Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Seagull Books - GI Mumbai© Seagull Books

Glimpses into some must-read books
Readings in the Shed - Blurbs

Goethe-Institut Mumbai presents readings of excerpts from English translations of selected contemporary German-language literature in the form of short films. These books and many more are available in Goethe-Institut’s free digital e-library Onleihe.

Readings in the Shed is an initiative about the written word. It seeks to explore text that has originated from various parts of the world. It places the same in a performance by an artist who reads these texts through his life experience and perspective. The travails of the word along with the experiences of the artist make the text relevant to all audiences that witness it.

Founded by Naveen Kishore in 1982, Seagull Books is an independent publishing house specializing in books on art, theatre, cinema and academic titles on culture and society. Since 2005, Seagull Books London Limited has ventured into English translations of fiction and non-fiction stories by African, European, Asian, and Latin American writers.

Goethe-Institut has collaborated with Seagull books to bring to its patrons content-rich, contemporary German-language literature in English. Naveen Kishore has been editing this series of books since 2009. Most of the book covers have been designed by Sunandini Banerjee.

The Passport by Herta Müller © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumba, Photo: film still

The Passport by Herta Müller

From the winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature 2009, The Passport is a beautiful, haunting novel whose subject is a German village in Romania caught between the stifling hopelessness of Ceausescu's dictatorship and the glittering temptations of the West. Stories from the past are woven together with the problems Windisch, the village miller, faces after he applies for permission to migrate to West Germany. Herta Müller describes with poetic attention the dreams and superstitions, conflicts and oppression of a forgotten region, the Banat, in the Danube Plain. In sparse, lyrical language, Herta Müller captures the forlorn plight of a trapped people. This edition is translated by Martin Chalmers, with a new foreword by Paul Bailey.

Blurbs: Prose © Seagull Books

Prose by Thomas Bernhard

The Austrian playwright, novelist and poet Thomas Bernhard is acknowledged as among the major writers of our time.The seven stories in this collection capture Bernhard’s distinct darkly comic voice and vision—often compared to Kafka and Musil—commenting on a corrupted world.

Blurbs: Correspondence by Ingeborg Bachmann & Paul Celan © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumba, Photo: film still

Correspondence by Ingeborg Bachmann & Paul Celan

It was the post world war era. Ingeborg's voice was at the brink of bursting upon German literature. Paul, a survivor of a labour camp, had published Death Fugue, one of the most important poems of the Holocaust. Perhaps it was their stark different backgrounds. Perhaps it was their shared ideologies. Or, perhaps love needed no reason. Correspondence by Ingeborg Bachmann & Paul Celan celebrates a love that transcended separation, changed form and lived on.

Till Day You Do Part Or A Question of Light © Till day you do part - Seagull Books, Bis Daß der Tag - Suhrkamp

Till Day You Do Part Or A Question of Light

Described as an answer to or at least an echo of Samuel Beckett’s Krapp’s Last Tape?, Till Day You Do Part Or A Question of Light, by esteemed Austrian playwright and novelist Peter Handke, is a monologue delivered by the “she” in Beckett’s play. It is Handke at his best, evidencing the great skill, psychological acumen, and vision for which his work has been celebrated.

The nameless day © Suhrkamp Verlag | Seagull books

Friedrich Ani | Translation: Alexander Booth
The nameless day

After years on the job, police detective Jakob Franck has retired. Finally, the dead-with all their mysteries-will no longer have any claim on him. Or so he thinks. On a cold autumn afternoon, a case he thought he'd long put behind him returns to his life-and turns it upside down...


 

What darkness was ©Seagull Books

Inka Parei
What darkness was

An old man close to death. A suspicious stranger on the stairs. The sounds of the endless night unsettle him, triggering images, questions and memories - the impressions of the day just past and his life. The old man wracks his brain over why he inherited the building he now lives in, why he left the city that was his home for so long: Is he here voluntarily? What brought the stranger here?

Urs Widmer - readings in the shed © Goethe-Institute | Photo: still of the film

Urs Widmer
On Life, Death, and This and That of the Rest

The Lectures on Poetics Series at the University of Frankfurt VI has hosted many illustrious speakers at its lectern, including Ingeborg Bachmann, Theodor Adorno, and Heinrich Böll. At the beginning of 2007, Urs Widmer—described by the Independent as ‘one of the living greats of Swiss literature’—spoke to more than twelve hundred students and enthusiasts, sharing the sum of his understandings of poets and their timeless creations.

Christa Wolf: One Day a Year, 2001-2011 ©Seagull Books

Christa Wolf
One day a year

During a 1960 interview, East German writer Christa Wolf was asked a curious question: would she describe in detail what she did on September 27th? Fascinated by considering the significance of a single day over many years, Wolf began keeping a detailed diary of September 27th, a practice which she carried on for more than fifty years until her death in 2011.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Seagull Books - GI Mumbai© Seagull Books

Bücher, die gelesen werden sollten
Readings in the Shed - Blurbs

Das Goethe-Institut Mumbai präsentiert in der Form von Kurzfilmen theatralische Vorlesungen ausgewählter englischer Übersetzungen von zeitgenössischer deutschsprachiger Literatur. Diese und viele weitere Bücher sind in der kostenlosen digitalen E-Bibliothek "Onleihe" des Goethe-Instituts erhältlich.

