Docu-Forum Naachi Se Baanchi (Dance for survival)

Naachi se Baanchi © Biju Toppo and Megnath

Wed, 28.03.2018

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700 016 Kolkata

71 mins/India/2017/colour/ Hindi with English subtitles

A film by Biju Toppo and Meghnath

A film on life and works of Padmashree DR Ram Dayal Munda

In his lifetime itself Dr. Ram Dayal Munda has become a symbol of indigenous cultural reawakening. Born in an Adivasi Family of Tamar in Jharkhand. He went for his higher studies in The United States of America. Later, he taught at the University of Minnesota. He came back to India to teach at Tribal and Regional Language Department of Ranchi University and subsequently became the Vice Chancellor of the same University. Ram Dayal Munda was the leading intellectual who has contributed to Jharkhand movement immensely. Dr. Munda has represented Adivasi voices in RajyaShabha and United Nations. He has been awarded with Sahitya Academy Award and Padmashree in 2009. He passed away on September 2011.

Biju Toppo is one of the first Adivasi film makers who have effectively used the camera to counter the misrepresentation of his community by the ‘mainstream’ media. His film has received national and international recognition. Biju Toppo was awarded prestigious National Film Award by the President Pratibha Patil in 58th National Film Awards.

Meghnath is an activist working in Jharkhand for last 30 years. He has been with the people’s struggle against destructive development. As a film maker he has tried to document the voice of those sections of people who remain unheard. At present he teaches in the Mass Communication department of St. Xaviers College Ranchi. Meghnath was awarded prestigious National Film Award by the President Pratibha Patil in 58th National Film Awards.

The film has won the Jury’s Choice Award at the 7th IFMF 2017, Kathmandu, Nepal and Jury Special Mention at the 15th MIFF, 2018 Mumbai, India

This film is produced by Films Division.

 

Back

Docu-Forum Naachi Se Baanchi (Tanz ums Überleben)

Naachi se Baanchi © Biju Toppo and Megnath

Mi, 28.03.2018

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700016 Kolkata

71 min/ Indien 2017/ Farbe/ Hindi mit englischen Untertiteln

Ein Film von Biju Toppo und Meghnath

Ein Film über Leben und Werk von Padmashree Dr. Ram Dayal Munda
 
Bereits zu seinen Lebzeiten wurde Dr. Ram Dayal Munda zu einem Symbol des Indigenen Kulturellen Erwachens. Geboren in eine Adivasi-Familie der Tamar in Jharkand, ging er für sein Hochschulstudium in die Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika, wo er später an der University of Minnesota unterrichtete. Er kehrte nach Indien zurück, um am Tribal and Regional Language Department der Ranchi University zu lehren, an der er anschließend zum Vize-Kanzler ernannt wurde. Ram Dayal Munda war ein führender Intellektueller, der einen enormen Beitrag für die Jharkand-Bewegung geliefert hat. Dr. Munda repräsentierte die Stimmen der Adivasi in der Rajya Shabha und den Vereinten Nationen; er wurde mit dem Sahitya Akedemi- sowie 2009 mit dem Padmashree-Award ausgezeichnet. Er verstarb im September 2011.

Biju Toppo ist einer der ersten Adivasi-Filmemacher/innen, welche die Kamera effektiv genutzt haben, um der Missrepräsentation ihrer Gemeinschaft durch die ,,Mainstream''-Medien entgegenzuwirken. Sein Film erlangte nationale und internationale Anerkennung. Biju Toppo wurde während der 58. National Film Awards durch den Präsidenten Pratibha Patil der renommierte National Film Award verliehen.

Meghnath ist ein seit 30 Jahren in Jharkand wirkender Aktivist. Er unterstützte die Bewegung ,,people’s struggle against destructive development'' (Volksbewegung gegen zerstörerische Entwicklung). Als Filmemacher hat er versucht, die Stimmen derjenigen Menschengruppen aufzuzeichnen, die sonst ungehört bleiben. Zur Zeit unterricht er am Department für Mass Communication am St. Xaviers College in Ranchi. Megnath wurde während der 58. National Film Awards durch den Präsidenten Pratibha Patil der renommierte National Film Award verliehen.

Der Film gewann den Jury's Choice Award auf dem 7. IFMF 2017, Kathmandu, Nepal sowie die Jury Special Mention auf dem 15. MIFF 2018, Mumbai, Indien.

Der Film wurde von Films Division produziert.
 

Zurück