Cultural Management in the Digital Age
Mumbai

Cultural Management in the Digital Age © Goethe-Institut

In association with its head office in Munich Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai is initiating a two-year project (2020-21) on “Cultural Management in the Digital Age”. It will also include contributions from Goethe- Instituts Minsk and Shanghai.  

The project aims to build on existing work done by Goethe-Institut on trainings for cultural managers and develop cultural management expertise. It will involve setting up a curriculum for a summer school with focus on Cultural Management in the Digital Age. Based on the findings of the summer school, a relevant publication will be produced as part of a book sprint and made available as an Open Educational Resource (OER). 

The key objectives of this project are:  

  1. Curriculum development and delivery of an international practice- oriented training programme
  2. The development of digital training materials and a final publication to be deployed as an open resource standard resource/ textbook (OER)  
  3. Development of digital skills in cultural managers and providing them with relevant tools, resources and networking opportunities
  4. To make the subject more visible in the field of cultural management in general.  The current need of the global cultural sector is to adapt to the digital universe, and engage in digital literacy practices. The summer school in 2021 will help establish a digital cultural management programme relevant to our times.

Phases of the Project

The project is divided into three phases:

The curriculum development will have core curriculum themes and subjects and relevant references, cases and reading material. But also the question: what comes after digitality? The formats will be developed and the materials compiled as a further step. The planned contents, references, etc. will be documented in a kind of module manual, thus writing down teaching and learning objectives and setting the concept as a kind of guideline. In the second year, the curriculum will be transferred to a summer school. 

The summer school is initially planned as a four-day classroom advanced training course. The developed subjects will be incorporated in the summer school as modules/blocks. The target group includes people with at least three years’ professional experience who are between 26 and 30 years old - digital natives who should have been working in roles aligned to using digital communication, products and services as part of their profile. 

The results of the curriculum development and of the first summer school will be compiled – also in the second year – by holding a book sprint. This means that up to six experts will gather to draw up a collaborative publication of the subject matter, which will then be made available online as an Open Education Resource. The close cooperation between theory and practice would be reflected in the publication by including both theoretical and practical approaches to Cultural Management in the Digital Age.


The first leg of this project began in July 2020 with a series of four internal and public workshops.

Cultural Management Experts

The following experts form the Advisory Council for the project will jointly develop the curriculum.  

Faculty Co-Chair at Creative & Cultural Businesses Programme (CCBP) at IIM Ahmedabad.  

Anchal has 32 years of entrepreneurial, advisory and academic experience in creative and lifestyle industries. Anchal has been working on strategy foundation for top business groups in India such as Titan Co and Aditya Birla Group. He is a member of the FICCI Skills Development Committee as well as the Task Force on Cluster based model of job creation. He is now the founding partner of Val-More Action Advisory, a holistic end-to-end business solution for Lifestyle and FMCG businesses.  

Founder & Director of Jaaga.in  

Archana spent a decade studying in the arts and design area, and then worked as a Design Researcher at Microsoft Research India. She is a Fellow of the prestigious Clore Leadership Progam, UK as well as an Art Think South Asia Fellow. The Times of India selected her as a future cultural leader of Bangalore. Time Out featured her as a prime contributor to the city’s cultural landscape. Through Jaaga, Archana invests in the cultural economy of India.  

Co-founder and board member of the Centre for Internet & Society in Bangalore, India; professor at the Institute of Culture and Aesthetics of Digital Media at Leuphana University in Germany; Dean - Research at ArtEZ.  

Nishant has academic expertise in fields such as Digital Humanities, Computer-Human Interaction and Information and Communication Technologies for Development. He conducts work on the cutting edge of technology, identity and social and political movements. He is focused on the question of how we can remain human in a technological environment. He has dozens of publications to his name.  

Independent Researcher and Founder, Design Beku  

Padmini (PhD, Edinburgh) founded Design Beku (designbeku.in) in 2018, a collective that works towards making design and technology local, decolonial and ethical. While in the UK, Padmini (along with Peggy Hughes & Claire Stewart) founded and ran The Electric Bookshop (www.electricbookshop.org) a very successful quarterly event hosted by New Media Scotland (2010-2014) exploring the future of the written word, creativity and technology.  

She was a lead researcher for the Consortium for Research into the Arts, and Technology in Scotland, funded by NESTA UK, to understand the potential offered by digital technologies in the creative industries, including theatre, tourism & cultural heritage. Padmini joined the Srishti Institute of Art, Design and Technology in 2015, where she established the first Masters programme in Digital Humanities in India.  

