Conference in Pune | 28.06.2019 Intercultural Intelligence and Global Mobility

Conference ICGM, Pune 2019
© Goethe-Institut Mumbai

‘Intercultural Intelligence and Global Mobility’ was the unique theme of the conference organised by the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan, Mumbai on Friday, June 28 at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Pune, in collaboration with the Indo German Chamber of Commerce and with the support of the Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mumbai.
Mira Dalvi represented the Indo German Chamber of Commerce, Pune while the Guest of Honour was Marja-Einig from the German Consulate, Mumbai at the conference.

Recognising the importance of working in an increasingly transnational and transcultural business environment, Vaishali Karmarkar, Head of Intercultural Management, South Asia from the Goethe-Institut, Mumbai propounded that leaders today must possess a mental mobility and flexibility to not only appreciate but also adapt to diverse mind-sets, communication methods as well as working styles prevalent around the globe. 

Consequently, the idea of the conference revolved around maintaining effective virtual communication across cultures in the corporate world, best practices with regards to process integration and human resource management as well as the risks and challenges of working in an intercultural environment. The essence of the talk was eloquently summarised by three esteemed guests, Ms Freya Barua who works as part of Talent Development in the Culture and Language Initiatives at TCS, Dr Arnee Schneemann, Director of Engineering and Research at MTU India, as well as Mr Ulrich Öfele, Director Hoffmann Quality Tools.

Konferenz: IIGM - World Café © Goethe-Institut Mumbai
The interactive style of the conference served to empower the audience leading to greatly insightful discussions on the common perceptions and realities of virtual communication, people and process integration in an Indo-German context as well as challenges faced by Indian companies seeking to set up business in Germany and German companies in India.  

By offering both, Intercultural Awareness Training juxtaposed with Business Communication Language courses, Mrs Karmarkar believes that Goethe-Institut is in a unique position to combat many of the challenges posed by an intercultural world. A globally reputed brand name with a rich history of 60 years, Goethe-Institut provides a huge resource of certified intercultural facilitators from the Munich Chamber of Commerce and customised programmes to meet the needs of every corporate, be it Relocation Training, India Sensitisation, Germany Sensitisation or Intercultural Competency Training for leaders, managers as well as new recruits.

Konferenz in Pune | 28.06.2019 Interkulturelle Intelligenz und Globale Mobilität

Konferenz ICGM, Pune 2019
© Goethe-Institut Mumbai

"Interkulturelle Intelligenz und globale Mobilität" war das herausragende Thema der Konferenz, die das Goethe-Institut / Max Müller Bhavan, Mumbai in Zusammenarbeit mit der Deutsch-Indischen Handelskammer und mit Unterstützung des Generalkonsulats der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Mumbai am Freitag, 28. Juni im Crowne Plaza Hotel Pune organisierte. Mira Dalvi, Vertreterin der Indo-Deutsche Handelskammer Pune, und Ehrengast Frau Marja-Einig, Deutsches Konsulat Mumbai, waren auf der Konferenz vertreten.

Geschäftsbeziehungen stehen in einem zunehmend transnationalen und transkulturellen Geschäftsumfeld. Frau Vaishali Karmarkar, Leiterin des Bereichs Interkulturelles Management, Südasien des Goethe-Instituts in Mumbai,vertritt die Ansicht, dass Führungskräfte heute eine mentale Mobilität und Flexibilität besitzen müssen, um nicht nur dievielfältige Denkweisen, Kommunikationsmethoden und Arbeitsstile, die auf der ganzen Welt vorherrschen zu schätzen, sondern sich auch daran anzupassen. 
 
Die Hauptthemen der Konferenz beschäftigten sich mit der Aufrechterhaltung einer effektiven virtuellen Kommunikation zwischen den Kulturen in der Unternehmenswelt, mit Best Practices in Bezug auf Prozessintegration und Personalmanagement sowie mit den Risiken und Herausforderungen der Arbeit in einem interkulturellen Umfeld. Die Kernpunkte der Konferenz wurden von drei eminenten Sprechern, Frau Freya Barua, die als Teil der Talententwicklung in den Kultur- und Sprachinitiativen von TCS arbeitet, Dr. Arnee Schneemann, Leiterin für Ingenieurwesen und Forschung, MTU India, sowie Herrn Ulrich Öfele, Leiter von Hoffmann Quality Tools, eloquent zusammengefasst.

Conference: IIGM - World Café © Goethe-Institut Mumbai
Der interaktive Stil der Konferenz befähigte die Teilnehmer zu sehr aufschlussreichen Diskussionen über die gemeinsamen Wahrnehmungen und Realitäten der virtuellen Kommunikation, der Integration von Menschen und Prozessen in einem deutsch-indischen Kontext sowie den Herausforderungen für indische Unternehmen, die sich in Deutschland ansiedeln möchten sowie deutschen Unternehmen dich sich in Indien gerne plazieren möchten.

Frau Karmarkar ist der Ansicht, dass das Goethe-Institut in einer einzigartigen Position ist, um viele der Herausforderungen einer interkulturellen Welt zu meistern. Das Goethe-Institut ist ein weltweit anerkannter Markenname mit einer langen Geschichte von 60 Jahren. Es bietet eine Vielzahl zertifizierter interkultureller Vermittler an, die von der Handelskammer München anerkannt sind sowie maßgeschneiderte Programme, die auf die Bedürfnisse jedes Unternehmens zugeschnitten sind, sei es Umzugstraining, Sensibilisierung für Indien, Deutschland Sensibilisierung oder interkulturelles Kompetenztraining für Führungskräfte, Manager als auch Nachwuchskräfte.