Home for Dance

HFD Nov Goethe-Institut Kolkata and Pickle Factory Dance Foundation

A residency with movement artists and architects/visual designers working together to create their ideal ‘home for dance’ - one which embodies the different elements of movement practice and performance interweaving it with Kolkata’s ethos and sensibilities.

Building on this connection that a people share with their surroundings, we want you to shape a space where dancers truly belong.

This residency hopes to widen the conversation around building a permanent venue or a ‘home for dance’ in Kolkata: by involving a plurality of dreams and ideas as well as emphasising the often overlooked aspects like texture, design and feel while creating such a space.

Five mentors will oversee and guide applicants through the period of residency: three Indian mentors from the fields of architecture, cultural entrepreneurship and dance along with two German mentors from the fields of movement practice and repurposing spaces for the arts.

The last two weeks of the residency will see an exhibition -- a physical/virtual culmination of the three design projects/installations worked on. We will also design specific events around this exhibition.

We hope this exhibition will be a launch pad for conversations around repurposed spaces for the arts, not just with a general audience but also with specific members of the community who have the resources to bring these ideas to fruition.

To know more about the project, the participating artists and the mentors click here.

Home for Dance

HFD Nov Goethe-Institut Kolkata and Pickle Factory Dance Foundation

Home for Dance ist ein Residenzprojekt, in dem Bewegungskünstler:innen und Architekt:innen/Visuelle Gestalter:innen am Aufbau einer idealen Heimat für den Tanz arbeiten - ein Zuhause, das die verschiedenen Elemente von Bewegungspraxis und Performanz zum Ausdruck bringt und diese mit dem Ethos und den Dynamiken Kolkatas verknüpft.

Ausgehend von dieser Verbindung zwischen den Menschen und ihrer Umgebung sollen Sie die Möglichkeit bekommen, einen Raum zu schaffen, dem sich Tänzer:innen wirklich zugehörig fühlen.

Das Residenzprojekt möchte die Diskussion über den Aufbau eines dauerhaften Veranstaltungsortes (oder eines Zuhauses für den Tanz) ausweiten, indem eine Vielzahl an Visionen und Ideen herangezogen sowie häufig übersehene Aspekte wie Struktur, Design und Atmosphäre eines solchen Raums in den Vordergrund gerückt werden.

Fünf Mentor:innen begleiten die Bewerber:innen im gesamten Verlauf des Residenzprojekts: drei indische Mentor:innen aus Architektur, Kulturbetrieb und Tanz sowie zwei deutsche Mentor:innen aus den Bereichen Bewegungspraxis und der Umgestaltung von Kunsträumen.

In den letzten beiden Wochen des Residenzprojekts wird eine Ausstellung gezeigt, die den physischen/virtuellen Höhepunkt der drei erarbeiteten Designprojekte und -installationen bilden soll. In Anlehnung an die Ausstellung sind zudem weitere Veranstaltungen mit dem Schwerpunkt Design geplant.

Wir hoffen, dass die Ausstellung einen Ausgangspunkt für Gespräche über umfunktionierte Kunsträume bieten kann - nicht nur für ein allgemeines Publikum, sondern auch für besondere Mitglieder der Gemeinschaft, durch deren Einsatz diese Ideen zum Leben erweckt werden.

Weitere Informationen über das Projekt, die teilnehmenden Künstler und den Mentor finden Sie hier.