarbeit mit der British Library und der Jadavpur University durchgeführt wird. Von 2013 bis 2014 war sie Treuhänderin von Wikimedia UK und leitete 2018 ein Forschungsprojekt über Plattform-Governance und Design für die Ekstep Foundation.

Als kreative Praktikerin schafft Padmini neue Medienarbeiten, die ihre Forschung und Interessen widerspiegeln, wie z. B. Darshan Diversion (mit KV Ketan und Joel Johnson), ein feministisches Videospiel über die Sabarimala-Tempelkontroverse (2016); Halt The Hate (mit Pratyush Raman), eine interaktive Datenbank über Verbrechen gegen Minderheiten für Amnesty India (2017), und arbeitet derzeit an Visualising Cybersecurity - ein von Hewlett finanziertes Projekt mit dem Ziel, die Art und Weise zu verändern, wie Cybersicherheit in den Medien dargestellt und diskutiert wird (mit dem Centre for Internet and Society und Paulanthony George), und A is for AI: Ein Wörterbuch der KI (mit Pratyush Raman, 2020). Padminis jüngste veröffentlichte Arbeit befasst sich mit der Frage, wie Unternehmen im Online-Raum durch Absprachen in der Infrastruktur und an der Schnittstelle epistemologische Gewalt gegen Randgruppen ausüben und aufrechterhalten.