Film screening And Europe Will Be Stunned trilogy + True Finn

Yael Bartana, Film still: Mary Koszmary © Yael Bartana, Film still: Mary Koszmary

Thu, 07.12.2017

Cinepolis Andheri (West)

Plot No 844/4, Shah Industrial Estate

New Link Road, Andheri West
400053 Mumbai

A compilation of four Films by Yael Bartana

The screening will be followed by a conversation between Yael Bartana and Shaina Anand.

This is a free non ticketed event but to attend the screening you need to reserve your seats.
Reserve seats here!

 

List of films:

And Europe Will Be Stunned / Mary Koszmary, 2007
Foreign language with English subtitles, 11 min.
'Mary Koszmary' (Nightmares) is the first film in the trilogy and explores a complicated set of social and political relationships among Jews, Poles and other Europeans in the age of globalization. A young activist, played here by Sławomir Sierakowski (founder and chief editor of Krytyka Polityczna magazine), delivers a speech in the abandoned National stadium in Warsaw. He urges three million Jews to come back to Poland. Using the structure and sensibility of a World War II propaganda film, 'Mary Koszmary' addresses contemporary Anti-Semitism and Xenophobia in Poland, the longing for the Jewish past among liberal Polish intellectuals and the Zionist dream of return to Israel.
 
And Europe Will Be Stunned / Mur i wieża, 2009
Foreign language with English subtitles, 15 min.
The second film of the trilogy 'Mur i wieża' (Wall and Tower) was made in the Warsaw district of Muranów, where a new kibbutz was erected at actual scale and in the architectural style of the 1930’s. This kibbutz, constructed in the center of Warsaw, was an utterly ‘exotic’ structure, even despite its perverse reflection of the history of the location, which had been the Jewish residential area before the war, and then a part of Warsaw Ghetto. The film invokes previous heroic images of strong and beautiful men and women who mythically established Israel. They were depicted as determined pioneers who, despite the most unfavorable conditions, kept building houses, cultivating land, studying, bringing up children collectively, sharing their assets and constantly training to fight off potential enemy attacks. This is the world that Bartana proposes to resurrect in the 21st century, in an entirely different political and geographical configuration.
 
And Europe Will Be Stunned / Zamach, 2011
Foreign language with English subtitles, 35 min.
In the third film 'Zamach' (Assassination), the final part of the trilogy, Bartana brings the dream about multinational community and the brand new Polish society to the ultimate test. The plot of the film takes place in a not too distant future, during the funeral ceremony of the leader of the Jewish Renaissance Movement, who had been killed by an unidentified assassin. It is by means of this symbolic death that the myth of the new political movement is unified — a movement which can become a concrete project to be implemented in Poland, Europe, or the Middle East in the days to come.
 
True Finn – Tosi suomalainen, 2014
Foreign language with English subtitles, 50 min.
For her IHME Project 'True Finn' Yael Bartana invited people living in Finland to take part in creating an utopian moment. The condition was that each person has a different ethnic, religious and political background. As a result of an open call, eight Finnish-resident individuals came to live together for seven days in a house in the countryside. Life, discussions and specifically designed assignments were filmed, with the edited material now forming the core of this artwork. What happens when these people live together for a week and re-define Finnishness, and themselves in relation to others?
The artwork plays with questions about identity: How does national identity operate as a means of inclusion and exclusion? What mechanisms exist for this in Finland? What are we talking about when we talk about Finnish identity right now? Can an immigrant become a true Finn?

Yael Bartana will be present at the screening and will have a conversation with Bombay based artist and film-maker Shaina Anand from CAMP about her film-making practice.
 
Shaina Anand has been active as an independent filmmaker and media artist. Her works are informed by an interest in media and information politics and by a critique of documentary form and process. Anand has exhibited and published widely. In 2007, she co-initiated PAD.MA, the Public Access Digital Media Archive, an online archive of densely text-annotated video material, made available online and for download in non-commercial use. She is a co-founder of CAMP, an organization in Mumbai cultivating radical artistic practice with a variety of media. CAMP seeks to create structures of support, rhythms of production and distribution, and to provide a collaborative atmosphere in which artists can work collectively on the challenges facing art and cultural practices in the region. She recently curated the New Medium section at the JIO MAMI 18th Mumbai Film Festival.


 

Back

Filmvorführung And Europe Will Be Stunned trilogy + True Finn

Yael Bartana, Film still: Mary Koszmary © Yael Bartana, Film still: Mary Koszmary

Do, 07.12.2017

Cinepolis Andheri (West)

Plot No 844/4, Shah Industrial Estate
Opposite Laxmi Industrial Estate
New Link Road, Andheri West
400053 Mumbai

Vier Filme, zusammengestellt von Yael Bartana

Anschließend an die Filmvorführung folgt ein Gespräch zwischen Yael Bartana und Shaina Anand.

Eintritt ist frei. Um jedoch an der kostenlosen Filmvorführung teilzunehmen, müssen Sie Ihre Plätze reservieren.  Sitze hier reservieren!

