Panel discussion A_I_Opera - AI as a total work of art

Künstliche Intelligenz und künstlerisches Schaffen © Franck V / Unsplash

Fri, 11.10.2019

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Bangalore

716, CMH Road
Indiranagar 1st Stage
Bangalore

Panel discussion with Christoph Faulhaber

In collaboration with the India Week Hamburg 2019, we present a panel on the different perspectives and possibilities of Artificial Intelligence (AI), conceived and facilitated by German artist, performer and filmmaker Christoph Faulhaber.

Participants, originating from the field of AI-driven software production, will present their vision, perspective and AI-designed products: What is their potential and innovative power?
 
The focus will also lie on the development of AI from an artistic perspective, i.e. bringing together documentary and artistic elements, for example, where four participants sit in the middle of the space around a 360°/VR-camera. The 360°-video provides a visual, conceptual and immersive introduction to the invisible yet mighty influence of the new technology. The panel is however, conceived as an open-to-the-public event.

The discussion will continue on broader issues:
Compared to AI leaders in Silicon Valley and China, India is a laggard. But is that true? According to tracxn.com, a start-up tracker, nearly 300 start-ups are using some form of AI. Among dedicated AI-only Indian start-ups there are solutions to multiple industries: production, communication, retail and logistics, e-commerce, mobility, traffic, security, healthcare, education, fashion design, social relationships.

AI may worsen a major socio-economic headache for India: employment. According to a 2016 World Bank report, automation may be a threat to 69% of the jobs in India. Will the potential of AI and the growing demand for its products possibly outrun the threat of unemployment? Or will it widen the ‘digital divide’ and the asymmetrical conditions of the ‘global south’?
 
Apart from the economic threat, the event should reverberate with the possibilities of the new technology. What visions, ideas and hopes reflect in their products? How can AI be made palpable, tangible, visible or conceivable? To what extent will it change our daily lives? Is the impact of AI somehow similar when compared with the rise of the internet in the 1990s?

Are we about to enter a post-AI era, following the post-internet era? Will AI take over the leading role in digitisation? How will it change the visual and performative aspects of arts and culture? What will be the outcome in terms of work, well-being, freedom and democracy?

Christoph Faulhaber © Angela von Brill Christoph Faulhaber:

"Christoph Faulhaber (born June 17, 1972 in Osnabrück) is a Hamburg-based artist, performer, filmmaker and author who is best known for his socially critical projects, which always cause a sensation."

"He is an eclectic artist who bridges media, medium and technology, with a current project focus bridging AI and art."
 

Panellists:

Mira Swaminathan © Mira Swaminathan Mira Swaminathan
(Programme Officer at Centre for Internet and Society)
Mira is a programme officer at Centre For Internet and Society. She has a bachelor of law degree from School of Law Christ University, Bangalore. At CIS, she works on outputs relating to  Regulatory Practices. She was a legal researcher for the Columbia Global Freedom of Expression Project and an alumni of the 19th Annenberg Oxford Media Policy Summer Institute.


Shweta Mohandas © Shweta Mohandas Shweta Mohandas
(Policy Officer at Centre for Internet and Society India)
Shweta is a Policy Officer at the Centre for Internet and Society. Her areas of work and interest include Artificial Intelligence, Privacy and Intellectual Property Rights and India’s policies surrounding these issues.


Anurag Priyadarshi Anurag Priyadarshi Anurag Priyadarshi 
(Founder & Lead AI Engineer at Scientist Technologies | Member of AAAI)

"Anurag is passionate about original AI research in India and works on getting industry and academia to collaborate on research."

"One of the primary areas where his startup is focussed is AI for road safety. By analysing accident prone areas using computer vision, Scientist Tech helps urban planners and transportation agencies in making better and safer cities. His firm also has experience hunting down Internet bots." 


Vagaram Chowdhary © Vagaram Chowdhary Vagaram Chowdhary
(Founder of Inuvest.tech)
Vagaram is a Chartered Accountant and MBA from IE Business School, Spain. He has worked as a finance consultant over 6+years at Big4 consulting firms prior to founding Inuvest technologies.

Inuvest is a social trading platform which connects individual retail investors to professional traders and trading robots built using AI and ML. Our proprietary tool takes the pain of coding away from expert traders and simplifies the algorithmic trading for everyday investors. Inuvest creates transparent opportunities for both traders and retail investors, free from boundaries of traditional trading. Our mission is to democratize algorithmic trading for all.
 

Back

Podiumsdiskussion A_I_Opera - AI as a total work of art

Künstliche Intelligenz und künstlerisches Schaffen © Franck V / Unsplash

Fr, 11.10.2019

Bangalore

716, CMH Road
Indiranagar 1st Stage
Bangalore

Podiumsdiskussion mit Christoph Faulhaber

In Zusammenarbeit mit der India Week Hamburg 2019 präsentieren wir ein Panel zu den verschiedenen Perspektiven und Möglichkeiten der Künstlichen Intelligenz (KI).

Teilnehmer*innen aus dem Bereich der KI-gesteuerten Softwareproduktion werden ihre Vision, Perspektive und von KI designten Produkte vorstellen: Welches Potenzial und welche Innovationskraft haben diese?

Der Fokus wird auch auf die Entwicklung von KI aus künstlerischer Sicht liegen, d. H. das Zusammenführen von dokumentarischen und künstlerischen Elementen, zum Beispiel, wenn vier Teilnehmer*innen in der Mitte des Raumes um eine 360 ​​° / VR-Kamera sitzen. Das 360 °-Video bietet eine isuelle, konzeptionelle und immersive Einführung in den unsichtbaren und dennoch mächtigen Einfluss der neuen Technologie. Das Panel ist jedoch als öffentlich zugängliche Veranstaltung konzipiert.

