Opening of the exhibition Double Road - Opening

Double Road ©Photo: Max Erbacher

Wed, 28.06.2017


Atelierstraße 18
81671 München

Karnataka - Bavaria: A double road to artistic exchange

About Double Road:

''Double Road – towards fresh forms of artistic exchange between Bangalore and Munich” is an innovative approach to sustainable cultural exchange between Bangalore and Munich, developed after several Munich-based artists participated in the bangaloREsidency project. Christian Engelmann, Beate Engl, Maximilian Erbacher, Fabian Hesse, Hermann Hiller and Ralf Homann are co-curators and producers of the project. The host artists are not just hosts to their Indian guests in the conventional sense, but also co-produce the artistic projects of the visitors through logistical, thematic and supportive practice. This includes the complex network in place, covering technical know-how, machinery and equipment, specialists, etc.

About the exhibition:

The project Double Road proves that despite all the differences one can also find some similarities between the cities Bangalore and Munich when it comes to: acess to public spaces, usage of ressources in the future or the changes in working environment. The exhibition showcases large-sized sculptures, multimedia installations, intra-city gardens, paintings and participative performances. Following artists will be represented at the exhibition:

Bhavani GS, Bharatesh GD, Dayananda N, Indu Antony, Navin Thomas, Nihaal Faizal, Paramesh Jolad, Ragini Bhow, Renuka Rajiv, Shridhar Gangolli, Suresh Jayaram, Suresh Kumar, Umesh Kumar, Yashas Shetty, Tara Kelton, Varsha Bhide und Suresh Kumar G. (Zero8Zero).

6pm: guided tour with the curators in Kunstpavillon and in
8pm: welcome address by Dr. Claus Heimes, Director, Goethe-Institut Bangalore and reprensentatives of the city council and introduction of the artists
followed by Sound Performance by Alfons Knogl, ex-bangaloREsident @1 Shanthi Road

The exhibition can be visited at all three venues: in MaximiliansForum (29.6 – 3. 9. 2017), in Kunstpavillon im Alten Botanischen Garten (29.6 – 30.7.2017) and in (29.6 – 30.7.2017)

Ausstellungseröffnung Double Road - Eröffnung

Double Road © Max Erbacher

Mi, 28.06.2017

Kunstpavillon im Alten Botanischen Garten, Maximiliansforum, whiteBOX.art


München

Karnataka - Bavaria: A double road to artistic exchange

Über Double Road:

''Double Road – towards fresh forms of artistic exchange between Bangalore and Munich” ist eine Initiative der Münchner Künstlerinnen und Künstler Christian Engelmann, Beate Engl, Maximilian Erbacher, Fabian Hesse, Hermann Hiller, Ralf Homann. Sie alle hatten am Residenzprogramm „bangaloREsidency” des Goethe-Instituts / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore teilgenommen. Mit Double Road haben sie nun eine Rückbegegnung organisiert, die es indischen Kunstschaffenden ermöglicht, mehrere Wochen nach Deutschland zu kommen. Die deutschen Künstlerinnen und Künstler fungieren auch als Gastgeber und Ko-Produzenten: Sie stellen den indischen Residenten ihre Ateliers zur Verfügung, vernetzen sie mit der lokalen Szene, zeigen ihnen lokale Produktionsmöglichkeiten und kuratieren die Ausstellung der entstandenen Kollaborationen in München.

Über die Ausstellung:

Das Kunstprojekt Double Road zeigt, dass trotz aller kultureller Unterschiede es auch Gemeinsamkeiten zwischen München und Bangalore gibt, insbesondere wenn es um Fragen über die Zugänglichkeit zu öffentlichen Räumen, die Verwendung von Zukunftsressourcen und die Veränderung der Arbeitswelt geht. Ausgestellt werden unter anderem großformatige Skulpturen, multimediale Installationen, innerstädtische Gärten, Malerei und partizipative Performances. Folgende Künstler stellen ihre Werke aus:

Bhavani GS, Bharatesh GD, Dayananda N, Indu Antony, Navin Thomas, Nihaal Faizal, Paramesh Jolad, Ragini Bhow, Renuka Rajiv, Shridhar Gangolli, Suresh Jayaram, Suresh Kumar, Umesh Kumar, Yashas Shetty, Tara Kelton, Varsha Bhide und Suresh Kumar G. (Zero8Zero).

18 Uhr: Kuratorenführung im Kunstpavillon und in der whiteBOX.art
20 Uhr: Begrüßung im Maximiliansforum durch den Institutsleiter Dr. Claus Heimes, Goethe-Institut Bangalore und eine Vertretung der Landeshauptstadt München und Vorstellung der anwesenden  Künstlerinnen und Künstler
anschließend: Sound Performance von Alfons Knogl, ex-bangaloREsident @1 Shanthi Road

Die Ausstellung ist an allen drei Orten: im MaximiliansForum (29.06 – 03. 09. 2017), im Kunstpavillon im Alten Botanischen Garten (29.06 – 30.07.2017) und in whiteBOX.art (29.06 – 30.07.2017)
 

Zurück