Professor, IDC IIT Bombay  

Professor Venkatesh Rajamanickam is a faculty member at The Information Design Lab at IDC, IIT Bombay, where theory-based visual design and analytical methods are used to discover and validate insights from data, and translate them into systems, methods, and frameworks that help in mindfully created human-information interactions.

Professor Venkatesh Rajamanickam teaches courses on Knowledge Organisation and Communication, Interface Design, Art and Design Fundamental 2D and Information Graphics and Visualisation. He completed his Bachelor of Architecture from R.E.C. Tiruchirappalli and his Master of Design and Visual Communications from IIT. He is in interested in Human-Computer interface design, data visualization, technology and learning, design history and affordable housing.

Kulturmanagement im digitalen Zeitalter
Mumbai

Kulturmanagement im Digitalen Zeitalter © Goethe-Institut

Das Goethe-Institut / Max Müller Bhavan Mumbai hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hauptsitz des Goethe-Instituts in München ein zweijähriges Projekt (2020-21) zum Thema „Kulturmanagement im digitalen Zeitalter“ initiiert. Das Projekt wird durch zusätzliche Beiträge der Goethe-Institute Minsk und Shanghai ergänzt und bereichert.

Das Ziel der gemeinsamen Initiative besteht darin die Expertise im Gebiet digitale Qualifizierungsangebote für Kulturschaffende weiter
 auszubauen und Fachwissen zum Kulturmanagement zu entwickeln. Gemeinsam mit den Goethe-Instituten und internationalen Partnern aus Theorie und Praxis wird 2020 das Curriculum für eine Summer School mit dem Themenschwerpunkt „Kulturmanagement im digitalen Zeitalter“ entwickelt. Im Anschluss erarbeitet ein Expert*innenteam in einem einwöchigen Book-Sprint eine Publikation, die als Open Education Ressource (OER) zur Verfügung gestellt wird.

Hauptziele des Projekts:

  1. Lehrplanentwicklung und Durchführung eines internationalen praxisorientierten Trainingsprogramms
  2. Die Entwicklung digitaler Schulungsmaterialien und eine Publikation, die als Open Education Resource / Textbook (OER) und Standardwerk eingesetzt werden soll.
  3. Entwicklung digitaler Fähigkeiten in Kulturmanagern und Bereitstellung relevanter Tools, Ressourcen und Networking-Möglichkeiten
  4. Das Thema im Bereich des Kulturmanagements allgemein sichtbarer machen.
  5. Der gegenwärtige Bedarf des globalen Kultursektors besteht darin, sich an das digitale Universum anzupassen und sich an Praktiken der digitalen Kompetenz zu beteiligen. Die Sommerschule im Jahr 2021 wird dazu beitragen, ein für unsere Zeit relevantes digitales Kulturmanagementprogramm zu etablieren.

Die Phasen des Projektes

Das Projekt ist in drei Phasen unterteilt:

Die Entwicklung eines Curriculum, das Kernthemen und -fächer des Lehrplans sowie relevante Referenzen, Fälle und Lesematerialien enthält. Aber auch die Frage: Was kommt nach der Digitalität? soll gestellt werden. In einem weiteren Schritt werden die Formate entwickelt und die Materialien zusammengestellt. Die geplanten Inhalte, Referenzen usw. werden in einer Art Modulhandbuch dokumentiert, wodurch Lehr- und Lernziele aufgeschrieben und das Konzept als eine Art Richtlinie festgelegt wird. Im zweiten Jahr soll das Curriculum in eine Summer School überführt werden.

Die Summer School ist eine 4-tägige Weiterbildung, die in Präsenz stattfindet. Die entwickelten Themen werden in Form von Modulen/Blöcken in die Summer school aufgenommen. Die Zielgruppe umfasst Personen im Alter von 26 bis 30 Jahren mit mindestens dreijähriger Berufserfahrung - Digital Natives, die in Positionen arbeiten sollten, die darauf ausgerichtet sind, digitale Kommunikation, Produkte und Dienstleistungen als Teil ihres Profils zu verwenden.

Die Ergebnisse aus der Curriculumsentwicklung und aus der ersten Summer School werden – ebenfalls im zweiten Jahr – in einem Book-Sprint zusammengetragen. Dabei kommen bis zu sechs Expert*innen zusammen, um eine kollaborative, themenbezogene Publikation zu erarbeiten, die dann im Sinne der Open Education Ressource (OER) online zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Die enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Theorie und Praxis sollte sich in der Publikation widerspiegeln, in dem sich sowohl theoretische, als auch praktische Zugänge zum Thema Kulturmanagement im digitalen Zeitalter finden lassen.

