Docu-Forum Returns Hridoy Bosot - A Home for my Heart

Hridoy Bosot 511 © CHERRYPIX MOVIES

Wed, 25.05.2022

18:30

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

A film by Sankha

Duration: 63 minutes, 2022, India, Bengali with English Subtitle

An intimate portrayal of Sudeb Suvana, a transgender, who undergoes Gender Affirmative Surgery in order to negotiate the conflict of body and mind. This decision creates turmoil in her family, who fear societal backlash. As love remains elusive as always, Sudeb realizes that the surgery could not change her destiny as transgender, forcing her to reconcile with the reality anew.

Sankha © Sankha SANKHA

Sankha has studied editing in Satyajit Ray Film & Television Institute, Kolkata. He has participated in Berlin Talent Campus 2010. Films edited by him have been screened in major festivals including Berlin, Toronto, BFI London, IDFA, Goteborg, Busan, Hong Kong, DokLeipzig, Germany and Museum of Modern Arts (NY) and has won several awards around the world. He turned to direction with ‘Dui Dhuranir Golpo’ (In-between Days, 2012), a documentary on the transgender community of Kolkata. It was screened at CPH:DOX, Yamagata, Docpoint Helsinki, Astra Film Festival, Vancouver Queer Film Festival and won Best Documentary Award in Kolkata International Film Festival 2014. His second documentary ‘The Wind in the Maruwa Field’ was selected in Indian Panorama and screened at IFFI Goa 2016. ‘Hridoy Bosot - A Home for My Heart’ has been mentored and pitched at Dhaka Doc Lab 2017, Docedge Kolkata 2019 and Goodpitch India 2020. The film premiered at the Jio MAMI Mumbai Film Festival 2022 and won Special Mention Award at Signs Film Festival Kerala, organized by Federation of Film Societies.

FESTIVALS & AWARDS:

Jio MAMI Mumbai Film Festival 2022
Special Mention, Signs Film Festival, Kerala 2022

The screening will be followed by a moderated discussion between the filmmaker Sankha, the protagonist Sudeb Suvana and Anindya Hajra.

ANINDYA HAJRA 

Anindya Hajra is a transfeminist, transgender rights and social justice activist based in Calcutta, India whose relationship with transfeminisms has spanned about two decades. In 1998 she co-founded Pratyay Gender Trust, one of the early community led collectives in India that became a support space for gender non-conforming and transgender persons facing harassment, stigma and violence for their gender identity/ expression.

This programme is open to all on a first come first served basis.
COVID protocols applied.

 

Back

Docu-Forum Returns Hridoy Bosot - A Home for my Heart

Hridoy Bosot 511 © CHERRYPIX MOVIES

Mi, 25.05.2022

18:30

Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata

Ein Film von Sankha

Dauer: 63 Minuten, 2022, Indien, Bengali mit englischen Untertiteln

Ein sehr persönliches Portrait von Sudeb Suyana, einer Transgender-Person, die sich einer geschlechtsangleichenden Operation unterzieht, um den Konflikt zwischen Körper und Geist zu überwinden. Diese Entscheidung bringt ihre Familie in Aufruhr, die gesellschaftliche Folgen befürchtet. Während die Liebe sich verflüchtigt, erkennt Sudeb, dass der operative Eingriff ihr Schicksal als Transgender nicht verändern kann und sie stattdessen dazu zwingt, sich erneut mit der Realität zu versöhnen.

Sankha © Sankha SANKHA

Sankha belegte den Studiengang Montage am Satyajit Ray Film & Television Institute, Kolkata. Er nahm außerdem am Berlin Talent Campus 2010 teil. Die von ihm bearbeiteten Filme wurden auf den wichtigsten Festivals u.a. in Berlin, Toronto, BFI London, IDFA, Göteborg, Busan, Hong Kong, DokLeipzig und dem Museum of Modern Arts in New York gezeigt und erhielten zahlreiche Preise weltweit. Mit dem Film ‚Dui Dhuranir Golpo’ (Die Tage dazwischen, 2012), eine Dokumentation über Kolkatas Transgender-Szene, wandte er sich der Regie zu. Der Film wurde auf dem CPH:DOX, Yamagata, Docpoint Helsinki, Astra Film Festival und dem Vancouver Queer Film Festival ausgestrahlt und gewann auf dem Kolkata International Film Festival 2014 die Auszeichnung für ‚Bester Dokumentarfilmʼ. Seine zweite Dokumentation ‚The Wind in the Maruwa Field’ wurde für das Indian Panorama ausgewählt und auf dem IFFI Goa 2016 gezeigt. ‚Hridoy Bosot - A Home for My Heart’ wurde auf dem Dhaka Doc Lab 2017, Docedge Kolkata 2019 und Goodpitch India 2020 begleitet und entworfen. Der Film feierte seine Premiere auf dem Jio MAMI Mumbai Film Festival 2022 und erhielt den Special Mention Award auf dem Signs Film Festival Kerala, organisiert von der Federation of Film Societies.

FESTIVALS & AUSZEICHNUNGEN:

Jio MAMI Mumbai Film Festival 2022
Special Mention, Signs Film Festival, Kerala 2022

Im Anschluss an die Vorführung findet eine moderierte Diskussion mit dem Regisseur Sankha, der Protagonist:in Sudeb Suvana und Anindya Hajra statt.

ANINDYA HAJRA 

Anindya Hajra ist eine Transfeminist:in sowie Aktivist:in für Transgender-Rechte und soziale Gerechtigkeit aus Kolkata, die sich bereits seit mehr als zwei Jahrzehnten mit Transfeminismen beschäftigt. 1998 war sie Mitbegründer:in des Pratyay Gender Trust, eines der ersten gemeinschaftsgeführten Kollektive in Indien, das Transgender- und nicht-genderkonforme Personen unterstützt, die aufgrund ihrer Gender-Identität/Ausdrucksform diskriminiert und stigmatisiert werden oder Gewalt ausgesetzt sind.

Das Programm ist offen für alle, die Platzanzahl ist jedoch begrenzt.
Es gelten die gängigen COVID-Hygieneregeln. 

 

Zurück