THE IDEA OF DEMOCRACY

History for Peace © Seagull Foundation for the Arts

Thu, 04.08.2022 -
Sat, 06.08.2022

09:30 - 17:30

Tollygunge Club Kolkata

The Annual History for Peace Conference

The term democracy originates from the Greek word dēmokratiā which drew itself from the terms dēmos (‘people’) and kratos (‘rule’). Thus, a democracy draws its strength solely from the people.

The 1789 storming of the Bastille during the French Revolution, the Springtime of the People—1848 Revolutions across Europe, the 1918 women’s Suffrage movement in Britain, the 1989 Tiananmen Square protests, the 2011 Arab Spring—these are historically some of the biggest struggles that have seen the world mobilize and rise in defense of the idea of the democracy. What is so powerful about this idea of democracy, why does it resonate so strongly with people’s struggle across time and space?

On the other hand, historically, every few decades the world has also witnessed the rise of authoritarian rule and the backsliding of Democracy. This is one such time, when increasingly we are witnessing more countries moving towards authoritarianism than at any other point in the recent past. The optimism and the triumph of Democracy that the world witnessed at the dawn of the 21st century has rapidly diminished.

What are the patterns and conditions of democratic backsliding? How does civil society resist the encroachment of this rapidly shrinking civic space? What is the role of print/electronic media and social media in the rise of populism? What is the role of the judiciary in upholding the rule of law? How has the ‘new normal’ of Covid 19 impacted the state of democracy worldwide? Above all, what can education institutes do to instill democratic values in young minds? What can educators do to inspire active citizenship?

‘History for Peace’ conference’ is initiated by The Seagull Foundation for the Arts, supported by Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata.

Speakers include: Romila Thapar, Krishna Kumar, Arun Thiruvengadam, Sudipta Sen, Sundar Sarukkai, Anurag Bhaskar, Apoorvanand, Arvind Narrain, TM Krishna, Shahnaz Khan, Shivangi Jaiswal and Smita Bhattacharya.

For details about the speakers and the complete schedule of the conference kindly click here.

Entry to this programme is by registration only.

 

Back

DIE IDEE DER DEMOKRATIE

History for Peace © Seagull Foundation for the Arts

Do, 04.08.2022 –
Sa, 06.08.2022

09:30 – 17:30

Tollygunge Club Kolkata

Die jährliche ‚History for Peace‘ Konferenz

Der Begriff Demokratie hat seinen Ursprung im griechischen Wort dēmokratiā, das sich wiederum aus den Worten dēmos (‚Volk‛) und kratos (‚Herrschaft‛) zusammensetzt. Eine Demokratie schöpft ihre Kraft demnach einzig aus dem Volk.

Der Sturm auf die Bastille 1789 im Zuge der Französischen Revolution, die europaweiten Revolutionen von 1848, der Kampf um das Frauenwahlrecht 1918 in Großbritannien, die Proteste am Tiananmen Square 1989, der Arabische Frühling 2011—dies sind einige der größten Aufstände, in denen die Welt sich erhob, um für die Verteidigung demokratischer Ideen zu kämpfen. Doch was ist so mächtig an dieser Idee der Demokratie und warum erzeugt sie über verschiedene Zeiten und Räume hinweg eine solche Resonanz in den Aufständen verschiedener Völker?

Gleichzeitig wird die Welt aus historischer Sicht alle paar Jahrzehnte Zeuge von aufsteigenden autoritären Regimen und der Verdrängung der Demokratie. Zurzeit befinden wir uns in einer Phase, in der so viele Länder wie nie zuvor auf den Autoritarismus zusteuern. Der Optimismus und Siegeszug der Demokratie, der zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts spürbar war, hat rapide nachgelassen.

Durch welche Muster und Bedingungen zeichnet sich der Rückgang demokratischer Strukturen aus? Wie wehrt sich die Zivilgesellschaft gegen den immer schneller verschwindenden bürgerlichen Raum? Welche Rolle spielen Print- und elektronische Medien sowie Social Media? Welche Rolle spielt das Gerichtswesen in der Aufrechterhaltung von Rechtsstaatlichkeit? Inwiefern hat sich die ‚neue Normalität‛ von Covid-19 auf den Zustand der Demokratie weltweit ausgewirkt? Und vor allem: Was können Bildungsinstitutionen tun, um Kindern und Jugendlichen demokratische Werte beizubringen? Auf welche Weise können Pädagog:innen zu einer aktiven Bürgerschaft inspirieren?  

Die Konferenz ,History for Peace' ist von der Seagull Foundation for the Arts initiiert und vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Kolkata unterstützt.

Redner:innen sind: Romila Thapar, Krishna Kumar, Arun Thiruvengadam, Sudipta Sen, Sundar Sarukkai, Anurag Bhaskar, Apoorvanand, Arvind Narrain, TM Krishna, Shahnaz Khan, Shivangi Jaiswal und Smita Bhattacharya.

Für Details zu den Rednern und das Gesamtprogramm der Konferenz klicken Sie bitte hier.

Der Eintritt zu diesem Programm ist nur nach Anmeldung möglich.

 

Zurück