About Gallery MMB

  • Gallery MMB - outside Photo: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Gallery MMB - outside
  • Gallery MMB - after the renovation Photo: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Gallery MMB - after the renovation
  • Gallery MMB - after the renovation Photo: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Gallery MMB - after the renovation
  • The Interior: PIX, Iran Issue, Gallery MMB / Pavement Gallery, 2014  © Philippe Calia
  • The Interior: PIX, Iran Issue, Gallery MMB / Pavement Gallery, 2014  © Philippe Calia
  • Calcutta: Chitpur Road Neighborhoods, Gallery MMB, 2014  © Foto: Peter Bialobrzeski
  • Calcutta: Chitpur Road Neighborhoods, Gallery MMB, 2014  © Foto: Peter Bialobrzeski
  • Fabrik - German Pavilion 2015 on tour, ifa © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhaven, Photo: Anil Rane
  • Art Space Germany - ifa exhibition, Mumbai 2017 © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhaven, Photo: Amruta Nemivant
Situated in the heart of the gallery district in Mumbai, Gallery MMB is a premium exhibition space belonging to the Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai. The 3000 square feet gallery was renovated in 2014 to enable the institute to host challenging and complex shows. In fact, the Mumbai institute is the only one in the South Asian region of Goethe-Institut to have such a large, well-appointed area at its disposal.
 
The primary focus of the gallery is contemporary art and photography. It aims to host exhibitions of critically acclaimed German artists and photographers, as well as selected Indian artists. It also features curated photography and design shows at regular intervals. There are satellite events, such as, lectures, panel discussions, film screenings, workshops, etc organised within the context of each presentation. These events are organised with the primary aim of generating discussions and involving students in the work of the institute.
 
In the short period since its inception, the gallery has enabled the institute to expand its visual arts programme. The institute has hosted solo exhibitions of contemporary artists like Amar Kanwar and Yael Bartana, as well as group shows in collaboration with german institutions like ZKM | Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe, Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IfA) and Museum Abteiburg, Mönchengladbach at Gallery MMB. The institute regularly collaborates with important Indian organisations like the National Gallery of Modern Art (NGMA) and Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya formerly named the Prince of Wales Museum of Western India (CSMVS) to promote its visual arts programme.
 
Apart from exhibitions, the institute has also initiated long term student exchange and curatorial projects keeping the gallery as a focal point. These programmes are in collaboration with National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad and the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst / Academy of Fine Arts (HGB), Leipzig.
 
The gallery was opened with the hope that it would not only be a space with a well-planned exhibition programme, but also be a hub for generating new interdisciplinary discussions and ideas. Recently the Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) mentioned the space as a meeting point for enthusiastic young people and intellectuals to discuss new trends in European and Indian art.


Floor plan of Gallery MMB:
Gallery MMB - Floor plan

Über die Galerie

  • Galerie MMB - Fassade Foto: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Galerie MMB - Fassade
  • Galerie MMB - nach der Renovierung Foto: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Galerie MMB - nach der Renovierung
  • Galerie MMB - nach der Renovierung Foto: Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai
    Galerie MMB - nach der Renovierung
  • The Interior: PIX, Iran Issue, Gallery MMB / Pavement Gallery, 2014  © Philippe Calia
  • The Interior: PIX, Iran Issue, Gallery MMB / Pavement Gallery, 2014  © Philippe Calia
  • Calcutta: Chitpur Road Neighborhoods, Gallery MMB, 2014  © Foto: Peter Bialobrzeski
  • Calcutta: Chitpur Road Neighborhoods, Gallery MMB, 2014  © Foto: Peter Bialobrzeski
  • Deutscher Pavillon der Biennale Venedig 2015 on tour, Ifa © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhaven, Foto: Anil Rane
  • Kunstraum Deutschland - ifa Ausstellung, Mumbai 2017 © Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhaven, Foto: Amruta Nemivant
Die dem Goethe-Institut / Max Mueller Bhavan Mumbai angehörige Gallery MMB befindet sich im Herzen des Galerienviertels im Süden Mumbais. Die 3000 Quadratmeter umfassende erstklassige Ausstellungsfläche ermöglicht es dem Institut, anspruchsvolle und komplexe Projekte durchzuführen. Das Institut in Mumbai ist das einzige in der Region Südasien, dem so große und professionell ausgestattete Ausstellungsräumlichkeiten zur Verfügung stehen.

Der Fokus der Galeriearbeit in Mumbai liegt auf zeitgenössischer Kunst und Fotografie. Dabei hat sich die Galerie vor allem auf Ausstellungen von bedeutenden deutschen Künstler*innen und Fotograf*innen sowie ausgewählter indischer Künstler*innen spezialisiert. Zusätzlich werden auch kuratierte Fotografie- und Design-Ausstellungen in regelmäßigen Abständen gezeigt. Im Rahmen der Veranstaltungen organisiert das Goethe-Institut Mumbai Zusatzprogramme, wie z.B. Vorträge, Podiumsdiskussionen, Filmvorführungen, Workshops usw. Diese Veranstaltungen wollen zur Diskussion anregen und Studierende in die Arbeit des Instituts mit einbeziehen.
 
Seit der Gründung der Galerie konnte das Institut in nur kurzer Zeit sein Programm für bildende Kunst erheblich erweitern: Zeitgenössische Künstler wie Amar Kanwar und Yael Bartana sowie verschiedene Gruppenausstellungen in Zusammenarbeit mit deutschen Institutionen wie dem ZKM | Zentrum für Kunst und Medien, Karlsruhe, dem Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IfA) und dem Museum Abteiburg, Mönchengladbach, konnten in der Galerie präsentiert werden. Das Goethe-Institut Mumbai arbeitet regelmäßig mit wichtigen indischen Organisationen wie dem National Gallery of Modern Art (NGMA) und dem Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj Vastu Sangrahalaya, das früher als Prince of Wales Museum von Westindien (CSMVS) bekannt war, zusammen, um seine Programme für bildende Künste zu fördern.
 
Neben den Ausstellungen hat das Institut auch einen langfristigen Studierendenaustausch und kuratorische Projekte mit der Galerie als Kontaktpunkt initiiert. Diese Programme werden in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Nationalen Institut for Design, Ahmedabad, und der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst in Leipzig durchgeführt.
 
Die Galerie wurde mit dem Ziel eröffnet, nicht nur als Raum für gut geplante Ausstellungsprogramme zur Verfügung zu stehen, sondern auch als ein Zentrum, das neue interdisziplinäre Diskussionen und Ideen anregt und fördert. Kürzlich beschrieb die Neue Zürcher Zeitung (NZZ) den Raum als einen Treffpunkt für begeisterte junge Menschen und Intellektuelle, die dort neue Tendenzen in der europäischen und indischen Kunst diskutieren und sich austauschen können.

Grundriss der Galerie MMB:
Gallery MMB - Floor plan