Beethoven - Eastern Variations

Beethoven - Eastern Variations
© Varun Desai

by Varun Desai (Kolkata) & Ulrich Mertin (Istanbul)

A project on the occasion of the 250th birth anniversary of Ludwig van Beethoven initiated by Goethe-Institut.

Beethoven - Eastern Variations is a conceptual electro-acoustic music album with a transcultural re-creation of Beethoven’s seventh symphony, second movement, in collaboration with traditional musicians from Turkey and India.

The artistic direction of this production is decided to concentrate on various aspects of Beethoven's life while composing this symphony, 1811-1813, to illustrate his character, personal situation and state of motion during this period and to determine the most influential and formative aspects during the creation of this symphony.

Beethoven dedicated his whole life to music and its progression. He was a creator, discoverer, innovator, with a passionate desire for freedom and independency and a pure, unbiased fascination for foreign cultures. The period 1811-13 was certainly a shaking, struggling, passionately and deeply emotional period of his life, with music as his valve. Researchers connect the second movement to the “Unsterbliche Geliebte”, most probably Josephine Gräfin Deym von Stritetz, with whom Beethoven had have a secret relationship since 1799, and probably even a secret child, Minona, born in 1813. The same year (1813, year of premiering the 7th symphony) also marked the beginning of the end of Napoleon Bonaparte’s reign over Europe. Beethoven, an admirer of Napoleon at first, turned away from him, after Napoleon became an absolutist dictator. However, for Europe, as the current alliance of equal nations, 1813 was the beginning of struggles and fights for independence. Undoubtedly it was a time where old structures were about to vanish and a long intense struggle for a new directive in political, cultural and social-political orientation in a contemporary Europe had begun. For Beethoven, a man of unwavering character and strong cultural and political beliefs, it certainly had a remarkably strong influence on his inner and outer life.

Since 1811/12, Beethoven started to suffer from severe ear problems until eventual deafness. His musical creational work happened to be more and more completely in the inner, isolated world of his head. Forced to accept these boundaries, he seemed to be free and limitless in his imaginations, while composing complete works without being able to use one single instrument to play on and while traveling the world in his dreams. He was fascinated by foreign cultures and was eager to explore them. He traveled through Europe, but he never had the chance to visit other continents. Instead, he was traveling in his dreams to countries and cultures far away. He also developed a certain interest in Ottoman and the Indian culture.

This project is aimed to produce a 12inch/45RPM vinyl record with a total duration of 24min.

This project is presented by the Goethe-Institut Istanbul and the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata.

Ulrich Mertin © Ulrich Mertin Ulrich Mertin
Istanbul, Turkey

Ulrich Mertin is a viola player and experimental composer known for combining classical, house, folk, experimental and electronic styles. He was born in Hoyerswerda (Germany) studied Violin with Prof. Max Speermann at HfM Würzburg and Viola with Prof. Stefan Fehlandt at the “Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler” in Berlin. He received scholarships from the Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, the Darmstadt International Summer Courses and the International Ensemble Modern Academy. Between 2003-2005, he was working with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin. As principal viola player, he joined the European Union Chamber Orchestra and Ensemble Resonanz, as a soloist and chamber musician. He worked with renowned composers such as György Kurtag, Helmut Lachenmann, Steve Reich, Tristan Murail, Pierre Boulez. He is playing solo recitals and premiers of works dedicated to him across Europe.

Ulrich Mertin is regularly working with world-renowned contemporary music ensembles such as  Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern and MusikFabrik. He is giving masterclasses and workshops for musicians and composers in Europe and Turkey. Above his musical career Mertin spends a lot of time in Istanbul, where he found a perfect platform for his main goal – inter-cultural exchange projects. Ulrich is Co-Director of Hezarfen Ensemble which he founded together with american composer Michael Ellison in 2009 in Istanbul. The award-winning ensemble is invited regularly to international festivals such as MaerzMusik Festival, Ruhrtriennale, Klangzeit Festival Münster, Rotterdamer Operagdagen, IKSV Music Festival Istanbul and is dedicated to the support of the turkish contemporary music scene and its lasting integration into the international music world with growing success.