Die Diskussion wird zudem weitere Themen behandeln:
Im Vergleich zu KI-Führern im Silicon Valley und in China ist Indien ein nachzügler. Aber ist das wahr? Laut tracxn.com, einem Start-up-Tracker, verwenden fast 300 Start-Ups eine Form von KI. Unter engagierten reinen indischen KI-Start-Ups gibt es Lösungen für verschiedene Branchen: Produktion, Kommunikation, Einzelhandel und Logistik, E-Commerce, Mobilität, Verkehr, Sicherheit, Gesundheitswesen, Bildung, Modedesign, soziale Beziehungen.

Die KI könnte aber auch eines der ohnehin schon größten sozioökonomischen Probleme Indiens verschlimmern: die Beschäftigung. Laut einem Bericht der Weltbank von 2016 könnte die Automatisierung von 69% der Arbeitsplätze in Indien gefährdet werden. Wird das Potenzial der KI und die wachsende Nachfrage nach ihren Produkten möglicherweise die Gefahr von Arbeitslosigkeit überwinden? Oder wird es die „digitale Kluft“ und die asymmetrischen Bedingungen des „globalen Südens“ vergrößern?

Abgesehen von der wirtschaftlichen Bedrohung soll die Veranstaltung die Möglichkeiten der neuen Technologie widerspiegeln. Welche Visionen, Ideen und Hoffnungen spiegeln sich in ihren Produkten wider? Wie kann KI fühlbar, greifbar, sichtbar oder vorstellbar gemacht werden? Inwieweit wird es unser tägliches Leben verändern? Ist die Auswirkung der KI im Vergleich zum Aufkommen des Internets in den 1990er Jahren ähnlich?

Stehen wir kurz vor dem Eintritt in eine Post-KI-Ära nach der Post-Internet-Ära? Übernimmt KI die führende Rolle bei der Digitalisierung? Wie wird es die visuellen und performativen Aspekte von Kunst und Kultur verändern? Was werden die Ergebnisse und Auswirkungen in Bezug auf Arbeit, Wohlbefinden, Freiheit und Demokratie sein?

Diese Veranstaltung wird von dem deutschen Künstler, Performer und Filmemacher Christoph Faulhaber konzipiert und moderiert.

Christoph Faulhaber © Angela von Brill Christoph Faulhaber:

"Christoph Faulhaber (* 17. Juni 1972 in Osnabrück) ist ein in Hamburg lebender Künstler, Performer, Filmemacher und Autor. Faulhaber ist vor allem durch seine gesellschaftskritischen Projekte bekannt geworden, die immer wieder großes Aufsehen erregen."

"Er ist ein vielseitiger Künstler, der Medien, Medium und Technologie verbindet mit dem aktuellen Projektfokus verbindet er KI und Kunst."

Teilnehmer*innen des Panels:

Mira Swaminathan © Mira Swaminathan Mira Swaminathan
(Programmbeauftragte beim Centre for Internet and Society)
Mira ist Programmbeauftragte am Centre For Internet and Society. Sie hat einen Bachelor in Rechtswissenschaften von der School of Law Christ University, Bangalore. Bei CIS arbeitet sie an Outputs im Zusammenhang mit Regulierungspraktiken. Sie war Rechtswissenschaftlerin für das Columbia Global Freedom of Expression Project und Alumni des 19. Annenberg Oxford Media Policy Summer Institute.


Shweta Mohandas © Shweta Mohandas Shweta Mohandas
(Mitarbeitern beim Centre for Internet and Society India)
Shweta ist Mitarbeiterin am Centre for Internet and Society India. Zu ihren Arbeits- und Interessensgebieten gehören künstliche Intelligenz, Datenschutz und Rechte an geistigem Eigentum sowie die diesbezüglichen Richtlinien Indiens.


Anurag Priyadarshi © Anurag Priyadarshi Anurag Priyadarshi
(Gründer und leitender KI-Ingenieur bei Scientist Technologies | Mitglied der AAAI)

"Anurag interessiert sich leidenschaftlich für KI-Forschung in Indien und arbeitet daran, Industrie und Wissenschaft zur Zusammenarbeit in der Forschung zu bewegen."

"Einer der Hauptbereiche, auf die sich sein Startup konzentriert, ist KI für die Verkehrssicherheit. Durch die Analyse unfallgefährdeter Bereiche mithilfe von Computer Vision hilft Scientist Tech Stadtplaner*innen und Verkehrsunternehmer*innen dabei bessere und sicherere Städte zu schaffen. Seine Firma hat auch Erfahrung darin, Internet-Bots zu identifizieren. "


Vagaram Chowdhary Vagaram Chowdhary © Vagaram Chowdhary
(Gründer von Inuvest.tech)
Vagaram ist Wirtschaftsprüfer und hat einen Masterabschluss von der der IE Business School, Spanien. Vor der Gründung von Inuvest Technologies war er mehr als 6 Jahre als Finanzberater bei Big4 Beratungsunternehmen tätig.

Inuvest ist eine soziale Handelsplattform, die einzelne Privatanleger*innen mit professionellen Händlern und Handelsrobotern verbindet, die mit AI und ML gebaut wurden. Unser proprietäres Tool nimmt den erfahrenen Händlern die Mühe des Codierens ab und vereinfacht den algorithmischen Handel für alltägliche Anleger. Inuvest schafft transparente Möglichkeiten sowohl für Händler als auch für Privatanleger*innen, unabhängig von den Grenzen des traditionellen Handels. Unsere Mission ist es, den algorithmischen Handel für alle zu demokratisieren.
 

Zurück