Initiative „Schools: Partners for the Future“ (PASCH)

In February 2008 the Federal Foreign Office launched the initiative “Schools: Partners for the Future” (PASCH). It has been instrumental in creating a global network of 1500 partner schools with special links to Germany.

The aim of the initiative is to not only strengthen German language teaching in these schools but also to arouse and sustain young people’s enthusiasm for modern-day Germany and the German language, thereby opening new educational and career opportunities.

The Federal Foreign Office coordinates the PASCH initiative, and it is implemented by the Goethe-Institut in cooperation with the Central Agency for Schools Abroad, the Goethe-Institut, the Educational Exchange Service of the Standing Conference of the Ministers of Education and Cultural Affairs of the Länder in the Federal Republic of Germany and the German Academic Exchange Service.

The initiative supports these schools with a broad range of services towards strengthening German language classes, including training and mentoring programmes for the teachers as well as wide range of programmes and projects for the students with a view to encouraging an active interest in and a dialogue with Germany. Such programmes include youth Camps, competitions, exhibitions, youth film festivals, music tours, intercultural workshops and projects.

For German language teachers and principals of the PASCH schools we offer a varied professional development programme in India and in Germany. For high-performing stuidents we have an attractive scholarship programme to attend special language youth camps in Germany.

 Glimpses of a recent project for school students organised by Goethe-Institut Mumbai

Initiative "Schulen: Partner der Zukunft" (PASCH)

2008 wurde von der deutschen Bundesregierung die Initiative „Schulen: Partner der Zukunft“ (PASCH) ins Leben gerufen. Zwischenzeitlich ist es gelungen, ein weltumspannendes Netz von 1.500 Partnerschulen aufzubauen.

Das Ziel der Initiative ist es, nicht nur den Deutschunterricht an diesen Schulen zu fördern sondern auch bei jungen Menschen ein lebendiges Interesse an Deutschland zu wecken und neue Bildungs- und Berufsperspektiven zu öffnen.

PASCH wird vom Auswärtigen Amt koordiniert und durch das Goethe-Institut, den DAAD, den Pädagogischen Austauschdienst und die Zentralstelle für das Auslandsschulwesen (ZfA) in enger und vertrauensvoller Zusammenarbeit umgesetzt.

Neben der Unterstützung des Deutschunterrichts an den Schulen (durch Lehrerfortbildungen, Fachberatung, Mentoring) werden für PASCH-Schüler weitere interessante Projekte angeboten, um ihr Interesse an Deutschland zu stärken und ihnen die deutsche Kultur näher zu bringen. Projekte, die im Rahmen von PASCH stattfinden, sind u.a. Jugendcamps, Wettbewerbe, Ausstellungen, Jugendfilmfestivals, Musiktournees, interkulturelle Workshops und Projekte etc.

Für Lehrkräfte und Schulleiter gibt es ein vielschichtiges Fortbildungsprogramm, sowohl im Land als auch in Deutschland. Für besonders leistungsstarke Schülerinnen und Schüler gibt es ein hochwertiges Stipendienprogramm nach Deutschland.

 Eindrücke eines aktuellen Projekts des Goethe-Institut Mumbai