Workshop Dalit Art Archive

Dalit Art Archive © Aroh Akunth

26.03., 27.03. and 08.04.2020

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700 016 Kolkata

A project by Aroh Akunth

Dalit Art Archive is a community archive that seeks to document histories of Caste and Art from the perspectives of Dalit individuals. In its current form, the archive seeks to build a repository of community knowledge via sourcing works which focus on, but are not limited to: caste-based art forms, manifestations of caste in the arts sector, experiences/barriers of caste in the arts sector, art appreciation/critique of an art piece/artist, interviews with Dalit Artists/Community Historians/ Art Experts in the form of articles, photo essays, digital stories, academic papers or podcasts.

This project will be developed through three workshops on archiving skills such as Oral Methods, Digital Storytelling, and Community History/Knowledge for participants who seek to realize their contributions to the archive. The workshops will culminate into a public display of a variety of artworks and an open discussion on the findings of the workshops. The aim of this project is to create a digital archive which will only expand with time.

The final presentation of the works and the open discussion will be on Wednesday, 8 April 2020 from 6:30 pm.
  • Workshop 1: Thursday, 26 March 2020
  • Workshop 2: Friday, 27 March 2020
  • Workshop 3 and presentation: Wednesday, 8 April 2020
To participate in the workshop, please write to akunth.15@stu.aud.ac.in

Aroh Akunth have done their Bachelor’s in Social Sciences from Ambedkar University Delhi. They went on to pursue Criminology at Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai and are currently doing their Masters’ in Modern Indian Studies from the University of Göttingen, Germany. Akunth is an upcoming cultural practitioner, they curated the Dalit Art Festival (Delhi) and Bahujan Art Festival (Mumbai) in 2018. They are the founder and current curator of the Dalit Queer Project, which deals with generating communities around caste and queerness in virtual and physical spaces. Their ongoing work in theatre-making and writing seeks to emulate their lived experiences in different ecosystems.

Back

Workshop Dalit Art Archive

Dalit Art Archive © Aroh Akunth

26.03., 27.03. und 08.04.2020

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Park Mansions, Gate 4
57A, Park Street
700016 Kolkata

Ein Projekt von Aroh Akunth

Dalit Art Archive ist ein Gemeinschaftsarchiv, dass sich der Dokumentation von Geschichten über Kaste und Kunst aus den Perspektiven von einzelnen Dalits verschrieben hat. In seiner jetzigen Form versucht das Archiv einen Aufbewahrungsort für die gemeinschaftlichen Wissenssysteme zu schaffen. Dies soll durch Quellenarbeit geschehen, die ihren Fokus insbesondere auf folgenden Themen legt (sich aber nicht nur auf diese beschränkt): kastenbasierte Kunstformen, die Manifestation von Kaste im Kunstsektor, Erfahrungen/Barrieren von Kaste im Kunstsektor, Kunstverständnis/Kritik an Kunstwerken/Künstler*innen, Interviews mit Dalit-Künstler*innen/Historiker*innen der Gemeinschaft/Kunstexpert*innen in der Form von Artikeln, Fotoessays, digitalen Geschichten, akademischen Aufsätzen oder Podcasts.

Das Projekt soll durch drei Workshops erarbeitet werden, die sich mit der Aneignung von Fähigkeiten wie z.B. mündlichen Methoden, digitaler Erzählkunst und Wissen/Geschichte über die Gemeinschaft beschäftigen; sie richten sich an Teilnehmer*innen, die ihre Beiträge zum Archiv verwirklichen möchten. Die Workshops gipfeln in eine öffentliche Ausstellung vielfältiger Kunstwerke und in eine Diskussion über die Ergebnisse der Workshops. Ziel des Projekts ist die Gründung eines digitalen Archivs, das sich im Laufe der Zeit erweitern soll.

Die Abschlusspräsentation der Werke und das offene Gespräch finden am Mittwoch, dem 08. April 2020 ab 18:30 Uhr statt.
                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
  • Workshop 1: Donnerstag, 26. März 2020
  • Workshop 2: Freitag, 27. März 2020
  • Workshop 3 und Präsentation: Mittwoch, 08. April 2020
  •  
Für die Teilnahme am Workshop schreiben Sie bitte an: akunth.15@stu.aud.ac.in

Aroh Akunth absolvierten ihren Bachelor in Sozialwissenschaften an der Ambedkar University Delhi. Sie setzten ihr Studium in Kriminologie am Tata Institute of Social Sciences, Mumbai, fort und studieren im Master Modern Indian Studies an der Universität Göttingen. Akunth sind vielversprechende Kulturpraktiker*innen; sie kuratierten das Dalit Art Festival (Delhi) und 2018 das Bahujan Art Festival (Mumbai). Sie sind die Gründer*innen und derzeitigen Kurator*innen des Dalit Queer Project, das sich mit der Bildung von Gemeinschaften rund um Kaste und Queerness in virtuellen und physischen Räumen beschäftigt. In ihrer kontinuierlichen Arbeit in der Theaterpraxis und in ihrem Schreiben streben sie danach, ihre gelebten Erfahrungen in verschiedenen Ökosystemen nachzubilden.

Zurück