Varun Desai © Varun Desai Varun Desai
Kolkata, India

Varun Desai is a multi-disciplinary artist and electronic musician. With over 15 years of experience working in arts and culture as a promoter, label manager, producer, designer & video artist, he has worked on projects in Germany, UK, Poland, Switzerland, Portugal and Nepal.

Varun Desai's company Littlei has been producing concerts and festivals in Kolkata since 2007 and has been responsible for developing new art and music traditions in the city. As a musician, composer and educator he has been involved in trans-cultural projects and residencies and has created works that are responsive to the technological advances of the digital age.

Videos
 

Varun Desai
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata & Goethe-Institut Istanbul
 
Ulrich Mertin
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata & Goethe-Institut Istanbul

Beethoven - Eastern Variations

Beethoven - Eastern Variations
© Varun Desai

Von Varun Desai (Kolkata) und Ulrich Mertin (Istanbul)

Ein Projekt anlässlich des 250. Geburtstags von Ludwig van Beethoven unter der Leitung des Goethe-Instituts.

Beethoven – Östliche Variationen ist ein konzeptionell elektro-akustisches Musikalbum mit transkulturellen Neuschöpfungen von Beethovens 7. Symphonie, zweiter Satz, in Zusammenarbeit mit traditionellen Musiker/innen aus Indien und der Türkei.

Der künstlerische Kurs dieser Produktion konzentriert sich entschieden auf verschiedene Aspekte aus Beethovens Leben, als er—von 1811 bis 1813—diese Symphonie komponierte. Dabei sollen sein Charakter, seine persönliche Lage sowie Veränderungen in diesem Zeitraum veranschaulicht und die einflussreichsten, prägensten Aspekte während der Schaffung der 7. Symphonie bestimmt werden.

Sein ganzes Leben lang widmete sich Beethoven der Musik und ihrer Weiterentwicklung. Er war ein Schöpfer, Entdecker und Wegbereiter mit einem leidenschaftlichen Verlangen für Freiheit und Unabhängigkeit, sowie einer reinen, unvoreingenommenen Faszination für fremde Kulturen. Die Zeit zwischen 1811 und 1813 stellte sicherlich eine erschütternde, mühsame, stürmische und hochemotionale Periode in seinem Leben dar, in der die Musik zu seinem Ventil wurde. Der zweite Satz der Symphonie wird von Forscher/innen mit der ,,Unsterblichen Geliebten'', höchswahrscheinlich Josephine Gräfin Deym von Stritetz, in Verbindung gebracht, zu der Beethoven bereits seit 1799 eine geheime Beziehung unterhielt und mit der er vermutlich eine heimliche Tochter hatte, Minona, die im Jahr 1813 geboren wurde. Dasselbe Jahr (1813, das Jahr der Premiere von Beethovens 7. Symphonie) markierte den Anfang vom Ende der napoleonischen Herrschaft über Europa. Beethoven, der anfangs ein Bewunderer Napoleons gewesen war, wandte sich später von ihm ab, nachdem dieser zu einem absolutistischen Diktator geworden war. Für Europa als gegenwärtiger Allianz gleicher Nationen hingegen bedeutete 1813 den Beginn von Auseinandersetzungen und Kämpfen um Unabhängigkeit. Es war unzweifelhaft eine Zeit, in der alte Strukturen in der Auflösung begriffen waren und ein intensiver Kampf für neue Richtlinien in politischer, kultureller und sozio-politischer Orientierung in einem zeitgenössischen Europa begonnen hatten. Für einen Mann wie Beethoven, mit standhaftem Charakter und ausgeprägten politischen und kulturellen Überzeugungen, hatten diese Jahre durchaus einen beachtlichen Einfluss auf das innere und äußere Leben.

