Indo-European Residency

Indo-European Residency Kolkata
© Goethe-Institut Kolkata/Design:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

The Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata (www.goethe.de/kolkata) and the Alliance Française du Bengale (http://bengale.afindia.org), in collaboration with the Kolkata based gallery CIMA (http://www.cimaartindia.com/) and Kala Bhavana, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan, West Bengal (www.visvabharati.ac.in) organizes the interdisciplinary Indo - European Residency Project Kolkata. The residency takes place in Kolkata, West Bengal, India and in Santiniketan, West Bengal, India and lasts eight weeks (seven weeks in Kolkata and one week in Santiniketan). The first Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata was organized in 2017 with the support of the Franco-German Elysee Fund. The third Indo European Residency in 2019 will see the British Council, Kolkata (https://www.britishcouncil.in) collaborating in the project as the fifth partner.

For the third Indo-European Residency Project Kolkata, four artists practicing different art forms (one from Germany, France, United Kingdom and India) will work and explore the city together, for seven weeks in Kolkata and one week in Santiniketan. During their stay, the artists will meet for a productive exchange with cosmopolitan and culturally interested people, artists, NGOs and others in West Bengal.

The aim of this residency is the creation of an individual or collective art project during the stay in India. The engagement, with fellow artists from different countries, along with personal artistic experiences will help create a new cultural space for inspiring ideas and producing entrancing results.

Artist 2019

Tom Vater

Tom Vater © Tom Vater

 

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA, Kala Bhavana

Artists Oct - Dec 2018

Christian Bold       Lorella Paleni        Ina Kaur

Christian Bold © GI Kolkata   Lorella Paleni © Lorella Paleni   Ina Kaur © GI Kolkata






Artists Sep - Nov 2017

Ida Roscher            Laurent Reyes    Harendra Kumar Kushwaha

Ida Roscher © Ida Roscher   Laurent Reyes © GI Kolkata Harendra Kumar Kushwaha © GI Kolkata





 
  • Indo-European Residency 1 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 2 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 4 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 5 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 7 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 6 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 8 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA

Indo-Europäische Residenz

Indo-European Residency Kolkata
© Goethe-Institut Kolkata/Design:Sharanya Chattopadhyay

Das Goethe – Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata (www.goethe.de/kolkata) und die Alliance Française du Bengale (http://bengale.afindia.org) organisieren in Kooperation mit der in Kolkata ansässigen Galerie CIMA (http://www.cimaartindia.com/) und der Kala Bhavana, Visva Bharati University, Santiniketan, West Bengal (www.visvabharati.ac.in) das interdisziplinäre Indo-Europäisches Residenzprojekt Kolkata. Die Residenz findet in Kolkata, West-Bengalen, Indien und in Santiniketan, West-Bengalen, Indien statt und dauert acht Wochen (sieben Wochen in Kolkata und eine Woche in Santiniketan). Die erste Künstlerresidenz wurde im 2017 mit Unterstützung des Franco-German Elysee-Fonds organisiert.
Bei der dritten Indo European Residency 2019 wird der British Council, Kolkata (https://www.britishcouncil.in), als fünfter Partner an dem Projekt teilnehmen.

Für das dritte Indo-Europäische Residenzprojekt Kolkata werden vier Künstler*innen aus verschiedenen Kunstsparten (je eine*r aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Großbritannien und Indien) sieben Wochen in Kolkata und eine Woche in Santiniketan zusammenarbeiten und die Städte erkunden. In Kolkata steht ein Atelier für die Umsetzung des Kunstprojektes zur Verfügung. Während ihres Aufenthalts werden die Künstler*innen mit weltoffenen und kulturinteressierten Bürger*innen, Künstler*innen und NGOs in West-Bengalen zu einem produktiven Austausch zusammenkommen.

Das Ziel der Residenz ist die Schaffung eines individuellen oder kollektiven Kunstwerks während des Aufenthalts in Indien. Die Bereicherung persönlicher, künstlerischer Erfahrungen im Kontakt mit indischen Künstler*innen sowie der Austausch mit den Mit-Residenten innerhalb der Gruppe über die Art und Weise, wie ein neuer Kulturraum entdeckt wird, soll Raum für neue, kreative Ideen schaffen.

 
Bewerbungsfrist bis zum 25. August 2019 verlängert !


 
Closing
Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA, Kala Bhavana

Künstler Okt. - Dez. 2018                                                                

Christian Bold         Lorella Paleni       Ina Kaur                                     
 
Christian Bold © GI Kolkata           Lorella Paleni © Lorella Paleni           Ina Kaur © GI Kolkata
               
             




Künstler Sep. - Nov. 2017

Ida Roscher           Laurent Reyes         Harendra Kumar Kushwaha

Ida Roscher © Ida Roscher   Laurent Reyes © GI Kolkata   Harendra Kumar Kushwaha © GI Kolkata  





 
  • Indo-European Residency 1 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 2 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 4 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 5 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 7 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 6 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA
  • 8 © Goethe-Institut Kolkata, Alliance Francaise du Bengale, CIMA