 

Filmliste:

And Europe Will Be Stunned / Mary Koszmary, 2007
Fremdsprache mit englischen Untertiteln, 11 min.
'Mary Koszmary' (Nightmares) ist der erste Film in der Trilogie und untersucht eine komplizierte Reihe von sozialen und politischen Beziehungen zwischen Juden, Polen und anderen Europäern im Zeitalter der Globalisierung. Ein junger Aktivist, gespielt von Sławomir Sierakowski (Gründer und Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Krytyka Polityczna), hält eine Rede im verlassenen Nationalstadion in Warschau. Er drängt drei Millionen Juden, nach Polen zurückzukehren. Mit der Struktur und Sensibilität eines Propagandafilms aus dem Zweiten Weltkrieg befasst sich Maria Koszmary mit dem zeitgenössischen Antisemitismus und der Fremdenfeindlichkeit in Polen, der Sehnsucht nach jüdischer Vergangenheit unter liberalen polnischen Intellektuellen und dem zionistischen Traum von der Rückkehr nach Israel.
 
And Europe Will Be Stunned / Mur i wieża, 2009
Fremdsprache mit englischen Untertiteln, 15 min.
Der zweite Film der Trilogie "Mur i wieża" (Wand und Turm) entstand im Warschauer Stadtteil Muranów, wo ein neuer Kibbuz im Originalmaßstab und im Baustil der 1930er Jahre errichtet wurde. Dieser Kibbuz, der im Zentrum Warschaus errichtet wurde, war eine völlig "exotische" Struktur, obgleich seiner perversen Widerspiegelung der Geschichte des Ortes, der vor dem Krieg das jüdische Wohngebiet und dann ein Teil des Warschauer Ghettos gewesen war. Der Film ruft frühere heroische Bilder von starken und schönen Männern und Frauen auf, die Israel mythisch gegründet haben. Sie wurden als entschlossene Pioniere dargestellt, die trotz widrigster Bedingungen Häuser bauten, Land bewirtschafteten, studierten, Kinder kollektiv erzogen, ihr Vermögen teilten und ständig trainierten, um mögliche feindliche Angriffe abzuwehren. Dies ist die Welt, die Bartana im 21. Jahrhundert in einer völlig anderen politischen und geografischen Konfiguration wiederbeleben möchte.
 
And Europe Will Be Stunned / Zamach, 2011
Fremdsprache mit englischen Untertiteln, 35 min.
Im dritten Film "Zamach" (Assassination), dem letzten Teil der Trilogie, stellt Bartana den Traum von multinationaler Gemeinschaft und der brandneuen polnischen Gesellschaft auf die Probe. Die Handlung des Films spielt in einer nicht allzu fernen Zukunft während der Trauerfeier des Führers der jüdischen Renaissance-Bewegung, der von einem unbekannten Attentäter getötet worden war. Mit diesem symbolischen Tod wird der Mythos der neuen politischen Bewegung geeint - eine Bewegung, die in den kommenden Jahren zu einem konkreten Projekt voranschreiten kann, das in Polen, Europa oder im Nahen Osten umgesetzt werden könnte.
 
True Finn – Tosi suomalainen, 2014
Fremdsprache mit englischen Untertiteln, 50 min.
Für ihr IHME-Projekt "True Finn" lud Yael Bartana die in Finnland lebenden Menschen ein, um einen utopischen Moment zu kreieren. Voraussetzung war, dass jeder Mensch einen anderen ethnischen, religiösen und politischen Hintergrund hat. Als Folge einer öffentlichen Einladung kamen acht in Finnland ansässige Personen für sieben Tage in einem Haus auf dem Land zusammen. Das Leben, die Diskussionen und speziell entworfene Aufgaben wurden gefilmt, wobei das bearbeitete Material nun den Kern dieses Kunstwerks bildet. Was passiert, wenn diese Menschen eine Woche lang zusammenleben und das Finnische und sich selbst in Bezug auf andere neu definieren?
Das Kunstwerk spielt mit Identitätsfragen: Wie funktioniert nationale Identität als Mittel der Inklusion und Exklusion? Welche Mechanismen gibt es dafür in Finnland? Worüber reden wir, wenn wir gerade über die finnische Identität sprechen? Kann ein Einwanderer ein echter Finne werden?

Yael Bartana wird bei der Vorführung anwesend sein und mit der in Bombay ansässigen Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Shaina Anand von CAMP über ihre Filmherstellungspraxis sprechen.
 
Shaina Anand ist als unabhängige Filmemacherin und Medienkünstlerin tätig. Ihre Arbeiten sind von einem Interesse für Medien- und Informationspolitik und einer Kritik über die dokumentarische Form und den Prozess geprägt. Shaina Anand hat viele Ausstellungen und Veröffentlichungen auf ihrem Konto. Im Jahr 2007 initiierte sie PAD.MA, das Public Access Digital Media Archiv, ein Online-Archiv mit dichtem textannotiertem Videomaterial, das online und zum Download für nicht-kommerzielle Zwecke zur Verfügung steht. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von CAMP, einer Organisation in Mumbai, die radikale künstlerische Praktiken mit einer Vielzahl von Medien unterstützt. CAMP strebt danach, Unterstützungsstrukturen, Produktions- und Vertriebszyklen zu schaffen und eine kollaborative Atmosphäre zu ermöglichen, in der Künstler kollektiv an den Herausforderungen arbeiten können, mit denen Kunst und kulturelle Praktiken in der Region konfrontiert sind. Sie kuratierte kürzlich die New Medium Sektion beim JIO MAMI 18. Mumbai Film Festival.

 

Zurück