Seit 1811/12 begann Beethoven an schwerwiegenden Ohrenproblemen zu leiden, die schließlich zu seiner Taubheit führten. Immer und immer mehr spielte sich sein musikalisches Schaffenswerk deswegen in der innerlichen, abgeschiedenen Welt seines Kopfes ab. Dazu gezwungen, diese Einschränkungen zu akzeptieren, schien er in seinem Vorstellungsvermögen frei und grenzenlos zu sein, während er vollständige Werke komponierte, ohne dafür auf einem einzigen Instrument üben zu können. Gleichzeitig bereiste er die Welt in seinen Träumen. Beethoven war von fremden Kulturen fasziniert und brannte darauf, diese zu erkunden. Er bereiste Europa, hatte aber doch nie die Chance, andere Kontinente zu besuchen. Stattdessen reiste er in seinen Träumen in andere, weit enfernte Länder und Kulturen. Es heißt, dass er auch ein gewisses Interesse an der ottomanischen und indischen Kultur entwickelte.

Dieses Projekt ist darauf ausgerichtet, eine 30,48 cm/45RPM Schallplatte mit einer Gesamtlaufzeit von 24 Minuten hervorzubringen.

Dieses Projekt wird vom Goethe-Institut Istanbul und dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata präsentiert.

Ulrich Mertin © Ulrich Mertin Ulrich Mertin
Istanbul, Türkei

Ulrich Mertin ist ein Violaspieler und experimenteller Komponist, der dafür bekannt ist, klassische, House-, Folk-, experimentelle und elektonische Stile miteinander zu kombinieren. Er wurde in Hoyerswerda (Deutschland) geboren und studierte Violine bei Prof. Max Speermann an der HfM Würzburg sowie Viola bei Prof. Stefan Fehlandt an der ,,Hochschule für Musik Hanns Eisler” in Berlin. Er erhielt Stipendien von dem Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra, den Darmstadt International Summer Courses und der International Ensemble Modern Academy. Zwischen 2003 und 2005 arbeitete er für das Konzerthausorchester Berlin. Als Solo-Violaspieler trat er dem European Union Chamber Orchestra und dem Ensemble Resonanz bei; als Solist und Kammermusiker arbeitete er mit renommierten Komponisten wie György Kurtag, Helmut Lachenmann, Steve Reich, Tristan Murail und Pierre Boulez zusammen. Zudem spielt er in ganz Europa Solo-Konzerte und Werkpremieren, die ihm gewidmet werden.

Regelmäßig arbeitet Ulrich Mertin mit weltberühmten zeitgenössischen Musikensembles wie z.B. Klangforum Wien, Ensemble Modern und der MusikFabrik zusammen. Er gibt Meisterklassen und Workshops für Musiker/innen und Komponist/innen in Europa und der Türkei. Neben seiner musikalischen Karriere verbringt Mertin viel Zeit in Istanbul, wo er die perfekte Plattform für sein wichtigstes Anliegen gefunden hat: interkulturelle Austauschprogramme.  Mertin ist Co-Direktor des Hezarfen Ensembles, welches er im Jahr 2009 gemeinsam mit dem amerikanischen Komponisten Michael Ellison in Istanbul gründete. Das preisgekrönte Ensemble wird regelmäßig auf internationale Festivals, wie z.B. MaerzMusik Festival, Ruhrtriennale, Klangzeit Festival Münster, Rotterdamer Operagdagen, IKSV Music Festival Istanbul eingeladen. Mit wachsendem Erfolg widmet es sich der Förderung der zeitgenössischen türkischen Musikszene und deren Integration in die internationale Musikwelt.

V Varun Desai © Varun Desai arun Desai
Kolkata, Indien

Varun Desai ist ein multidisziplinärer Künstler und Elektro-Musiker. Mit mehr als 15 -jähriger Arbeitserfahrung als Promoter, Label-Betreiber, Produzent, Designer und Videokünstler im Kunst- und Kulturbereich, arbeitete er bereits an Projekten in Deutschland, Polen, Großbritannien, der Schweiz, Portugal und Nepal.

Varun Desais Unternehmen Littlei produziert seit 2007 Konzerte und Festivals in Kolkata und ist für die Entwicklung neuer Kunst- und Musiktraditionen in der Stadt verantwortlich. Als Musiker, Komponist und Pädagoge war er an transkulturellen Projekten und Residenz-Programmen beteiligt; außerdem fertigte er Kunstwerke an, welche die technologischen Fortschritte des digitalen Zeitalters ansprechen.

Videos
 

Varun Desai
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata & Goethe-Institut Istanbul
 
Ulrich Mertin
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata & Goethe-Institut Istanbul