Conference | 29.11.2019 Culture Fit – German and Indian SMEs

Culture Fit © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai „The Culture-Fit” – German and Indian SMEs was the unique theme of the conference organised by the Goethe-Institut, Mumbai on Friday, November 29, 2019 at the MCCIA Pune, in collaboration with the Mahratta Chamber of Commerce, Industries & Agriculture and with the support of the Consulate General of the Federal Republic of Germany, Mumbai.
 
In the last two decades German companies have expanded their global footprint extensively by entering the Indian market. However, they are cautious in their outlook while deliberating their investment strategies because of the complexities of setting up business in India. Similarly, Indian business in Germany too face problems, oftentimes due to lack of intercultural sensitivity. The core of the conference thus revolved around the problems and challenges faced by German and Indian small and medium scale industries in India and Germany respectively.

The conference which brought together some of the best minds from the industry including key decision makers and leaders such as Mr Ulrich Öfele from Hoffmann Tools, Mr Bhaskar Som from IRR Advisory and Mr Mohit Raina of Raina Industries among others, spoke not only about challenges in cooperation between German and Indian businesses, but also the way forward in creating mutual trust and confidence through best practices in areas such as recruitment, retention, know-how transfer, soft-skill training and inter-cultural communication.

Konferenz | 29.11.2019 Culture Fit – German and Indian SMEs

Culture Fit © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai "The Culture Fit" für deutsche und indische kleine bis mittelständische Unternehmen war das einzigartige Thema der Konferenz, die am Freitag, den 29. November 2019, im MCCIA Pune stattgefunden hat. Die Konferenz wurde vom Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai in Zusammenarbeit mit der Mahratta Chamber of Commerce, Industries & Agriculture und mit der Unterstützung des deutschen Generalkonsulats Mumbai organisiert.

In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten haben deutsche Unternehmen ihre globale Präsenz durch ihren Eintritt in den indischen Markt erheblich ausgebaut. Da eine Unternehmensgründung in Indien jedoch sehr komplex ist, sind sie vorsichtig, was ihre Anlagestrategien betrifft. Gleichzeitig sehen sich auch indische Firmen mit Problemen in Deutschland konfrontiert, die oftmals auf eine mangelhafte interkulturelle Sensibilität zurückzuführen sind. Folglich drehte sich der Kern der Konferenz, um die Probleme und Herausforderungen von indischen und deutschen kleinen bis mittelständischen Unternehmen im jeweils anderen Land. 

Für die Konferenz kamen Führungskräfte und Entscheidungsträger der Branche, wie unter anderem Herr Ulrich Öfele von Hoffmann Tools, Herr  Bhaskar Som von IRR Advisory und Herr Mohit Raina von Raina Industries, zusammen. Die Teilnehmer*innen sprachen neben den Herausforderungen in der Zusammenarbeit von Deutschland und Indien auch über einen Weg, wie gegenseitiges Vertrauen durch Best Practices in Bereichen wie Rekrutierung, Bindung, Know-how-Transfer, Soft-Skill-Training und interkulturelle Kommunikation aufgebaut werden kann.