Der Auftakt dieses Projekts begann im Juli mit einer Serie von vier Workshops (teils intern / teils öffentlich).

Experten des Projektbeirates

Die folgenden Experten des Projektbeirates werden gemeinsam den Lehrplan entwickeln.

Co-Vorsitzender der Fakultät des "Creative & Cultural Businesses Program" (CCBP) am IIM Ahmedabad.


Anchal verfügt über 32 Jahre unternehmerische, beratende und akademische Erfahrungen in der Kreativ- und Lifestyle-Branche. Er hat an Strategie-Grundlagen für Top-Unternehmensgruppen in Indien wie Titan Co und Aditya Birla Group gearbeitet. Er ist Mitglied des FICCI Skills Development Committee sowie der Task Force zum Cluster-basierten Modell der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen. Heute ist er Gründungspartner von Val-More Action Advisory, einer ganzheitlichen End-to-End-Geschäftslösung für Lifestyle- und FMCG-Unternehmen.

Gründer und Direktor von Jaaga.in

Archana studierte über ein Jahrzehnt hinweg im Bereich Kunst und Design und arbeitete dann als Design Researcher bei Microsoft Research India. Sie ist Fellow des renommierten Clore Leadership Progam in Großbritannien sowie Art Think South Asia Fellow. Die Times of India wählte sie als zukünftige Kulturführerin von Bangalore aus. In Time Out trug sie maßgeblich zur Kulturlandschaft der Stadt bei. Über die Platform Jaaga investiert Archana in die Kulturwirtschaft Indiens.

Mitbegründer und Vorstandsmitglied des Zentrums für Internet & Gesellschaft in Bangalore, Indien; Professor am Institut für Kultur und Ästhetik digitaler Medien der Universität Leuphana in Deutschland; Dekan - Forschung bei ArtEZ.

Nishant verfügt über akademische Expertise in Bereichen wie Digital Humanities, Computer-Human-Interaktion sowie in der Entwicklung von  Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien. Er ist in den innovativen Bereich der Technologie, Identität sowie sozialer und politischer Bewegungen involviert. Nishant konzentriert sich auf die Frage, wie wir in einem technologischen Umfeld menschlich bleiben können. Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen tragen seinen Namen.

Unabhängiger Forscher und Gründer, Design Beku

Padmini (PhD, Edinburgh) gründete 2018 Design Beku (designbeku.in), ein Kollektiv, das sich dafür einsetzt, Design und Technologie lokal, dekolonial und ethisch zu gestalten. Während seines Aufenthalts in Großbritannien gründete und leitete Padmini (zusammen mit Peggy Hughes & Claire Stewart) The Electric Bookshop (www.electricbookshop.org), eine sehr erfolgreiche vierteljährliche Veranstaltung von New Media Scotland (2010-2014), die sich mit der Zukunft des geschriebenen Wortes befasste, mit Kreativität und Technologie.

Sie war leitende Forscherin für das von NESTA UK finanzierte Konsortium für Kunst- und Technologieforschung in Schottland, um das Potenzial digitaler Technologien in der Kreativbranche, einschließlich Theater, Tourismus und kulturellem Erbe, zu erforschen. Padmini trat 2015 dem Srishti-Institut für Kunst, Design und Technologie bei und gründete dafür das erste Masterstudium in Digital Humanities in Indien.

Professor, IDC IIT Bombay

Professor Venkatesh Rajamanickam ist Fakultätsmitglied am Information Design Lab am IDC, IIT Bombay. Die Fakultät arbeitet mit theoretischen visuellen Designs und analytischen Methoden, um Erkenntnisse aus Daten zu gewinnen, zu validieren und diese in Systeme, Methoden und Frameworks zu übersetzen, die in achtsam geschaffenen Mensch-Information-Interaktionen hilfreich sind.

Professor Venkatesh Rajamanickam unterrichtet Kurse über Wissensorganisation und -kommunikation, Interface Design, Kunst und Design, grundlegende 2D und Informationsgrafiken und Visualisierung. Er absolvierte seinen Bachelor of Architecture bei R.E.C. Tiruchirappalli und erwarb seinen Master of Design and Visual Communications vom IIT. Professor Rajamanickam interessiert sich für Human-Computer interface design, Datenvisualisierung, Technologie und Lernen, Designgeschichte und bezahlbaren Wohnraum.