Pepper House Residency Exhibition

bangaloREsidents on display at the Kochi-Muziris Biennale

We are proud to associate with the Kochi Biennale Foundation over the past few years, sending bangaloREsidents to create artistic projects at Pepper House. As in former years, we are happy that the KBF has selected all the bangaloREsidents@Pepper House to participate in the Pepper House Residency Exhibition at the Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2016.
 
German photographers Peter Bialobrzeski, Hans-Christian Schink and Sabine Schründer, and artist Anja Kempe are on display at Mandalay Hall.

 


Kochi Diary
Peter Bialobrzeski
  ©Peter Bialobrzeski
(Excerpt)
19th July 2016
Fort Cochin, the colonial part of what is now called Kochi, still smells mouldy and rotten, yet it is just as charming now as it was 30 years ago. At least in the off-season. Plenty of homestays and hotels cater to the traveller. Auto drivers are delighted to bring you to the Krishna Café but try on the way to convince you to visit jewellery or antique shops. Petrol tokens will be the reward, as Josef, a Christian driver, points out.
 

Kochi Nights
Hans-Christian Schink
 
©Hans-Christian Schink
The idea behind Kochi Nights is based on the effect brought about by a seemingly shifted reality caused by the different perception of artificial light at night by the human eye and by the camera. The surreal atmosphere of the works reflects certain cinematographic moments, but is caused purely by the available illumination on the scene.
 

Inner Grid
Anja Kempe
 
©Anja Kempe
A casual scaffolding of bamboo is snuggled elastically against the wall. Its outline is traced in stone-powder on the floor. A holding hand and a core or shell are also displayed.
Three videos refer to this arrangement: They show hammocks hanging in different spots in Fort Kochi.
 

*We appreciate the constant support of Jörg Drechsel, Director, Malabar Escapes, in accommodating the residents.


PAVILION
Sabine Schründer
 
©Sabine Schründer
The work PAVILION is a projection consisting of 32 photographs arranged in a loop, that were taken in Kerala, India, in 2015. In this series, Sabine Schründer explores various emotional states and links them to fragmentary gazes, absent-minded gestures and colour interventions in space. As a result, the series of photographs depict closeness, intimacy, fear and uncertainty without connecting these to individual persons in any specific way. As visual constructions coupled with quietude, these images explore an invisible borderline zone; picking up on the idea of the malleability and transparency of inner and outer worlds, Sabine Schründer lures the viewer into an intense, fragile world of images.

Back

Pepperhouse Kollateralausstellung

bangaloREsidents stellen aus auf der Kochi-Muziris Biennale

Wir freuen uns über die Zusammenarbeit mit der Kochi Biennale Foundation und die Möglichkeit, einige bangaloREsidents nach Kochi entsandt zu haben, die diverse künstlerische Projekte im Pepper House umgesetzt haben. Wie in den vorangegangenen Jahren können wir mit Freude ankündigen, dass die KBF wieder alle bangaloREsidents@Pepper House ausgewählt hat, bei der Pepper House Residency auf der Kochi-Muziris Biennale 2016 auszustellen.

Die deutschen Fotografen Peter Bialobrzeski, Hans-Christian Schink und Sabine Schründer, sowie die Künstlerin Anja Kempe stellen in der Mandalay Hall aus.
 



Kochi Diarys
Peter Bialobrzeski
  ©Peter Bialobrzeski ©Peter Bialobrzeski (Exzerpt)
19. Juli 2016
Fort Cochin, der koloniale Teil des heutigen Kochi, stinkt noch immer vergammelt, dennoch hat es seinen alten Charme behalten, den es schon vor 30 Jahren hatte. Zumindest außerhalb der Saison. Es gibt ein großes Angebot an Hotels und Gasthäusern. Rickshaw-Fahrer, die einen zum Krishna-Café fahren sollen, dann aber versuchen, dich für einen Besuch beim lokalen Antiquitäten-Shop oder Juwelier zu überzeugen. Tankgutscheine sind die Belohnung, die die Fahrer dafür erhalten, wie mir der christliche Fahrer Josef erklärt.
 

Kochi Nights
Hans-Christian Schink
  ©Hans-Christian Schink ©Hans-Christian Schink
Die Grundidee für die Serie "Kochi Nights" basiert auf dem Effekt der scheinbaren Verschiebung der Realität durch die unterschiedliche Verarbeitung von nächtlichen Lichtstimmungen durch das menschliche Auge und die Kamera. Die surreale Atmosphäre der Arbeiten nimmt auch Bezug auf bestimmte kinematografische Momente, geht aber ausschließlich auf die an den jeweiligen Orten vorhandene Beleuchtung zurück.
 
 
Inner Grid
Anja Kempe

©Anja Kempe ©Anja Kempe  
Ein zufällig erscheinendes Baugerüst schmiegt sich elastisch an die Wand. Seine Außenkanten verschwinden im Steinenmeer am Boden. Eine gefaltene Hand und ein Kern bzw. eine Schale werden ebenfalls dargestellt.
Drei Videos verweisen auf dieses Arrangement: Sie zeigen Hängematten, die an verschiedenen Orten in Fort Kochi hängen.
 
 
PAVILION
Sabine Schründer

 
©Sabine Schründer ©Sabine Schründer
Die Serie PAVILION ist eine Projektion von 32 als Loop angelegten Fotografien, die 2015 in Kerala entstanden sind. Sabine Schründer erkundet in dieser Reihe unterschiedliche emotionale Zustände und verbindet sie mit fragmentarischen Blicken, entrückten Gesten und farblichen Interventionen im Raum. So zeigen die Fotografien der Serie PAVILION Nähe, Intimität, Angst oder Ungewissheit – ohne diese konkret an einzelne Personen zu knüpfen. Verbunden mit Aspekten der Stille erkunden die Bilder als visuelle Konstruktionen einen unsichtbaren Grenzraum: die Idee der Formbarkeit und Transparenz von inneren und äußeren Welten aufgreifend versetzt Sabine Schründer die Betrachterinnen und Betrachter in eine intensive und fragile Bildwelt.

Zurück