"Readings in the Shed" ist eine Initiative, die sich mit dem geschriebenen Wort auseinandersetzt. Texte, die aus verschiedenen Teilen der Welt stammen, werden untersucht und entdeckt. Künstler setzen sich gleichermaßen mit den Texten auseinander, indem sie diese Texte mit Hilfe ihrer eigenen Lebenserfahrung und Perspektive verkörpern. Die Schwierigkeiten des Wortes zusammen mit den Erfahrungen des Künstlers machen den Text für alle Zuschauer, die ihn sehen und hören, zugänglich.

Seagull Books wurde 1982 von Naveen Kishore gegründet. Der Verlag ist unabhängig und hat sich auf Bücher über Kunst, Theater, Kino und akademische Titel der Kultur und Gesellschaft spezialisiert hat. Seit 2005 hat sich Seagull Books London Limited in die Sparte englischer Übersetzungen der Belletristik- und Sachgeschichten afrikanischer, europäischer, asiatischer und lateinamerikanischer Schriftsteller hineingewagt.

Das Goethe-Institut arbeitet mit Seagull-Books zusammen, um seinen Kunden inhaltsreiche, zeitgenössische deutschsprachige Literatur in englischer Sprache anzubieten. Naveen Kishore gestaltet diese Buchreihe seit 2009. Die meisten Buchumschläge wurden von Sunandini Banerjee entworfen.

Blurbs: Ingeborg Bachmann & Paul Celan: Der Briefwechsel © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumba, Foto: Filmausschnitt

Ingeborg Bachmann – Paul Celan: Der Briefwechsel.

Es war die Nachkriegszeit. Die Stimme von Ingeborg Bachmann stand kurz vor dem Ausbruch der deutschen Literatur. Paul, ein Überlebender eines Arbeitslagers, hatte die Todesfuge veröffentlicht, eines der wichtigsten Gedichte des Holocaust. Vielleicht waren es ihre ganz unterschiedlichen Hintergründe. Vielleicht waren es ihre gemeinsamen Ideologien. Oder vielleicht brauchte die Liebe keinen Grund. Die Korrespondenz von Ingeborg Bachmann & Paul Celan feiert eine Liebe, die über die Trennung hinausging, sich veränderte und weiterlebte.

Bis Daß der Tag - Suhrkamp © Till day you do part - Seagull Books, Bis Daß der Tag - Suhrkamp

Bis daß der Tag euch scheidet oder Eine Frage des Lichts

Der angesehene österreichische Dramatiker und Schriftsteller Peter Handke beschreibt einen Monolog einer Frau -  „Sie“ - in Becketts Stück als Antwort auf oder zumindest als Echo von Samuel Becketts Krapps letztem Band. Dieses Buch präsentiert Handke von seiner besten Seite und zeigt die große Fähigkeit, den psychologischen Scharfsinn und die Vision, für die seine Arbeit gefeiert wurde.

Der namenlose Tag © Suhrkamp Verlag | Seagull books

Friedrich Ani | Übersetzung: Alexander Booth
Der namenlose Tag

Nach Jahren im Einsatz als Polizist tritt Jakob Franck in den Ruhestand. Die Toten werden - mit all ihren Geheimnissen - ja nun keinen Anspruch mehr auf ihn haben. So denkt Jakob Franck zumindest. An einem kalten Herbstnachmittag dagegen kehrt ein Fall, von dem er dachte, er hätte ihn lange hinter sich gelassen, in sein Leben zurück - und stellt ihn auf den Kopf ...

Was Dunkelheit war ©Seagull Books

Inka Parei
Was Dunkelheit war

Ein alter Mann, der dem Tod nahe ist. Ein verdächtiger Fremder auf der Treppe. Die Geräusche der endlosen Nacht beunruhigen ihn und lösen Bilder, Fragen und Erinnerungen aus - die Eindrücke des vergangenen Tages und seines Lebens. Der alte Mann macht sich Gedanken darüber, warum er das Gebäude geerbt hat, in dem er jetzt lebt, warum er die Stadt, in der er so lange lebte, verlassen hat: Ist er freiwillig hier? Was hat den Fremden hierher gebracht?

Urs Widmer - readings in the shed © Goethe-Institute | Foto: Filmszene

Urs Widmer
Vom Leben, vom Tod und vom Übrigen auch dies und das

Die Vortragsreihe "Poetische Serie" an der Universität Frankfurt hat viele berühmte Redner an ihrem Rednerpult empfangen, darunter Ingeborg Bachmann, Theodor Adorno und Heinrich Böll. Anfang 2007 sprach Urs Widmer - von der Zeitung "Independent" als „einer der lebenden Größen der Schweizer Literatur“ bezeichnet - mit mehr als zwölfhundert Studenten und Enthusiasten und teilte die Summe seines Verständnisses von Dichtern und ihren zeitlosen Werken mit dem Publikum.

Christa Wolf: One Day a Year, 2001-2011 ©Seagull Books

Christa Wolf
Ein Tag im Jahr

Während eines Interviews im Jahre1960 wurde der ostdeutschen Schriftstellerin Christa Wolf eine merkwürdige Frage gestellt: Würde sie detailliert beschreiben, was sie am 27. September getan hat? Wolf war fasziniert von der Bedeutung eines einzigen Tages über viele Jahre hinweg und begann, ein detailliertes Tagebuch ab dem 27. September zu führen, eine Praxis, die sie mehr als fünfzig Jahre lang bis zu ihrem Tod im Jahr 2011 praktizierte.

Top